We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy and Good !!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
My Dream Guest House
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crazy and Good !!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When arriving there, you feel that it's going to be a magical place, and you are right.

The rooms, the view from the bungalow, the food, the garden are amazing, but nothing compare to the kindness of the owner : Khun Nan.

Khun Nan will help you to organize a trek in the Jungle :You will see animals (sometimes a little bit scary), eat local food (bananas, local pork in village, rice : bio and delicious), swim in waterfalls, eat fruit from the jungle, learn a ton of thing of their way of doing, see no farangs, swim in hot spring, do a fantastic elephant ride....

If you are waiting for him to come after the boat, just go around the village and take some pictures of Lahu people working in rice fields, or buffalos, or anything actually.

Kob Khun Kap Khun Nan for this fantastic adventure !!

Room Tip: take the one in the front of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The accommodation is in an excellent location next to the Mae Kok river and in a Karen Village. We stayed 2 nights along with our 2 children aged 18 and 16 and a friend. We booked 2 river view bungalows and a back terraced bungalow. This is a family operated and owned business by Anan Kodo and his wife. He is a member of the Karen tribe. The accommodation is clean and basic with fan, nets and hot shower. The river view rooms are the best with comfortable beds and excellent decks to river view.The back terraced bungalow is a little dark and the bed hard. The food is very good, generous portions and priced well. This is surrounded by river and bush so expect insects and spiders to enjoy the rooms with you. The highlight is the trek. We chose the 1 day trek which included a river trip on a bamboo raft, 2 hour elephant journey up mountain ranges to a Lahu Village where we had lunch with a Lahu family. The food was excellent and generous portions, as was the hospitality shown, a walk via busk track to pick up point to waterfall, visit a Akha tibe village and then a boat trip back up the river to hot springs to bath in and then back to the guest house. This was a excellent days trek and a highlight of our many travels. It was not in your face tourism which is sometimes seen with the Hill Tops tribes. This was an insight into how the tribes live today. Anan is an excellent guide and will give you insight into their customs and way of life.

Room Tip: As mentioned already the river view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Platoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was lucky to stay at My dream guest house in July 2012. Nan was a great host with lots of knollage of the area. He took us on a bamboo rafting trip 7km then 9km buy elephant into the jungle to have lunch with one of the tribes. Next day he took us to the golden triangle, into loas and to the Burma border. We only stayed 3 nights but wish we stayed longer. We will return soon. This was one of the best expirences we had had in many trips to Thailand.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleyjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My Dream Guest House is owned and run by Anan Kodo (Nan, for short), a Karen tribal with 24 years tour guide experience. He converted a family owned plot of land into the guest house, located in a Karen Village called Khaew Waaw Dam, along the Mae Kok river.

The village is about 30 km from Chiang Rai and about 7 km from the Ruammit Elephant Camp by road, towards Thaton, and about 9 km if you choose to go by boat along the Mae Kok river. There are about 15 bungalows, some are river facing, and some are set in the garden.

Sitting in the verandah, we got a beautiful view of the garden, river and the mountains beyond. All you can hear is the "ssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh" of the flowing river, and occasional clucking of fowl and chirping of birds.

The garden is an incredibly peaceful area to sit, walk, read, listen or just doing nothing.

The dining area is set closest to the river, a wonderfully peaceful place for a quiet cup of coffee, breakfast, lunch or dinner, with the soothing, gentle sound of the river in the background.

There are a number of walking opportunities around the guest house: Karen village, Lahu village, and a suspension bridge over the Mae Kok river leading to mountains, villages and a hot spring.

Bamboo raft rides can be taken to the Hot Spring and Elephant Camp. Long tail taxi boats can be takes to Chiang Rai (45 mins). We experienced both.

Highly recommended to stay and as a base to explore the Mae Kok River and Hill Tribes in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JG-Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.0 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Homestay-Chiang Rai
Homestay-Chiang Rai
#5 of 144 in Chiang Rai
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.0 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#30 of 172 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Dream Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Guest House

Property: My Dream Guest House
Address: Khaew Khaew Waaw Dam, Karen Village | Near Raummit Elephant Camp, by Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing