We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Introduction to Northern Thai Culture”

Mae Fah Luang Art and Culture Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.29*
and up
Private Tour: Chiang Rai City Sightseeing
Ranked #15 of 84 things to do in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mae Fah Luang Art & Cultural Park houses the region's largest collection of folk art and teak artifacts from the Lanna Kingdom. It has been recognized as a unique tourist destination in northern Thailand and has won the Thailand Tourism Award 2006 as an outstanding tourism destination in the category of Arts and Culture.
Chiang Rai
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An Introduction to Northern Thai Culture”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nestled on sprawling acreage in central Chiang Rai, this art unique park will introduce you to the culture of the Lanna Kingdom. The grounds are beautifully maintained and interspersed with beautiful teak buildings reminiscent of northern Thai architecture. They contain artifacts from the past that depict the life of the people as well as a historical picture of the role and importance of teak. Guides were available at the main exhibition halls to provide helpful information and answer questions. Entrance fee is 200 Baht. Well worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcuscromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    54
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to give this a try. We took the free hotel shuttle bus in the morning and we weren't charged any entry fee. I think this must be because Le Meridien is a sponsor. The gardens are beautiful and very expansive. We visited the Exhibition Hall which was interesting. There was also lots of wooden buildings including a temple, which had a guide in to tell us about the artifacts there. We had a cup of coffee in the visitors centre then walked back to the pick-up point. 2 hours is just about right and great that it was all free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best Gardens I've ever been to.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stunning, absolutely stunning. The colours and smells on show here are just brilliant. We spent 2 hrs walking around in awe of the place. Some of the most delightful orchids I've ever seen. It's set out really well, so even though it's set on a hillside you don't get very tired. They have used bamboo to great effect with walkways etc... You have to visit, this was quite possibly my favourite place in and around ChiangRai.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I knew very little about this attraction before I went, I thought it was an art gallery but oh no it is more an architectural exhibition and is fantastic. The gardens are so well maintained and the buildings fantastic. Keep an eye out for the poem to the trees, that had me smiling all day.
It costs 200 baht to get in but it is a unique experience so take your time there, relax and enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everyone should visit this park it is fantastic and well worth the journey. Plenty to see and it is a brilliant place with water features and gardens laid out on hillsides etc. Must go when in Chiang Rai.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae Fah Luang Art and Culture Park also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Mae Fah Luang Art and Culture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing