We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe here!”

Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar
Ranked #1 of 298 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, European, Thai, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Chivit Thamma Da, a small family run Cafe, Bistro and Bar located right on the banks of the beautiful Kok River in Chiang Rai, northern Thailand. We serve natural, fresh and home made Food, Bakery, Coffees and Drinks in a slow environment close to nature, with plenty of flowing water, flowers, birds and fresh air. We believe that life should be slow, simple and beautiful. At Chivit Thamma Da you are encouraged to take your time and stay as long as you like.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I love cafe here so much. I can not forget the boss and staffs were so helpful . They could have chat with us three hours . It is so great!

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joakim H, Owner at Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for your kind words and for coming all the way from beautiful Brisbane!

Hope to see you soon again!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 777 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Takes you back to the 20's. The food is great, a great beer selection and their smoothies are delicious.

Thank bunchajustines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joakim H, Owner at Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

Dear bunchajustines,

Thank you so much for a great review!

We are so happy you find the atmosphere a bit like the 20's! I think the years between the wars are very interesting from many aspects and I guess it has affected how we built and decorated the cafe. Thanks also for praising the beer selection, sourcing and trying out new beer for the cafe is one of the best things about running a cafe;)

See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My new roommate introduced me to Chivit Thamma Da, and I am so glad she did!!! This place has a great atmosphere, great staff, and wonderful food!! I ordered the Caesar salad and it was one of the best I have ever had! I also ordered some Garlic Bread, and was impressed with it as well! This is a wonderful place to relax with friends and enjoy a drink or food or dessert. Lovely old Jazz music playing and the view is great!! The inside reminds me of an old beach cottage in New England. Lot's of window's, high ceilings, fire place. Really a great place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joakim H, Owner at Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

Dear Rachael F,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!

We are very happy you liked your food and drinks. We spent a lot of time perfecting the Caesar salad and it's selling very well!

Old beachside cottage in New England sounds very nice! You are very correct we have taken a lot of inspiration from New England, Nantucket etc when designing the cafe building. Some day I hope to visit the NE area looks beautiful.

Glad you enjoyed the Old Jazz. We love this kind of music and even our local staff has started to appreciate it (after hearing it every day for 3 years;).

Thanks again for your kind words. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Best location in Chiang Rai beside the Kok River, this excellent establishment is an elegant style building with a lovely riverside garden. It serves good coffee and other beverages including some British and German beers.
There's a good choice of food both Thai and western from the menu, The selection of cakes is without equal.
A must visit when visiting lovely Chiang Rai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lannaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joakim H, Owner at Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

Dear Lannaman,

What a great review! Thank you so much for your kind words.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you. Such a wonderful place. Like stepping out of asia for a moment into an old fashioned colonial dream. Fantastic friendly skilled staff. Beautiful drinks served with panache. Birds singing in the trees. Light dappled through the trees. Ahhhhhhhh bliss.

1  Thank mrt0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joakim H, Owner at Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

Dear mrt0161,

What a great review!!

Being called an "old fashioned colonial dream" is such a nice compliment!!

Thank you so much;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing