We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything breathes low season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Legend Chiang Rai
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

In the survival kit this resort came as highly recommended. Maybe that is why we were slightly disappointed. The location is perfect: quiet at the river, yet close enough to town. The pool is great: clean and large. The pool bar was a laugh and hardly ever open We had a pool villa. Large enough, but smaller than anticipated. Cleanish, but permanently under attack by tens of some kind of worms. Housekeeping shrugged at our complaint and only gave us anti bug spray. So I had to become the worminator ! The restaurants, one Thai-like and one Italian were ok, but had little variety and no real authentic food. Staff was friendly, spoke some English, but were too laid back. From a place with such ridiculous high prices you expect much more. You want to be surprised.
But no way here. All on all, an ok place but in no way overwhelming. Partly maybe due to the continuous down pour!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying with us and for commenting on our Service and facilities. Your compliments are much encouraging. Yes you are right during the green season the nature becomes very active and there are many kinds of insects and other small animals who share the resort and sometimes the rooms a bit with us which is very difficult to prevent from. That’s why we do provide mosquito nets in every room and are performing pest control very often. However such is nature and we understand that not everybody appreciate such disturbance.
We have only 4 pool villas which offer a surface of 120 sq. m incl. the terrace which is quite a large space and that comes at certain price which is much higher than our Superior or Deluxe Studios which are of 53 sq. m and rates are usually only a third of the villa.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our Restaurant food or its service and we shall do our outmost to improve such.
During the green season it does often rains which very welcome as it cools down the temperature by 5-10 C and usually lasts only an hour or two and then sun is out again. This results in a much more wanton vegetation which is what is actually fascinating in this part of world and the reason why people are admiring that period rather than the very moderate climate in winter time which is similar to early spring in middle Europe or Northern California.

We hope to welcome you, family or friends one day again and would appreciate if you let us know to make sure things work out. Looking forward to such favourable occasion and wishing you the very best,
With kind regards
Marc H. Dumur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband,2 sons and I recently spent 3 nights at The Legend in Chiang Rai. We got an amazing deal through Agoda (80USD/night) and the room was perfectly fitting all of us (king+single). It was a very comfortable stay, the pool was wonderful with a gorgeous view of the river. The room is lovely with a very relaxed ASian style. The shower is amazing and we loved the outdoor patio (even if too many mosquitos during rainy season). Despite all I was disappointed by the staff, not very useful and more trying to sell the travel agencies trips. My son broke a cup and this was the first hotel ever I was asked to pay it back and they even charged me for the plate which was not broken. I was so disappointed that I spent 10 minutes bargaining and brought the plate home. I loved this place and I am pretty sure I would go back for the same price but sure I wouldn't pay as for a 4 or 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iaia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and commenting on our facilities and service.
We appreciate a lot your positive words about the Room and overall setting. We are very sorry for disappointing you during the check-out.
As part of the overall Resort’s Concept we provide these very nice Coffee and Tea sets in our guest rooms which are local + handmade and the total value is over Thb 2’000.- Unfortunately some guests seem to feel that such might be included in the overnight charge which is not the case. Therefor it is the Hotel’s policy (like in many other hotels) that the staff has to check during check-out if any items are missing or broken. However all we are trying to do is to protect the Hotel’s Property (which is certainly reasonable) and to be fair to any other guests who want to buy and pay for these items which is quite often the case.
We certainly did not wanted to upset you and hope you understand our side a little bit as well.

We look forward to welcome you, family or friends one day again and should that be the case kindly let us know. Wishing you the very best for the Future
With kind regards
Marc H. Dumur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband, son and I recently spent 3 nights at The Legend in Chiang Rai. It was a very comfortable stay, the pool was wonderful with a gorgeous view of the river. Even with 3 of us staying in one room we had plenty of space, loved the shower! Staff was very helpful and kind. We had to leave quite early and were very grateful that breakfast opened at 6:00 am! Terrific stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravel0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very comfortable. We liked this hotel alot - the pool, the staff, the food, etc. We wanted to go outside of the hotel for meals, but were advised not to and we're glad we stayed there and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed in a Deluxe Studio room for three nights in March. The room was surprisingly large with entry area/bathroom, separate toilet, huge shower room and a bedroom big enough for a writing desk and couch as well as large bed. Outside of our bedroom was a small courtyard with table and swing chair. We were just behind the beautiful pool area with its infinity edge looking out towards the river. Breakfast was the normal SE Asian fare but served with the advantage of a river view. We tried the restaurant and had a good meal and service but there are much better local alternatives in town. Central area of town about a 10 min walk. Hotel shuttle was expensive compared to tuk tuks. No free internet in a hotel of this quality is surprising. You have to purchase internet cards from reception. Maps for the town are available from reception and mark most of the local sights. Overall a really enjoyable stay with friendly staff in a great hotel with beautiful garden surrounds. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Something away from reception and near the pool was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for staying with us and commenting on our service and facilities.
The way you formulated your compliments are very nice and we thank for such positive rating.
The Wi-Fi is now free in the lobby and the restaurants.
We hope to welcome you , family or friends one day again and kindly ask you to let us know.
Looking forward to such favourable occasion and wishing you the very best,
With kind regards
Marc H. Dumur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The location of the hotel on the River is good, and the infinity pool overlooking the river is ideal for relaxing. While we were there few people used the pool, adding to the tranquility. The staff generally were friendly and helpful, and it was good to see the Manager at breakfast with the guests and around the hotel from time to time. The upgraded room was disappointing, with the shower somewhat underpowered and separate from the toilet and the washbasin - which was in the hallway. We had seen reports about mosquitoes, but they were not a problem, although ants were an issue in the washroom and toilet. The hotel is just within walking distance to the town centre, although tuktuks are easily ordered if you do not want to use the hotel bus service. Overall this was a happy visit, and we would use The Legend again if we visit Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iangeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for staying with us and commenting on our Facilities and Service. We appreciate your positive words on our setting, location and the overall staff’s service. We are sorry that the room up-grade was not satisfactory and the shower pressure low. We shall make sure the pressure is stronger in the future as well as ants to be kept out of the rooms.
Looking forward to welcome you, family or friends one day again and should that be the case kindly let us know.
Wishing you the very best for the future,
With kind regards
Marc H. Dumur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Legend on our way to Laos and loved the location. The room was very comfortable with a King size bed. Breakfast with riverview was quite good with very friendly staff. Only complaints we have is that you have to pay for the internet and the shuttlebus to and from the night market. And no water pressure in the shower!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and commenting on our Facilities Service. Good that you liked the Room and the staff's service. The Wi-Fi is now free of charge in the lobby and Restaurants. However in the rest of the Resort which cover 20'000 sq. m we do charge Thb 50.- per half hour.
We are sorry for the low water pressure in the room and will make sure this works at all times in the future.
The shuttle bus to the night bazaar is not free. We maintain fully insured vehicles and the liter of gasoline is now over Thb 40.- = 1 Euro and such expense are passed on to the client by charging Thb 50.- per person and trip which is very reasonable. Since Room rates are rather low in the north (almost half of the ones at the seaside) with a long low season, hotels do struggle to generate a decent earning to grant the livelihood of all the staff year around.
Your comments are very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you sometimes in the future again. Wishing the very best and kind regards
Marc Dumur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
904 reviews
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
561 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $85 - $4,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing