We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”
Review of Cabbages & Condoms

Cabbages & Condoms
Ranked #54 of 287 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was foolishly optimistic about this place. I wanted to like them because they have a great premise. This is Thailand so never assume that the service or the mixed drinks will be good. They were not (although everyone was very very nice). This is the first time I've had bad coconut soup though. I ordered it just in case I didn't like the "famous" fish cakes, which were painfully not delicious. Now I know why there are so few people here while, phu lae, across the street, is packed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bklynnyctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    61
    57
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Thai food, enthusiastic live music”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

loved the food, the ambience, the service, not too expensive just a long walk from the centre of town. But if you like Thai food, this is the place to go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmithsonAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is on the saturday night walking street, the thai food is fab and the live music is also really nice. Not too expensive but middle of the road and delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeijingAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing worth visiting”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The place is recommended by guidebooks after visiting quite interesting ethnic museum. I propose you to eat in advance, and use only the free coffee/tea coupon from the museum. You can go eating anywhere else, and I believe you get better!

The restaurant was maybe once something special, now it looks very mediocre, with poor food especially when it comes to vegetarian options. Nothing worth your money and time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing tourist trap restaurant (Mae Chan branch only)”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was in Chiang Rai with a group and we had numerous very good meals. I chose the dishes in advance myself. This was the only really disappointing meal I had the whole trip. I've eaten at Cabbages and Condoms in Bangkok a couple of times but although it's not my first choice, it's not bad. This branch of the restaurant gave us bland food. There was hardly any spice in it. The soup was ok but everything else tasted like something I could cook at home with no exotic ingredients. Very disappointing. Even the people in our group who couldn't eat spicy food thought it was boring. It was also not great that the food was sitting on the table when we arrived. How far in advance did they cook it? Didn't they consider that it should be hot?
The staff were friendly enough the presentation was fun - our rice was smiling, but this has cured me of my need to visit a cabbages and condoms again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbages & Condoms also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Cabbages & Condoms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing