We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Baan Norn Plearn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Norn Plearn
Ranked #10 of 176 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Baan Norn Plearn is located off a little side street from the main thoroughfare within short walking distance to the Clock Tower roundabout and the night market. The rooms are spotless and the manager and team extremely helpful. Breakfast is a mix of eggs & toast you cook yourself or guided more to Thai style with soup with trimmings. Good quality bikes are free to use.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin, so if you're a light sleeper ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Baan Norn Plearn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 114 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for just one night. What an fantastic set up, this former kindergarten that was previously run by the family as a kindergarten. They have carefully retained some of the former kindergarten memories which put a smile on your face. Our room was nicely presented both the room and bathroom very large. The owners are very helpful and more than happy to assist you
with anything you need. It has a nice big open planned covered communal area where you can relax or have breakfast. We tried to extend to 2 nights but it was full. I can see why! They have free bikes for hire and they are in top condition. This place is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this adorable guesthouse for 2 nights. The property was once a kindergarden and filled with charm, also the owners were so lovely and helpful.

My favourite things worthy of mention:
- Vintage decor. I absolutely love the way this guesthouse has been decorated, it's very cosy and welcoming. Many of the items have a personal history to the owners such as the old cinema chairs which came from the couples grandparents (I think it was the grandfather or perhaps father of the gentleman who runs the guesthouse). I think it's so special that they are happy to put these gorgeous items in their guesthouse for strangers to admire and enjoy.
- Bicycles available for free use. This makes getting around so much easier, it takes about 5 minutes on the bikes to the night bazaar.
- Magazine selection in breakfast room. Although they were in Thai, I really enjoyed flicking through the magazines in the breakfast room, really unique home decor ideas (maybe not so unique to someone who lives in Thailand but to a foreigner they were novel).
- Breakfast DIY style. I liked being able to make my own breakfast for a change, guests are expected to wash up after themselves at the back of the kitchen when they're done, more of a family feel as opposed to a stranger in a hotel being served.

I highly recommend this quaint, cosy and friendly hotel to anyone visiting Chiang Rai. To get to the hotel from the bus station it cost us 80B in a 2 bench truck and 200B to the airport in a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights and it wasn't for the lack of attractions in Chiang Rai, we could have easily stayed longer. The owners are super friendly. Breakfast is delicious! You serve yourself from a bounty of food. You just wash your own dishes when you are done which is fair. Breakfast gets changed up every so often for their longer-staying guests. There are bikes that can be rented for free. We didn't use them as it was easy to walk to several places including the night market. They are about 7 min. walk to the clock tower. To the bus station, it is about 15 min. tops if you walk slow and have a giant pack on your back.

The rooms were kept clean and nicely decorated. Sheets and towels were spotless. A/C is nice during the hot days. Plenty of pressure for the shower and hot water if you need it. I have no hesitation to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItchyFeetPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very long overdue review. My husband and I visited BNP in November 2012 on our one month tour of Nth Thailand/Laos/Vietnam. I booked after viewing pics on trip advisor and was not disappointed. The guesthouse is an old kindergarten which has been converted into the most quaint accommodation. Kung (who actually managed the kindy for about 20 years) and her husband Poy converted it the most homely accommodation when the kindy was shut. The gardens and surrounds are just beautiful, old furniture and toys placed throughout remind you of what was there before. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious, plenty of hot water for showers and rooms made daily with bottled watered supplied. Poy who is on hand for any travel advise goes to the market early in the morning to collect some goodies for brekky. It is all layed out and you just whip up what you want, tea and coffee is always on supply. BNP is not far from the clock tower and morning and night markets. Pushbikes are provided free of charge and it is quite easy to ride everywhere. Absolutely enjoyed our stay and would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beagle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and loved it. I wish we could have stayed longer. It's a family run place and the owner is very friendly. The others don't seem I speak much English but with enough ham signals you can usually get your pint across. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The bed is soft and so are the pillows! It included a great breakfast (you cook yourself), plus hot drinks and water. Its a ten minute walk to the night bazaar where you can get wonderful and cheap sinners. Their phone number is 087 304 8911. This was my favorite place in our six weeks in Thailand. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onelife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic just awesome,
Great people, free amazing breakfast, free wifi free glass bottles water, rooms cleaned and remade every day, very reasonable price and location and friendly people. Cannot recommend it enough, very neat setup with an added onto house with a vey antique feel to it, we were very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
B2 Chiang Rai
B2 Chiang Rai
#30 of 109 in Chiang Rai
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#9 of 176 in Chiang Rai
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 109 in Chiang Rai
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huen Chan Thip
Huen Chan Thip
#6 of 176 in Chiang Rai
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Norn Plearn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Norn Plearn

Address: 382 Banpaprakan Rd. T.Wiang A.Mueang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $22 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing