We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Guesthouse”
Review of Baan Norn Plearn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Norn Plearn
Ranked #10 of 196 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very long overdue review. My husband and I visited BNP in November 2012 on our one month tour of Nth Thailand/Laos/Vietnam. I booked after viewing pics on trip advisor and was not disappointed. The guesthouse is an old kindergarten which has been converted into the most quaint accommodation. Kung (who actually managed the kindy for about 20 years) and her husband Poy converted it the most homely accommodation when the kindy was shut. The gardens and surrounds are just beautiful, old furniture and toys placed throughout remind you of what was there before. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious, plenty of hot water for showers and rooms made daily with bottled watered supplied. Poy who is on hand for any travel advise goes to the market early in the morning to collect some goodies for brekky. It is all layed out and you just whip up what you want, tea and coffee is always on supply. BNP is not far from the clock tower and morning and night markets. Pushbikes are provided free of charge and it is quite easy to ride everywhere. Absolutely enjoyed our stay and would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beagle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and loved it. I wish we could have stayed longer. It's a family run place and the owner is very friendly. The others don't seem I speak much English but with enough ham signals you can usually get your pint across. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The bed is soft and so are the pillows! It included a great breakfast (you cook yourself), plus hot drinks and water. Its a ten minute walk to the night bazaar where you can get wonderful and cheap sinners. Their phone number is 087 304 8911. This was my favorite place in our six weeks in Thailand. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onelife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic just awesome,
Great people, free amazing breakfast, free wifi free glass bottles water, rooms cleaned and remade every day, very reasonable price and location and friendly people. Cannot recommend it enough, very neat setup with an added onto house with a vey antique feel to it, we were very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are so cute, comfortable, clean and well decorated. Breakfast was amazing and fresh, make your own eggs and coffee... so many options. Homemade doughnuts and croissants. The owner is the nicest and extremely helpful. Highly recommended. AC, wifi, hot water etc all perfect. The sign is really small outside so its kind of hard to find so make sure you have the phone number of the place to get your tuk tuk driver to call for directions!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrongsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

As soon as we entered the front gates of BNP, we were immediately struck by the tasteful, yet thoughtful redevelopment of the former kindergarten building. The tropical gardens and imaginative decorative touches all added to the tranquil and relaxed atmosphere. Although our basic but spotlessly clean rooms were directly behind reception and closest to the street, we heard no road noise during the night and slept extremely well. The garden deck and undercover section in front of the breakfast area were great places to chill out. BNP is everything a guesthouse should be!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atticus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an old kindergarten with spacious quiet bedrooms. We had a large comfy bed and a private bathroom with a 'shower over the floor' system. There was a nice garden with table and chairs where you could sit and have a drink. You cook your own breakfast - a plus in my opinion, and a nice change. The owners were lovely people and very helpful. It was great value for money too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shropshirefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights booked through Pagoda. The owners were very friendly and helpful and could not do more to make us feel welcome. We don't usually stay at Guesthouses but this one may change our mind.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBQE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Norn Plearn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Norn Plearn

Address: 382 Banpaprakan Rd. T.Wiang A.Mueang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $24 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing