We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older hotel that has a personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great older and very well maintained property that has a lot of character with the well groomed grounds and the older feel. Great views from the room we had looking down on the river. It was great to see the fishing boats and local river traffic when we woke up in the morning. I short walk to the city and all the food was just excellent. Staff I felt where very good and friendly and provided great service. Interesting that this is the most rural hotel location in our Thailand trip and an older property but it had the best internet beating out two places we stayed in Bangkok (15 megabit connection speeds which is pretty amazing all things considered)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Chris P,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 765 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have staid in this hotel on a number of occasion over the last 10 years, and very little has changed over this time.
The rooms are nicely done with loverly views over the river. The only down side to the rooms is still the showers which have a nasty habit of changing temperature on you during you shower.
However the service is very friendly, the food excellent and there is a huge pool.
The location is a 15 minute walk from the night market or 80 baht by tuk tuk.
If you fancy taking it easy for a day you can hire a car plus driver for 2500 baht plus petrol. He will take you any where you want to go.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank International91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear International91,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on this website. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

I do acknowledge your comments regarding the room and our service. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service. Moreover, the renovation project is now under our management discuss. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

All staff and management team sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My superior room had magnificent views over the grounds, pool and countryside beyond. The bathroom was top notch as was the room and its furnishings. The staff were efficient and helpful. They organised my requirements as I had asked. Of course one should use simple standard English. Orientals would not say to you "Sorry, I don't understand," this would mean losing face which is definitely a no-no in their culture. I had to pull up an Australian woman who was quite agitated at a waitress for not understanding her when she wanted "a top up" for her drink. One's bedding is turned down in the late afternoon and a bowl of fruit is provided. My laundry was returned to me within 3 hours, some record. On two evenings I well known international company had a reunion/dinner on the lawns outside my room. The music and celebrations shut down thoughtfully by 11pm. My only reservation was the quality of the restaurant foods. For such an establishment the dishes were somewhat mediocre - just room for improvement here. But I would certainly recommend this hotel for price, quality and tranquillity.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irobertson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear irobertson14,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on this website. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

I do acknowledge your comments regarding the room and our service. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service. Moreover, the renovation project is now under our management discussion.

All staff and management team sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We think at one time this was probably a good hotel but lack of investment in the building and the people has let it slide. Rooms are very tired and in need of refurbishing. Staff are not up to the level of a good hotel either. There are better hotels in town and this hotel is not convenient unless you have a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Miguel B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to learn that our hotel and staff did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service. Moreover, the renovation project is now under our management team discuss. Again, I do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

All staff and management were most pleased to be at your service and we hope you will give us an opportunity of regaining your confidence in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I found that a number of reviewers were right when I stayed for 1 night at the hotel. Yes, the grounds, the Lobby, including the Organic garden are great. But the rooms really need to be spruced up - actually needs to be renovated, and because of that, was not very clean even. I was not happy with the bathroom and the carpets, since they did not seem to be cleaned very well.

The room that we checked in had a stale cigarette odour, and the hotel opened the window for us, and sprayed the carpets - however, they do need to make sure that the rooms are thoroughly smoke-free when the next guest arrives.

Their service in the restaurant has a lot to be desired. We went there for dinner, and breakfast, and the service was quite poor. However, the breakfast spread was good. We stayed there, since it was only for 1 night - anything longer, I would have found another hotel.

Since it was part of a private tour, I am thinking, that they are offering discounts to tour guides due to their room conditions, which, I believe they know is not good.
Would like to walk the grounds, but not stay in their rooms - if that is possible the next time...

Ofcourse, the view of the river from your room is good, so that was the one saving grace.

Room Tip: Good for a one night stay. Ask for a river view room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Antaara,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on this website. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

I do acknowledge your comments regarding the room and our service. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service. Moreover, the renovation project is now under our management discuss. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

All staff and management team sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Many times I stayed here. Because of the good service I will stay here again although the old hotel. I found that the service is very different sometime bad sometime good such as the welcome drink sometime they serve. So in this weekend i decide for going to stay again .Normally I booked by myself though the website .But for next visit I had call them to hotel reception they are very impolite to talk with me and very hurry to try hang off my phone.So I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Smith344,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn that our service especially by phone, did not meet your expectations. Your comments on the problems you experienced have been well noted. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I often travel to Chiang Rai for business trip. I spent 6 times staying here since Jul 2013 and latest Jan 2014. The hotel located on the island surrounded by Kok river (brown color river). The location is quite hide away from city area. Anyway, it is very convenient to go out by asking hotel staff to call a local taxi meter which starts from 50 Baht (fare start 30 Baht + Calling service 20 Baht). The hotel lobby is lofty and well Thai-style decorated. Staff are also nice and welcome, surpised by nice welcome drink. The room with double bed is good but a little bit old bathroom in my opinion. Wifi signal is strength enough to connect a company VPN. TV channels are variety including several languages. All facilities completely provided i.e. fitness, table tennis, towel for swimming. The pool is very big and clean, you can also buy a drink at pool lounge too! Bakery buy 1 get 1 free after 6pm. Variety of breakfast. Lastly, try The Peak restaurant on 10th floor and enjoy panorama view of Chiang Rai!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sitthikorn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Sitthikorn Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for you stay in Chiang Rai.

Our tem works very hard to ensure that we do not only meet, but also exceed our guest expectations, We endeavor to ensure all our guests experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible and it will be my pleasure to share your positive remarks with our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
753 reviews
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
1,004 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing