We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

An excellent location, with great service. They welcomed us with a 'green colored juice', which tasted too good. And I am still wondering what exactly was that juice made up of (?) and it's preparation method. The view from our room was great, and I guess you could opt for various viewpoints. The wifi was too good. Every little thing was so orderly arranged in the room! and i would also recommend this hotel for family traveling with kids, since they have a kids swimming pool. What more, they even covered our rented car overnight at the parking lot by themselves. I would recommend for anyone going to Chiang Rai to stay here- of course the location is great if u have a vehicle.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Prabha T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for you stay in Chiang Rai.

Our tem works very hard to ensure that we do not only meet, but also exceed our guest expectations. We endeavor to ensure all our guests experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible and it will be my pleasure to share your positive remarks with our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    302
    118
    35
    9
See reviews for
149
322
49
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent 4 nights here. Excellent service, clean near to town. Wonderful pool - fantastic view from our room of the river. Lift attendant fantastic character take time to speak to him. Manager of breakfast restaurant very polite and caring. Fully recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clazandtru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Clazandtru,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about Lift Attendant & Manager of Breakfast Restaurant. It will be my great pleasure to thank them in person for your kind appreciation of their services and hospitality.

We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

Thank you again for your kind review. All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England-Grew up Largo, Fl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel has a great location being within reach of everything.

The rooms are a good size and clean. The pool is huge and we had a great swim here.

Staff didn't speak English at all so this was hard.

Overall a good place to stay a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Nick B,

Thank you very much for leaving your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests. Your valuable comments have been well noted.

Thank you again that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai and we look forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the hotel, it's quite close to the city centre, just 10 mins walk.

The room is big but the bed is a bit hard. The shower room is big, with the shower and bath tub separated, which is very nice.

I will call a taxi instead of taking the hotel transport to the city center as it cost B60 pet person which a call in taxi will cost from B30 (meter) to B100.

Breakfast buffet is limited but relaxing as I have a view of the river while dinning. But it is not cheap at ard B400.

But I will still stay here again as the staff are friendly and warm.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Phil T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I was absolutely delighted to read your comments about your recent experience of our hotel. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about you definitely return.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is an old, but beautiful resort with a large garden area and a scenic riverside and pool. The resort has an old style charm with is made more 'tactile' by the presence of a friendly liftman, dressed in the traditional Chiangmai dress with tinkling bells and a tinkling smile, exuding so much warmth that I am tempted to call him the resort's 'elf'. When we first came in, the staff at front desk was just okay in terms of hospitality. In fact they even mismanaged the allocation of the room for us, so we were a bit put off. But this elf was there with such humility and warm hospitality that all our initial disappointment vanished. Finally, the room that we got was nice and spacious. Some furnishing are a bit dated and need replacement- like the lamps, rugs, furniture, but perhaps these are also the things that lend it the old style charm.

The breakfast is a good spread of English and Thai breakfast items and a good selection of cold cuts and fruits. I also liked their Thai tea and hot ginger tea. The breakfast is served in their Chinatown restaurant, where we also had lunch twice, and liked it. Good preparations.

There's a lot of space to walk or bike around and see, including a cute little organic herb garden maintained by the resort. It's nice and the gardener there is friendly. He gave us a few tips on growing lemon grass. They also have a massage place, which on the same campus but not owned by Dusit. These are small charming old style huts with massage beds on the floor. The massage was extremely relaxing but there's no facility to shower inside so we had to shower in our room before and after the massage. We went for a long walk around and outside the resort, along the river bank and it was very nice to see the rugged land around with local thai residences and their life style. Coming back we took a boat ride on the river, which brought us back to the river bank pier by the resort.

Overall, ours was a good experience. If I happen to go to Chiangrai again, I wouldn't mind staying at Dusit island, especially to meet my Elf. I should have asked his name.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for room with the view of the river and pool. Not all rooms have that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtulaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear AtulaA,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about “Elf”. I think his name is Supap. It will be my great pleasure to thank him in person for your kind appreciation of his services and hospitality.

We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

Thank you again for your kind review. All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The manager should be very proud of his staff at this resort. I have lived in Thailand for the past 19 years and have traveled extensively throughout the country and this hotel has been the best. The service from all the staff was exceptional.
Our friends from the UK were very pleased we had booked this hotel and they were also impressed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Robert E,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is nothing special, but good for what it is: rooms are ok, clean but bit dated with nice beds; service is friendly, breakfast good and location and environment around are just fine. I stayed in the hotel for a business meeting, and it was functional was such event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank president_kekkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear President_kekkonen,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Please kindly ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
487 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing