We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bura Heaven”
Review of Bura Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bura Resort
Ranked #4 of 184 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed there in late January for three nights. No words can do this place justice. Beautifully appointed room with a shower and bathroom that you will want to take home. Running natural waterfall outside the door to our room. Ok it's a taxi ride in to town but the tranquility of this place is something to behold. Staff and service were truly excellent. No hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanonTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

This resort is a beautiful combination of a man made and natural setting. It is situated at the base of forested hills outside of Chiang Rai. There is plenty of bird activity around the resort and this bird watcher particularly enjoyed the view and bird watching from the flat roof of the restaurant building.
The deluxe rooms are spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom. You can open the doors and windows for fresh air, and although there are no screens, there were no flies to bother us, at least when we were there in early February.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful, always smiling, and my wife and I kept on commenting to each other how sweet these young women are. They also provided us with a cell phone and their phone number when we left the resort for the day.
Of interest, there is a waterfall park within 2 kilometres of the resort. We hiked the 800 metre trail to the falls. Although the falls themselves are only small, the walk beside the cascading river through the tropical forest was the best part. It is a bit of a rough walk in places so wear the appropriate footwear (ie. not flip flops).
Finally, the food at the Bura Resort was good and reasonably priced. The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating, the outdoor part being beside their man made waterfall and pools...very beautiful setting!


Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Pros: very beautiful location set near to the mountains on the outskirts of CR (but easily reachable by taxi for 200 THB). Very clean and pretty rooms. Great service-orientated team. Good location to get away from the bustle of a city for a peaceful slice of luxury.


Cons: no swimming pool, they double booked our 2nd night (probably due to booking.com/agoda reservations malfunction) so we could only stay one of the two nights that we had initially booked with the hotel... But they helped us to find alternative solutions.

I highly recommend this location and would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MatthewScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at this remote resort and everything was done to please us. It started from a pickup an drop off at the chiang rai bus terminal in the old city center by the owner's wife, to a visit to black house( a remarkable kind of open air art gallery) which they proposed us to visit and two trips to the local market. As we wanted green tea for breakfast or white wine at our dinner, they specially got it for us the next day. Breakfast was really delicious such as the meals in their restaurant which were nicely prepared and the price was more than correct. Great and friendly cook!! Quiet and impressing surroundings of the compound with lots of small waterfalls and fishponds. The staff without any exception were so friendly, helpfull and made our stay an unforgetable. The spacious lovely designed bungalows are well spread in the park giving you lots of privacy when sitting on the terrace. We specially loved the creative architecture of the villas who are so well integrated in the nature.Luckily there were not many mosquitoes around. We had private massages in our room by an elderly lady from a neighbouring village upon request.
After many places we have been travelling to, this is one of the best, and we can only recommend it, also to families with small children as there is plenty for them to discover around so close to nature. Calm place for people who still appreciate remote places on this planet without being cut from the world. Good wifi connection.
We hope to come back one day!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We are a 70 and 68 year old married couple travelling light round South East Asia so probably not typical of the average reviewer.Having travelled extensively this is still our favourite area. We are staying in various accommodation ranging from 4 Seasons in Bangkok and Chiang Mai to cheap hotels in Hanoi. Bura Resort fits into the top end of any place. To get there from Chiang Mai make sure you get off at the Old bus station as the new one is out of town. The taxis will clamber for your trade and because we were both tired I settled on the first price of 300 Baht which I knew was over the odds but couldn't be bothered. Take a map showing Bura on it as you are in the sticks here and a couple of taxi drivers didn't know it. 20 mins later we arrived to a haven of peace and tranquility . Beautiful setting amidst wooded hills with a fabulous garden and lovely accommodation. Our rooms were immaculate and the views tremendous. The meals are taken in very informal surroundings and they are really good, the Thai dishes were superb and there is a decent European meal choice. The menu is not large but still offers enough for most people. They do tend to serve everything you order at once but the Staff were much too nice to put them right. The dearest item on the menu costs 100 baht and beers between 80 and 100 baht including the mini bar in the room. The room was cleaned perfectly every day and the staff were unobtrusive but very helpful. We had a poolside house with a terrace looking over the gardens to the valley below and despite being near water never had a problem with Mosquitos.Tv in the room, great shower room and bathroom, shortage of cat hangers and small fridge if that bothers you. Not sophisticated which we loved and you do need a taxi to Chiang Rai which the staff will sort for you. Anyone looking for a period of chill out come here. Hanoi next for us so we are using this to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: Get waterside if possible, bring waterproofs during Sept Oct Nov as hills attract moisture at someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

2MovingTheChi took a Green Bus from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai to spend a few days touring northern Thailand. We selected to try the Bura Resort based upon several positive on-line reviews.

Arriving in Chiang Rai’s bus station, in an old terminal in an older part of downtown, we took a taxi truck to the Bura Resort. It is maybe 15 km north from downtown off a narrow (one car lane) cement mountain road.

This small, two year old resort is like a mini Hawaiian resort, with waterfalls, gardens, open air front desk and restaurants, in a peaceful surrounding. The grounds are beautifully manicured.

The accommodations are individual spacious villas. Our water front villa deck, with a controllable waterfall, made for an ideal spot for reading or enjoying the outdoors. As you enter the villa, you have to insert the room key in a wall unit by the entrance door to activate the electricity. The main room of our wood floor villa included a king bed, a comfortable seating area surrounded by windows, a writing desk and ample counter space. The air conditioning is operated by remote. Another great feature is the lighting control unit by the bed side.

The bathroom is very large, with separate shower and tub. High windows around the shower provide natural lighting. A large window beside the tub gives this room an open feel. The shower area is recessed into the floor and has two methods of water flow. One is a large shower head set high in the ceiling that provides a “rain shower”. The second is a shower head that is removable for hand held uses.

The resort operates a restaurant with a nice menu selection and good taste. The waterfalls that surround the restaurant are stunning and peaceful, providing the perfect setting for meal service.

Other features include television, refrigerator, robes, slippers, hairdryer, ample electrical outlets, wifi internet (can be slow at times), two free bottles of water and bath toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, etc)

The main feature of this resort are the people who operate it. Hana was our main contact from the moment we arrived. She made it a point to be our personal concierge. She even went with us to the bus station to help us purchase our transportation out of Chiang Rai. Above and beyond. But wait, there’s more. The owner (Jazz) and his wife (Nui) were over-the-top as well. They made us feel like family.

Looking for a nice place to spend some time in a mountain resort in northern Thailand. STAY HERE!!

2MovingTheChi.com have been traveling since April starting with the U.S. and currently in southeast Asia. For more information on the Bura Resort, visit 2MovingTheChi.com.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2MTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place was probably the nicest resort I stayed at after more than 4 months of travelling. The customer experience here is excellent and the ownr / staff simply understand what you have to do to make customers more than satisfied:
- The owner picked our luggage up in the old-town of Chiang Rai when we decided to stay here. He also dropped us to the bus station when we left.
- The water bungalows are beautifully designed and you get a huge bathtub, a natural water fall shower, a normal shower, huge bed, big TV, a nice sofa area where you can chill out, a lot of plugs. Outside there is a nice veranda where you can enjoy the view, a nice artificial waterfall you can operate yourself when you want to have it on.
- breakfast is very good quality and you can choose from different types. We also had dinner here twice: it's very good as well and they don't charge enormous prices you might expect in a resort like this.
- the resort itself is very nicely designed which makes a nice atmosphere.
- they offered us to bring us to the nearby waterfall - how nice is that?
- when we came back from a run they brought us tea and cookies. Another day, they brought some thai meat appetizer. It's something I honestly don't expect which makes it even nicer.
- It was mentioned that the staff doesnt speak English very well. Yes, they might not have an English proficiency degree but it's really not a problem and everything we asked for was done in no time. Furthermore, the staff is extremely friendly and hospitable. I felt really well looked after.
- Our room was cleaned every day at any time we wanted them to.
- If there is maybe one thing that could be improved, it is the internet: I had to log in every time I used it and sometimes even during the usage.
And yes, it is way out of town. You will need a car or a scooter to get here but I think that's the nice thing about this prlce. To enjoy the quiet environment and the beautiful mountains and waterfalls around Bura Resort. If I come back to Chiang Rai, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: go for a water villa. it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
7.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
808 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
7.8 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,027 reviews
8.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
213 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bura Resort

Address: No. 244 Moo 13, Ban Hua Fai, Ban Du Muang District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $60 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bura Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing