We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Nak Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nak Nakara
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed 5 nights here and found it friendly and comfortable. Rooms were roomy and clean, the bathroom large with a wonderful shower, the WiFi worked well, and the staff was friendly and super helpful. The hotel itself is set in a lovely location with gardens and flowers all around. Although it is not centrally located, the staff at the desk was always quick to call a tuk-tuk or taxi for us, which cost next to nothing to get anywhere in town.

The breakfast buffet, while predominately Asian food (some of which was quite good), had enough of a variety that everyone could find plenty of familiar foods. We enjoyed our breakfasts out on the front terrace of the restaurant, watching that area of town start the day. All in all, a fancy yet personable and friendly hotel that we would gladly visit again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, General Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I am glad you love the atmosphere here.
I myself like to see the view in front of the hotel in the morning too.
The air is fresh and the local lifestyle is going on every single day along this road.
The monk sometimes walks along for Bhudist in order to pray and make a merit by donate some food and drink.
It is really the true nature of local people here which is hardly found in the city.
Lastly, I am sure you would love our garden more by the end of this year.
It is because we prepare some big change in the hotel to satisfy the customer.
We wish you come back again and look forward to serve you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Nak Nakara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 750 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and were offered an upgrade when we arrived. Quiet large room,clean and comfortable with no odors. Soft bed that even had a top sheet which is rare in Asia. Shower worked well and had hot water. Internet worked fine in the room. The free breakfast buffet was one of the best we had in Asia offering a good variety with yummy tasting items. The service was excellent both in the lobby and especially in the restaurant. They got to know us and were very helpful. The location was good as I could walk into the town easily to the local markets and night market plus many temples close by. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our downstairs room was fine but no view of anything.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nblapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, General Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I remember you! You are a lovely customer come up with your mom.
Your mom is nice and lovely too. How is she? everyone miss you two.
We wish you have a wonderful trip and safe journey back to your home.
Please come to visit us again in the near future.
We have got some new decorating to our hotel and we are sure you gonna love it.
Thank you again for supportive review and have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed 2 nights there and i must say this was one of the greatest hotels i've been in thailand. The rooms are big, very clean and modern. The bathroom is very nice and convenient. There is a fantastic garden inside the hotel and this is a very quiet place. You can hear birds every morning.
The staff are very nice, helpful and smiling. They help you for everything you need in Chiang Rai and give you good tips. a special thanks to Nes , La and Jum who have been so nice during this stay.
Last but not least, the breakfast is comprehensive with both thai and western food.
This is probably the best quality price in Chiang Rai !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chico1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent admiring.
We are appreciated to hear that.
We wish to see you again in the near future.
If you come to Chiang Rai next time,
Please come to visit us.
You are also the best customer ever of the hotel.
Every staff loves you and look forward to see you again very soon.
Thank you again and wish you have a safe trip throughout your journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here overnight. It is quite centrally located. And it was a short walk to the night market which we were keen to explore. The receptionist was very helpful and provided a handy map, highlighting the roads we needed to take.

The hotel itself is quite spread out on the ground and the rooms are on three floors. We had a room on the second floor. There are no lifts. The room was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the pillow was soft.

What was quite off putting were these huge figures of snakes at the front and really all over the place. Of course they probably represent the "Nak" in the name of the hotel. But it was scary and made my hairs stand on end as we entered the premises, pointing to the fact that they may not be simply stone statues but are really representing the idols or graven images that are worshipped by people who believe in them.

We needed to be picked up at 6.30 in the morning and so would need breakfast at 6 a.m. Initially we were quite firmly told that breakfast would only be available from 7 a.m. However a little later the receptionist was able to contact her manger and we were told that our request would be accommodated. That was a nice gesture!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are very appreciated you have a wonderful sleep at our hotel.
The bed, mattress and pillow are all finest selected from the professional.
Therefore, we are really glad to hear you love that all.
I understand how you feel about the sculpture of Nagas.
Nevertheless, I could strongly assure that there is nothing about the sculpture.
Nobody feels or senses the bad thing about it. All I have heard is the greatly admiring.
Please come again next time, I could 100%guarantee that you will be fine.
I wish you have a wonderfull trip for your holidays and have a safe trip back
to your country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have a trip with my family in Chiang Rai last week and my cousin chose this hotel for all of us. And we stayed at the first floor of the hotel. Its location was really good, situated in the center of Chiang Rai. The hotel is neither large nor luxurious, but spacious inside. Hotel staff spoke English fluently and also were friendly. The toilet was clean. The only weak point was the bed which was too much mobile, I cannot sit on the bed and lean my back to the wall to play my notebook. However, the mattress was fine and made me sleep very well.The ventilation was really good. I am an allergic person but felt alright when staying there. 2 strongest points of this hotel were first, strong wifi and second, peaceful and beautiful garden outside the hotel. The breakfast was just OK. But you can order anything you would like additionally from their staff. In summary, this hotel is worth staying and will be the one I choose for my next trip in Chiang Rai.

Room Tip: no elevator, choose the first floor if you have problem with your leg
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pojjaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nak Nakara as your holiday staying.
We are so appreciated you like our hotel.
I have sent the maintainance team to investigate the bed.
The bed is fine, it needs to be locked at the roller under the bed.
I am sorry for an inconvenient. I have already told the housemaid to lock each bed
in every room. Thank you again for your useful suggestion. We are always welcome and happy to hear from you. If you come to Chiang Rai again next time. Please come to stay with us again.
Have a safe trip to your hometown. We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Pleasant hotel with friendly helpful staff. Good location. We rent a car and hotel has plenty of car parks with security. No worry. Room quite and spacious. Breakfast good spread.
Downside, no lift at all. Just imagine having to lug your luggage all the way to 3rd floor unless the porter is around to help you..

Room Tip: request for 1st floor rooms, near the stairs
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satisfy401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for give us the suggestion.
We used to have a meeting with the board about the elevator.
The conclusion is we all agree to extend the elevation constructed so that we can keep the environment for the resort type accommodation.
Nevertheless, we arrange the porter at the reception so that our customers have no need to carry
their baggage to their room.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to serve you again soon in
the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Easy check in by very friendly smiling staff. They were wonderful during our 8-night stay.
The Nak Nakara is located in a very good position within easy access to bars restaurants
and the Chiang Rai centre.
The hotel does a very good breakfast consisting of tea-coffee fruit juice etc,
yogurts,cereals,fruit eggs and many local dishes .Rice vegetables chicken salad its
very varied.
The rooms where cleaned every day with towel change and they are quite large. We stayed in 222 room.
The garden is very pleasant and a lovely area to relax after being out most of the day.
So the question is why on earth do they want to rip the garden up and put a swimming pool in
its place please think again. After all most people that stay in this region go out on trips not sit around a pool .
Once again a brilliant hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us.
I still remember you and your wife.
you both are very nice customers.
You have told me about the idea of the swimming pool which is really helpful.
Of course, we will keep the stunning garden.
Nevertheless, the swimming pool is on going project and we will try the best to reserve the area in the garden for our guests so that they can enjoy reading, drink beer and so on.
Thank you again to staying with us and we are looking forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.3 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
513 reviews
10.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
1,004 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nak Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nak Nakara

Address: 661 Uttarakit Road | Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $48 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nak Nakara 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, Nak Nakara Hotel guarantees guests with comfortable 70 rooms. The hotel provides public facilities such as Free Wi-Fi, Parking lot, Computer with internet and in-room facilities such as LCD TV, Hair dryer and safety box. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in the garden.The hotel also has a swimming pool for adult and kids. Nak Nakara is located 10 minutes walk from downtown, Chiang Rai Old Bus Station, Night Bazaar and the Golden Clock Tower. Chiang Rai Airport is 10 minutes away. With its convenient location, the hotel is easy to access to the Restaurant, Public Park, Minimart7-11 and Hill tribe Museum within 3 minute walk. At Nak Nakara, we provide the best service to ensure guests' happiness. The tour can be arranged by front officer at the front desk. Also bicycles are available for rental free of charge. The hotel offers strength signal free Wi-Fi in public and free Wi-Fi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nak Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing