We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$46
View deal
Priceline
$47
View deal
Trip.com
$32
View deal
Hotels.com$46
eDreams$48
ZenHotels.com$278
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,291)
Filter reviews
1,291 results
Traveler rating
593
506
145
38
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
593
506
145
38
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river superior studio separate toilet night market tuk tuk italian restaurant riverside hotel huge shower pool villa tour desk open air shuttle bus room was large beautiful property nice pool buffet breakfast thailand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 1,291 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds with views over the river.
The hotel has a boutique feel to it with rooms and villas set out in small buildings set amongst the gardens and ponds. We stayed in a room (rather than a villa) which was beautiful and a bit quirky (not the usual corporate style of some hotels), and had a balcony with furniture overlooking the gardens. The housekeeping was faultless.
The swimming pool is just beautiful and has views over the gardens to the river beyond - a lovely spot to unwind in the afternoon after some sight seeing. The main restaurant overlooks the river too - the evening menu has Asian and European dishes- bit light on vegetarian options - but pretty extensive for the meat and fish eaters. Wine list is quite good and not too expensive. Breakfast is served here too - and is very extensive! If you go to this hotel do try the rice pudding balls at breakfast...fab way to start the day. The hotel is outside of the main town, but the walk in (map provided by the hotel) is only 15 minutes and there is a shuttle bus service (nominal charge) which runs regularly at night and takes you to the night market area of Chiang Rai. This is a lovely individually styled hotel, the hotel staff are friendly and welcoming and we would highly recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Most rooms seemed to have good location with main windows looking out over the gardens. Villas had river views from memory.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped at The Legend for 3 nights enroute to Laos by boat down the Mekong. The hotel has pleasant gardens running down to the river with seating for an evening drink (or whatever you wish) with non obtrusive guitarist playing in the background. We didn't use the pool but it was clean with recliners all around.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice including some local dishes.
We had a ground floor room which was showing its age but quite adequate for our use. The travel lady in the reception area was helpful but I assume she is not part of the hotel staff.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is set a bit out of the main town area so it is better if you have a car or are happy to use a tuk tuk or minivan to get around.
The upside is the fact that it has large grounds and is set on the banks of the river, some very pleasant seating areas on the riverside and a restaurant set back from the river.

The rooms are spread out and surrounded by well-maintained gardens. The rooms themselves have everything you need and plenty of space. The open-design bathrooms work better on the second floor, the first floor bathroom we had could have done with a renovation as, eventhough it was clean,it was showing the signs of time.

The breakfast offered would cover most peoples preference, the lunch we had there was very ordinary and not very good value. The hotel also has an Italian restaurant which we didn't try.

The service is ok but certainly not up to the level offered in other parts of Thailand.

Room tip: Do a day trip to Doi Tung
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByronO33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I don't understand the recent criticisms of this hotel - we thought it was great. The room was spacious, the shower room was enormous and the garden setting was beautiful. We chose from an extensive range of food for breakfast and the staff was efficient and friendly. Perhaps the reviewer who was surprised that the staff couldn't tell him the location of the gym encountered a language problem - the hotel refers to it as a fitness room. As for the complaints about lack of service in the restaurants, we found the opposite to be the case. The staff was most attentive.

The walk into town takes around 20 minutes but there isn't a great deal to see apart from a few peaceful, charming temples. We didn't make it to the Night Markets because of heavy rain. Chiang Rai seems to be mainly a rest stop before going on tours or travelling to the border crossing to Laos. Staying at The Legend for 2 nights was a pleasant and restful break in our trip.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Legend is located in a great position, riverside of the Mae Kok River. The architecture, gardens and setting are quite stunning, particularly when lit at night. The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and are fitted with rather funky bathrooms. The food at the restaurant is above average, but... And it is a big but! The service is almost nonexistent. I asked one of the staff about the location of the gym, and she didn't know! She asked a colleague, and he didn't know. Eventually, I was taken to the spa... not sure why! When I did eventually find the gym, I could understand some of the confusion as the gym was actually a small balcony off a lower level room and had one piece of equipment - a broken cross-trainer, a few free weights and a TV! Calling it a gym is a bit of an overstatement.

Generally, service in other areas of the hotels was also pretty poor. Staff in the restaurants seemed more interested in their own conversations than the needs of the guests! I actually had to interrupt a rather animated conversation between a waiter and a line cook in order to order my breakfast eggs. They looked none to pleased when I did!

Seriously, the hotel could be a real gem if they improved the service: all they need is training.

Room tip: Avoid groun levels rooms in front of the walk path - early leavers can be nosiy wheeling their luggage along.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews