We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I booked a Landmark Suite for 5 nights using an online travel website and I got a really good deal. The rate included breakfast and Wi-Fi in my suite and throughout the hotel's huge complex.

The property is beautiful, sitting on a small island in the Mae Kok river. There is a humongous pool and a well-equipped fitness facility on the grounds, as well as a couple of tennis courts.

The hotel has 5 restaurants, 3 of which I tried (Chinatown, Larn Tong and The Peak) and the food was excellent! The Peak Steakhouse, located on the top floor of the building with gorgeous panoramic sweeping views of the mountains and Chiang Rai Pagoda, had reasonable prices and a good selection of wine (in Chiang Rai terms) with terrific service. The Lobby Lounge bar had a good selection of single malt Scotch whiskies and the bar-tenders made great cocktails. There was a singer and piano player entertaining every evening. Breakfast was an enormous spread of many different dishes and was tasty and fresh every morning.

My Landmark Suite was roomy, very well appointed, comfortable and clean, with a bath-tub and shower and some good amenities. It had a safe, a nice couch and coffee table in the sitting room and large windows. It had a huge balcony with a small table, two chairs and a stunning, unobstructed view of the Mae Kok River.

It’s a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride to the Night Bazaar / Bar area from the hotel, and 15 minutes to Central Plaza Chiang Rai. You can hire a private car to and from the Night Bazaar or Central Plaza for 300 Baht.

I’d definitely recommend this hotel to my fellow travelers and I look forward to returning to this hotel in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    302
    118
    34
    9
See reviews for
149
320
49
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed at the Dusit Island Resort for 4 nights, and I have to say it was very comfortable, elegant and very traditional. I would love to come back here soon, and the facilities are excellent. They have a wide selection of food for breakfast. The swimming pool is huge, and the gym facility is good.

Room Tip: 6th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

In my opinion, the hotel lobby is amazing, the island is next to a river called 'Mae Kok'. The service is good, the internet is not really that good, it is only for checking emails, you can't load YouTube videos or anything. The rooms aren't nice as the D2 Dusit Hotel in Chiang Mai. The breakfast is ok, today didn't really have as much food as yesterday. The best thing about this hotel is it has an amazing lobby and an amazing view of the outside!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouristTripHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on 11 July 2012. I only wish I had more time to enjoy the lovely hotel bounded by a river and surround with manicured and tranquil gardens. A wonderful experience to get away from the hustle and bustle of crowds and after a days of sightseing and shopping. Staff were very helpful and the facilites were first rate.

Room Tip: I only stay at a Superior room and I would think that anything more woudl be event better. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irv789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Hotel is one of our favourites, but we do not often get to visit because it is in Northern Thailand.
Not far from the Chiangrai Airport and about three hours by VIP coach to Chiangmai.

Very traditional and great service. We are always pleased with the reception and concierge staff, because they are so helpful. The rooms are restful and traditional.
Interestingly the Hotel has it's own shuttle service to the Township for 120 baht return journey. This is complemented by the FREE local shopping Mall provided shuttle.

The huge pool is wonderful for exercising and relaxing, and there are many sunbeds forthe residents. The pool surround is a pink concrete/tile but gives the appearance of being shabby and in desperate need of a steam clean and some maintenance. Pity it does not receive the TLC that is obvious in the rest of the Hotel facilities. The gym is small, but adequate, and the sauna and spa pool are both minute.

Three restaurants cater for your needs, aand we dined at the Peak Restaurant one evening. Overpriced and only another couple there.

Still one of our favourites for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarian1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've stayed at Dusit Island many times and went for New Years eve with family. Fantastic New Years eve show... So much effort, attention to detail and love and care, super food and a beautiful evening.

Room Tip: The higher the better, all rooms good views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed at the Dusit Island for three (3) nights whilst visiting with family in Chiang Rai. Hotel very pleasant, and we enjoyed our stay. Hotel is now perhaps a little old, and really doesn't rate 5* as it claims. The staff, and the welcome, were great. However, you come to expect wonderful service when you're in Thailand.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_McInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing