We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and great staff make this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nak Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nak Nakara
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location and great staff make this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the closeness to the centre of Chiang Rai and also ratings on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased with out stay of 3 nights. The front desk staff are wonderful. Bee, in particular, deserves special recognition. On a rainy evening we were on our way to dinner. We had not noticed the umbrella stand in the lobby with umbrellas for the guests. She ran down the street after us to give us one to protect us from the heavy rain. Another night, she stayed late past her regular finishing hour to assist us in getting our Air Asia boarding passes printed on the front desk's printer.

The location is close to the markets and numerous restaurants. The restaurant next door, Bella Pizzeria, serves excellent pizza and should definitely be visited. Great prices and very nice family run restaurant.

The breakfast buffet has many choices. We would have preferred more Western types of hot food.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for stay with us.
I will pass your admiration to Bee, She would be glad and proud to hear that.
Our staffs have been trained to be serviced mind and kind people in order to reach the
standard of Thai charisma. We wish you visit Chiang Rai again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    283
    67
    9
    0
See reviews for
92
300
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after spending a week in the hills with no electricity and minimal amenities. Wife and I thought a decent, modern hotel would be a nice treat. Were able to book two nights day we called, but they were full after that since it was the weekend then.

The staff at the hotel were very sweet, helpful, and competent. English language skills are good and their main desk guy helped me book rooms at another hotel in town when theirs filled up.

Rooms are comfortable and worth the price, which includes a breakfast buffet that's quite decent. They also have the buffet open till 10am, which is nice when you're getting a late start on the day.

Note: wasn't able to get a wifi signal in the restaurant where breakfast is served so if you're like me and like to read up on the news over your coffee you'll need to make arrangements in advance.

The whole place is just a solid, well-run hotel with most modern conveniences. If you're coming from the roller-bag, wine-and-steak-every-night tour, this place might not meet expectations. But if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good rooms and service but no frills, a cut above most guest houses, then this is your place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your admiration and inspiration. It is delighted to help guest and delivers the best service to guests. I am sorry about the poor signal in the restaurant. If you would like to get the better signal, the other side of the restaurant which faces up the lobby would be good for wifi signal. We are sorry for the inconvenient. Thank you for your kind and optimist heart, we all staff remember you two and we admire you too. You are the best customer we ever have. Please come visiting us again in the near future. We wish you good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location was good, staff were helpful and attentive. Rooms were clean and hotel felt safe.

There was no pool although we knew this when we booked, however compared to other places we stayed it was expensive for what it was. Breakfast was quite poor and sadly we wouldn't stay again if we returned. However sadly we wouldn't go out of our way to stay in Chiang Rai again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your suggestion. we would love to improve ourselves to satisfy the customer. We are sorry about the pool. We promise to build it up this year. Therefore, there might be noisy from a construction during slow season this year. However, we try to start working after 9am and finish the task before 5pm. I am sorry for an inconvenient in the near future. Besides, we try the best to improve our breakfast. If you have anu suggestion, please not hesitate to let us know by e-mail to naknakara_hotel@hotmail.com
We are glad to hear your opinion and thank you for your kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This really sums up the Hotel.Our check-in was a nice experience,friendly and efficient,and we were given a street map with lots of info on the local restaurants,shops,markets etc etc,very useful for our first trip to the City.Our room was spacious,clean and simply furnished,had tea and coffee supplies,refrigerator and air con.The beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked !!We were on the top third floor,but there are no lifts,so ground floor rooms would be better if you have mobility issues.There is a very pleasant central garden courtyard,with tables and chairs.The hotel is well situated for local amenities.The most memorable part of this stay was the Staff,helpful,positive and a ready smile, plus it is really good value for a 3Star Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your supportive review. We are appreciated you love staying here. If there is any specific suggestion you could let us know by e-mail to naknakara_hotel@hotmail.com
We were delighted to serving you. If you come to Chiang Rai again, Please let us serve you in the future. Our staff is willing and happy to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We only ad one night here but hotel room was brilliant and beds nd en suite was fantastic

great night sleep nd great breakfast following morning!!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone young or old nice gardens and chill out area too!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nak Nakara as the pleasure destination.
We are glad you like the time staying here.
Although it is a short period, we believe that you have a wonderful time here.
We are looking forward to serve you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, staff were very friendly, rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. I was just there for one night but would recommend- I booked here based on reviews of others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for a supportive review. We are appreciated that you love our breakfast. Every morning, we try to ask the satisfaction and comment from the guest to collect the idea in order to set menu for breakfast. If you come again next time, please tell us what special would you like to eat. We would love to response right away if we have ingredients in the kitchen. We wish to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
10.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nak Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nak Nakara

Property: Nak Nakara
Address: 661 Uttarakit Road | Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nak Nakara 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, Nak Nakara Hotel guarantees guests with comfortable 70 rooms. The hotel provides public facilities such as Free Wi-Fi, Parking lot, Computer with internet and in-room facilities such as LCD TV, Hair dryer and safety box. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in the garden.The hotel also has a swimming pool for adult and kids. Nak Nakara is located 10 minutes walk from downtown, Chiang Rai Old Bus Station, Night Bazaar and the Golden Clock Tower. Chiang Rai Airport is 10 minutes away. With its convenient location, the hotel is easy to access to the Restaurant, Public Park, Minimart7-11 and Hill tribe Museum within 3 minute walk. At Nak Nakara, we provide the best service to ensure guests' happiness. The tour can be arranged by front officer at the front desk. Also bicycles are available for rental free of charge. The hotel offers strength signal free Wi-Fi in public and free Wi-Fi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nak Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing