We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in Thailand”
Review of Chiang Rai ATV

Chiang Rai ATV
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your adventure begins at an unspoiled Mien/Yao Hill-Tribe we have 2 tours available, Half-Day & Full-Day. We have something for young & old, single travelers, honeymooners, families, in fact everyone! Both our tours have a stunning swimming/diving waterfall as the destination (towels supplied). The All-Day tour also goes to Haunted Fishing Lake and includes complimentary lunch. Our tours take in forests, safe mountain ridges, hidden valleys and are mostly off-road. There is a 10 minute trek through the jungle on both tours, as long as you can walk up/down hill for 10 minutes, you will be fine, it's nothing too strenuous. For more details check our website. We normally collect from your hotel twice a day, and in the low-season often at a time to suit you, so why not give us a go? We're not rated so highly for no reason! We are both Eco friendly and philanthropic, our primary aim is to improve the lives of our Hill Tribe and by being a customer you are helping us to help them.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best experience in Thailand”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I loved it! I went based on the reviews, but the reviews do not do it justice. First, it is a comparitively new venture (last December). Second, it is in a section of Thailand that is incredible beautiful (hills, hill tribe village down the road. It is on a very small scale, so there were no other tourists. The trip is via really small dirt roads . Other than a handful of workers in fields, there was no one. The waterfall is a national park, but no one was there. I've seen others in Thailand, and this was the best because of sheer nature, beautiful and a peaceful real Thai experience. Bruce was both interesting, and a class act. His focus was customer service and he exceeded IMO. I consider this trip one of the Top 5 things I have done in my life in travel. It's that good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. First of all let me say that everyone works hard here to ensure our guest experience is nothing short of excellent. When we started the business December last year we had no idea it would be so successful so quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    20
    6
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Day Out !!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having travelled the world it is always nice to find something different and unexpected.

I love Hiking, Mountaineering and Cars – Put Everything together and then you have the most amazing experience.

Sadly on the day we had booked the heavens opened and the rain did not stop, so Bruce rang and asked if we minded to rearrange our trip. We were so lucky to listen to his advice and then the next day we were collected by Sing and “Lucky” the Dog for the best trip we have had in years.

We love Thailand, We love the Temples and shops and Thai food, Thai People and now we love ATVs

Thanks Guys – You made an already perfect holiday even more perfect.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank farang31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, as always, we very much enjoyed having you on the adventure. Lucky always has a good time with dog lovers, as soon as he sees customers arrive he goes into excitement mode!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sing was wonderful. He collected us promptly at our hotel and we were soon enjoying the countryside on our way. We booked the Waterfall Adventure and it was fabulous. Something for everyone here. We particularly enjoyed to see the way the hill tribe live and farm, they were doing something with corn, the ATV buggies are in tip top condition and the drive to the waterfall was fantastic. If you come to Chiang Rai, you MUST do this trip!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Heather, we are all really glad your party had a good time. That thing they were doing with the corn takes all the niblets off the cob and produces clouds of leaves and things and then the corn niblets go into a bag and they sell it. The whole village hires one machine and then they work as a co-operative helping each other. We hope to see you again on another year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much fun-glad I wasn't in another van...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great outdoor active tour-Sing and dog Lucky were awesome guides-Bruce was an awesome host at the end of our tour it was fun to hang out and ask more questions about Thailand. Thanks for an awesome trip! Put this on your must do list

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlohaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Pam. I share your views on the mini-vans here, there isn't a day goes by that we don't read of fatalities though the major problems now seem to be the railroad. We still have a zero injury record (apart from our guide getting stung by a bee last year). August is a difficult month and I'm so glad you got a good weather trip. We all love to read great reviews, Sing says "thank you" and Lucky says "Woof" too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's not often you can find an attraction that is as exciting for the adults as it is for children. Our kids are 7, 9 and 14 and we all had a fantastic time. Our guide was charming and we were surprised to find we were the only guests.

We took 3 of their UTV buggies, our eldest, mum and dad driving one each. Soon we were whizzing through the rubber tree plantations and corn fields. The farmers along the way seemed really pleased to see us as they were harvesting their corn. The waterfall is stunning, but we recommend wearing proper shoes as it can be a little slippy.

The countryside is unspoiled, and this is truly off the well trodden tourist path. We had a wonderful time and every one of our family had a different highlight from the day, for our 2 youngest children it was the driving lesson on the village football field, for my wife it was watching the Chinese hill tribe women weaving on their porches and for me it was the drive through the valleys to the waterfall.

Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Will, thank you very much for your kind review, we were lucky with the weather on your visit. Sing asked me to say thank you to you too. We all enjoyed meeting your family and we're thrilled they had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai ATV also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai ATV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing