We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Local Thai Food”
Review of Barrab

Barrab
Ranked #2 of 276 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Our food is combination between Northern cuisine and Thai food with options for gluten free, vegetarian and vegan.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High Quality Local Thai Food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is one of my go-to spots in Chiang Rai for both lunch and dinner. It's located on the clocktower road just past the clocktower going west, with dark wood outer decor. This place has delicious northern Thai specialties including kao soi, hunglei curry and somtum. My personal favorites are the hung lei curry and the pork with pineapple and rice. The prices are fantastic - between 30 and 60 baht per dish - and the staff are really really friendly and speak great English. It's a local, family -run restaurant with authentic food in a comfortable atmosphere. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    205
    48
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Popped into Barrab for lunch. It now seems to have its English name on a blackboard on the street, but if you can't find it it's about 40 metres west of the golden clock tower along Baan Pa Pragarn Road.

We tried the Khao Soi, which was excellent. Full of flavour and not overly rich as some we've had in Chiang Mai. Also had a very good Somtam (well balanced flavours) and some Barrab, the dish the house is named after (or vice versa!) It too was very tasty, dark soy flavoured minced pork bits (those who are very nervous about eating interesting bits of pig interior may need to be careful here).

It was so good we ordered some other dishes to take home.

The waitress spoke excellent English, and the place has a nice relaxed feel to it, although its unlikely to win any awards for interior design.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing value”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to Barrab on the strength of the rave reviews on here. Wheh we arrived (we got a tuktuk and got there easily eniough ionce the driver was shown the address written down) i thought it must have been the wrong plae as it was a really basic cafe looking place.

Nonetheless, in we went and true to the reviews the staff spoke good english.

The food we ordered was fantastic, absolutely brilliant. Service was good too. The only disappoitnmetn was that there were no desserts and I had SO been looking forward to trying the mango and sticky rice.

The bill was almost unbelieveable and we had to triple check! it was SO cheap!

Absoulutely go, if you get the chance. It's not fancy but it is excellent food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank apronannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yumm-O!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Authentic local flavour. Good for value. I recommended the Kaow Soi(Northern style noodle soup). Staff at the restaurant speak English very well and they are very friendly. It has a nice atmosphere and clean. I was impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AQLDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best food in Chiang Ria if you have the guts to try it”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Ignore the pizza pasta and burger joints and head to Barrab for lunch or dinner. The staff speak good English and if you are unfortunate enough to get one who doesn't bring out your pointing finger. You won't be dissapointed. The food here is fantastic. Fresh, clean, local and beautifully made. If you are in Chiang Rai and are wondering where to eat this is your place. It's amazing value too. We had two main dishes and a bottle of water, it came to £1.60. It's difficult to find places serving Northern Thai food on the beaten track as dishes are usually tailored for Western tastes; that is not the case here. We are already planning to go for lunch tomorrow before we leave town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrab also viewed

 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Barrab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing