We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun-glad I wasn't in another van...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Rai ATV

Chiang Rai ATV
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your adventure begins at an unspoiled Mien/Yao Hill-Tribe we have 2 tours available, Half-Day & Full-Day. We have something for young & old, single travelers, honeymooners, families, in fact everyone! Both our tours have a stunning swimming/diving waterfall as the destination (towels supplied). The All-Day tour also goes to Haunted Fishing Lake and includes complimentary lunch. Our tours take in forests, safe mountain ridges, hidden valleys and are mostly off-road. There is a 10 minute trek through the jungle on both tours, as long as you can walk up/down hill for 10 minutes, you will be fine, it's nothing too strenuous. For more details check our website. We normally collect from your hotel twice a day, and in the low-season often at a time to suit you, so why not give us a go? We're not rated so highly for no reason! We are both Eco friendly and philanthropic, our primary aim is to improve the lives of our Hill Tribe and by being a customer you are helping us to help them.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much fun-glad I wasn't in another van...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great outdoor active tour-Sing and dog Lucky were awesome guides-Bruce was an awesome host at the end of our tour it was fun to hang out and ask more questions about Thailand. Thanks for an awesome trip! Put this on your must do list

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlohaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Pam. I share your views on the mini-vans here, there isn't a day goes by that we don't read of fatalities though the major problems now seem to be the railroad. We still have a zero injury record (apart from our guide getting stung by a bee last year). August is a difficult month and I'm so glad you got a good weather trip. We all love to read great reviews, Sing says "thank you" and Lucky says "Woof" too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    18
    6
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's not often you can find an attraction that is as exciting for the adults as it is for children. Our kids are 7, 9 and 14 and we all had a fantastic time. Our guide was charming and we were surprised to find we were the only guests.

We took 3 of their UTV buggies, our eldest, mum and dad driving one each. Soon we were whizzing through the rubber tree plantations and corn fields. The farmers along the way seemed really pleased to see us as they were harvesting their corn. The waterfall is stunning, but we recommend wearing proper shoes as it can be a little slippy.

The countryside is unspoiled, and this is truly off the well trodden tourist path. We had a wonderful time and every one of our family had a different highlight from the day, for our 2 youngest children it was the driving lesson on the village football field, for my wife it was watching the Chinese hill tribe women weaving on their porches and for me it was the drive through the valleys to the waterfall.

Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Will, thank you very much for your kind review, we were lucky with the weather on your visit. Sing asked me to say thank you to you too. We all enjoyed meeting your family and we're thrilled they had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were warned when we booked that not all tours can run if the weather is bad but we were lucky. The buggies are fantastic, the countryside is beautiful and the guide was charming and spoke good English.

The trails were a little muddy but you have to expect this on an outdoor adventure like this and it just added to the fun.

Everyone enjoyed this great day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Listerine785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you had a good time and hope you will return again another year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly how it should be done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked this on the strength of the reviews here alone. Our teenagers had poured over the reviews, website and their promotional video and really looking forward to it.

We (mum and dad) less so, but we were incredibly surprised. It's all been said before in the other reviews, but to recap. Sing our guide for the Waterfall session we booked was charming and spoke perfect English. We had the trip to ourselves with Sing in a vehicle up front, our two teens in one each next, we then followed in a car each and the mechanic bringing a spare up the back (sorry, forgot his name, he doesn't speak English). This worked great for us, particularly on the way back where our kids were allowed to lead and set the pace and we had a leisurely drive arriving back at the architecturally stunning HQ some 10 minutes later than the kids. Waterfall was amazing, great service, fantastic to see the farmers working in their fields and waving to us. We felt more like family than customers. Bruce oversees the whole thing and it's clear they all work as a team to make this day out not just great, but five star luxury all the way. Best day in Thailand so far.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear alick, thank you very much for your kind review. We're all very pleased that everyone enjoyed it and we certainly enjoyed having you all here. We hope you will return again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great afternoon in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and went with the ATV tour as it ranked number 1. I really wanted to give my 8 year old son a day out to remember and do something really exciting with him. Happy to say both he and I really did enjoy driving through the hills outside Chiang Rai and going to the waterfall for a swim. Our guide, Sing, was very friendly and we had an excellent afternoon out. My son particularly enjoyed driving the ATV himseld on the village football field. It was also great to have a swim and a shower at the end of the day. All in all, really good fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Iain, Thank you for your very kind review and especially for the photos you posted. We enjoyed having yourself and your son every bit as much as you both enjoyed your time with us. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai ATV also viewed

 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai ATV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing