We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No "khaosoi"!”
Review of LuLum

LuLum
Ranked #24 of 287 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“No "khaosoi"!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The most famous northern Thai dish is probably the "khaosoi" northern style chicken curry in noodles. The roots of this dish ome from Burma.
We asked our driver to place to have this dish and he brought us here! And no khaosoy! We almost left as this was our last chance to have the dish but we saw so many happy diners we decided to stay. And I'm glad we did. Everything was very good. The to yum soup was a ten! Exactly as I requested it moderate chil and clear soup. The kang hang lay (northern pork curry) was one the best I've ever had! Nice setting on the river, slightly crowded. Good efficient service and very friendly pricing for a nice Thai restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kovit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    69
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A great Thai lunch for a very good price. The restaurant has nice views to the river and is very advisable if you are not looking for luxury but good food and a comfortable place

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maite120570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and views near the Le Meriden”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We arrived at the Le Meridien Chiang Mai late on a Sunday night. We walked 5 minutes to the right of the hotel and found this little gem of a restaurant. There weren't many places open at 9pm, but glad this one was. We were given a table over looking the river.

The servers spoke very little English, except one waitress and the manager. They were very helpful. We ordered 3 dishes - rice vermicelli, cashew chicken and a chicken green curry dish. All were amazing! I wanted it extra spicy without onions (most places don't remember, but they did), the dishes came a little spicy, but I could handle more. They served our dish with extra thai spice on the side, using the spices did the trick. The service was impeccable, anytime we reached for our beer bottle, someone would come by a pour it for us. They constantly checked in on us to make sure we had everything we needed. 3 dishes for 2 people was way too much, they kindly packaged up our dinner for us. I ate the leftovers the next day and they were just as good!

The prices were good, menu was in English, views are amazing and the service was excellent!
Bill breakdown:
Rice - 40bht for 2
Ice - 20Bht
Large Tiger beer - 79bht
3 dishes - 360bht
Jug of Leo beer - 89bht
Total - 585 and we tipped extra 100. Well worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OliveOylSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good local northern Thai option”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a convenient five minute walk from the Le Meridien lobby and we were looking forward to an authentic local experience which I'd say we had.
I should first comment on a previous reviewer's statement about different prices for foreigners. I don't think this is true. There is a gentlemen who helped us there (I'm assuming a manager) who spoke great English and I actually asked him about this. Yes they do have two separate menus but he said there's no price difference and he actually offered to show me the local menu so I could compare. I believe him. They seemed a bit perturbed by the earlier review but decided not to respond to it - they reckon that tourists account for a small minority of their business anyway.
Service was quite good once he started helping us, and he was a great help with selecting dishes our son with allergies could eat. Food was good to great depending on the dish.
I did find the portions on the smaller side compared to many other local places I've eaten at.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Food was good but nothing spectacular. English menus and pictures were helpful and the staff was really attentive. Food came quick and was quite tasty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lingc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LuLum also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to LuLum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing