We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Legend Chiang Rai
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped at The Legend for 3 nights enroute to Laos by boat down the Mekong. The hotel has pleasant gardens running down to the river with seating for an evening drink (or whatever you wish) with non obtrusive guitarist playing in the background. We didn't use the pool but it was clean with recliners all around.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice including some local dishes.
We had a ground floor room which was showing its age but quite adequate for our use. The travel lady in the reception area was helpful but I assume she is not part of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is set a bit out of the main town area so it is better if you have a car or are happy to use a tuk tuk or minivan to get around.
The upside is the fact that it has large grounds and is set on the banks of the river, some very pleasant seating areas on the riverside and a restaurant set back from the river.

The rooms are spread out and surrounded by well-maintained gardens. The rooms themselves have everything you need and plenty of space. The open-design bathrooms work better on the second floor, the first floor bathroom we had could have done with a renovation as, eventhough it was clean,it was showing the signs of time.

The breakfast offered would cover most peoples preference, the lunch we had there was very ordinary and not very good value. The hotel also has an Italian restaurant which we didn't try.

The service is ok but certainly not up to the level offered in other parts of Thailand.

Room Tip: Do a day trip to Doi Tung
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByronO33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I don't understand the recent criticisms of this hotel - we thought it was great. The room was spacious, the shower room was enormous and the garden setting was beautiful. We chose from an extensive range of food for breakfast and the staff was efficient and friendly. Perhaps the reviewer who was surprised that the staff couldn't tell him the location of the gym encountered a language problem - the hotel refers to it as a fitness room. As for the complaints about lack of service in the restaurants, we found the opposite to be the case. The staff was most attentive.

The walk into town takes around 20 minutes but there isn't a great deal to see apart from a few peaceful, charming temples. We didn't make it to the Night Markets because of heavy rain. Chiang Rai seems to be mainly a rest stop before going on tours or travelling to the border crossing to Laos. Staying at The Legend for 2 nights was a pleasant and restful break in our trip.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Legend is located in a great position, riverside of the Mae Kok River. The architecture, gardens and setting are quite stunning, particularly when lit at night. The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and are fitted with rather funky bathrooms. The food at the restaurant is above average, but... And it is a big but! The service is almost nonexistent. I asked one of the staff about the location of the gym, and she didn't know! She asked a colleague, and he didn't know. Eventually, I was taken to the spa... not sure why! When I did eventually find the gym, I could understand some of the confusion as the gym was actually a small balcony off a lower level room and had one piece of equipment - a broken cross-trainer, a few free weights and a TV! Calling it a gym is a bit of an overstatement.

Generally, service in other areas of the hotels was also pretty poor. Staff in the restaurants seemed more interested in their own conversations than the needs of the guests! I actually had to interrupt a rather animated conversation between a waiter and a line cook in order to order my breakfast eggs. They looked none to pleased when I did!

Seriously, the hotel could be a real gem if they improved the service: all they need is training.

Room Tip: Avoid groun levels rooms in front of the walk path - early leavers can be nosiy wheeling their lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

There is a really big difference between daytime and night time in this hotel. Both are very relaxed, but at night time the place is MUCH more beautiful, during the day I would like to expect more. The pool is very nice and the internet didn't work too well (which one only can use in the lobby). There isn't much to do in the city really, but right by the market there is THE BEST Italian restaurant (pasta-pizza mainly) you HAVE TO GO! Sadly I can't remember the name, but it was right at the end of the main road of the market.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank luciapaul27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

the price I think worth it with the services, what we receive especially with the great n wonderful nature view surrounding, a great village view, and view of traditional life .
this is truly Thailand look n style,
If we choose villa with private pool, its paradise on earth :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kamandanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place has something for everyone, we splashed out on a one bedroom villa with private splash pool. Situate on the banks of the river it is not ideal for visiting town its a long walk) but transport is available. Haven't eaten here yet but it looks tempting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
872 reviews
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $59 - $2,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing