We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Chiang Rai ATV

Chiang Rai ATV
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your adventure begins at an unspoiled Mien/Yao Hill-Tribe we have 2 tours available, Half-Day & Full-Day. We have something for young & old, single travelers, honeymooners, families, in fact everyone! Both our tours have a stunning swimming/diving waterfall as the destination (towels supplied). The All-Day tour also goes to Haunted Fishing Lake and includes complimentary lunch. Our tours take in forests, safe mountain ridges, hidden valleys and are mostly off-road. There is a 10 minute trek through the jungle on both tours, as long as you can walk up/down hill for 10 minutes, you will be fine, it's nothing too strenuous. For more details check our website. We normally collect from your hotel twice a day, and in the low-season often at a time to suit you, so why not give us a go? We're not rated so highly for no reason! We are both Eco friendly and philanthropic, our primary aim is to improve the lives of our Hill Tribe and by being a customer you are helping us to help them.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice people, beautiful countryside and a well worthwhile day out.

This is a bit of an oasis in a desert of mediocrity. If you don't do anything else, this is the one worth doing.

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you Peter, we enjoyed having you on the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 170 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Operated by a Mien family and their English friend/investor, this experience offers more than just ripping around on well-maintained ATVs through a pictoresque Thai hill valley and swimming in a pool at the base of a waterfall. For the day we and our fellow adventurers became part of this family. I suppose we could have simply taken advantage of their hospitality and gotten the ATV rides of our lives, but it was more fun to make it a cultural experience as well.

I will say that the machines seemed very well maintained, and the service was beyond what one normally expects in Thailand, where everyone is friendly but the level of service often falls a bit short from the Western perspective. Bruce, the omnipresent Western investor ensures that Sing, the young patriarch of the Mien family, understands that this business will succeed or fail based on attention to every aspect of the consumer's experience. Having spoken to both of them at great length, I am confident that they get it, and anything they haven't figured out yet, they'll figure out soon.

When you're planning your trip to Thailand, make sure you put this between a couple of days of visiting temples. You'll soon forget the temples, but you may never forget your day in the saddle of your ATV in this hidden valley in the mountains of northern Thailand.

Thank Robert Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you Robert, it's always nice to receive a great review from a trpadvisor member of several years standing. We live or die by the reviews of our customers and we comb through them to correct anything we can improve (toilet facilities & tissue, roasted marshmallows on cold mornings etc). It's sufficient reward for us if customers enjoy their time with us, we are a family business and we are philanthropic in nature, trying to improve a Mien Hill Tribe village that time & tourism has passed by. The lead vehicle is often driven by the 10 year old "boss"of the family too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a hoot, beautiful scenery, charming people, zippy little UTV cars, a real classy day out.

Sing is charming, he even carried our 4 year old and nothing was too much for him. Wear old clothes, you can shower and change afterwards if you want. Swimming was bracing, log fire and toasted marshmallows afterwards was a nice surprise.

We will definitely be back, probably the most fun you can have with your clothes on in Chiang Rai.

Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you Sasha for your very kind review. We enjoyed having your family on the tour, especially Sing who loves to make it special for children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Real Fun!
I never drove such "cars" before so i was kinda "ok, what to expect?". Bits of goosebumps in the beginning but total amusement in the end))
You will enjoy the drive through jungles in those little cars through the bumpy hills.
Waterfall is nice - really freezing the first moment you jump into the water but afterwards you will find yourself enjoying the swim)
Must also add that Bruce and his team are very helpful and cheerful people. While driving i tried to take pictures and got eventually stuck outside the road - Technical guy who was in the next car helped me to get back to the road again :)
As a reco - try morning trip: way less dust
And of course check your face in the mirror after the trip otherwise you may risk walking till end of the day with "panda face':)
Once again thanks a lot, Bruce!
Planning to come back to ChiangRai in 2014 - would love to meet again!

Thank Olga Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi Olga and thank you very much for your kind review. We loved having you on the tour and look forward to meeting you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were on this trip last week and it was awesome. We were with the previous reviewer and they were clearly as much unhappy with each other as with everything else. It's not 20 minutes in the cars, it's about 30-40 minutes driving the cars to the waterfall and the same back again, so about half the trip is in the cars and about half is swimming in the waterfall, eating fruit and talking with the guide Singh who is extremely knowledgeable and friendly and wants to share all about his hill tribe village and it's history. We loved it, especially the ride back and the visit to the house on the mountain. There were no mechanical problems, the cars performed perfectly with good brakes, they clearly are properly maintained and we disagree they are poor quality.

Ours was a small group of 6 people and we took 3 buggies. 4 of us loved the tour, the other couple went on and on about how all their holidays were rubbish and most of their experiences (and reviews) were bad ones. Finally the 4 of us left them on their own and watched the most amazing sunset. An amazing day out and we agree, a must do in Northern Thailand.

Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We were all really pleased to read it. Having other people you don't know on the tour happens about half the time and it usually makes the tour all the more fun. We hope to see you again in the future, and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai ATV also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai ATV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing