We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar
Ranked #1 of 270 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Chivit Thamma Da, a small family run Cafe, Bistro and Bar located right on the banks of the beautiful Kok River in Chiang Rai, northern Thailand. We serve natural, fresh and home made Food, Bakery, Coffees and Drinks in a slow environment close to nature, with plenty of flowing water, flowers, birds and fresh air. We believe that life should be slow, simple and beautiful. At Chivit Thamma Da you are encouraged to take your time and stay as long as you like.
Valladolid, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a few hours before leaving Chiang Rai. We decided to try this place after reading the reaviews, we took a tuk tuk for 100 bath from clock tower (of course u can pay less... I think 70-80 bath is more than enough)

This place is an amazing decorate white house with a quick and friendly service. You can find there breakfast and some really good dishes. And the sweets were amazing.

They forgot to charge one dish, and after we told the owner they gave another dessert :). I harly recommend a visit to this place during your visits to chiang rai. you will find a completely different place inside chiang rai.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChemaGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    154
    29
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chiang Rai best Coffee Shop and Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there with friend from Germany. The atmosphere is very relaxing, the service was prompt and very friendly. We ordered coffee, tea, cake and some finger food. Everything was very delicious.
In the next day we went there again. We decided to use a spa service from Chivit Tamada Spa which belong to the same Owner. The spa is beautiful, relaxing, amazing. Loved the atmosphere. The staff are very well educated, everyone was helpful and friendly. Massage was FANTASTIC! would love to go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerGermany62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lashio, Myanmar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bangkok Class and Style, but riverside in Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great owners and management have made this place the best in Chiang Rai! From the initial vision, study of architecture, attention to detail, these owners have a real skill in developing a value in their restaurant that is among the best. The coffee is great, the variety is unique, and the food is incredible. Atmosphere is the best in town as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MAObyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Special Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place was recommended to me. I had seen pics and was still pleasantly surprised. The love that was put into it is obvious. Love the quirky decorations, some were heirlooms from the owner's Swedish husband's family. I have access to cafe culture in Europe, HK and Singapore.... yet would still rate Chivit Thamma Da quite highly. I imagine that if I lived here as an expat, this would be a life saver.

I was fortunate to bump into the boss -- personable and passionate about her spa and cafe. She was keen to hear feedback. That is always a good sign.

The cafe does not cater for dinner. The owner said that it was important to "have a life" and she was clear about what sort of cuisine + service she wished to provide. I thought this was great -- not like many restaurants trying to make everyone happy, ending up disappointing many.

So its best to go for brunch (before noon) to avoid the inevitable lunch crowd..... or swing by for afternoon tea and laze into the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely & The most beautiful coffee house in Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House is a Lovely & The most beautiful coffee house in Chiang Rai
in this time. We liked their decoration, looks like a house not a shop

We (5 persons) order a difference kind of drink to tried & all of them is excellent but their cakes are normal. I liked their iced chocolate.

You can choose to sit inside or outside near Kok River to enjoyed your drink.

If you have time to visit Chiang Rai, don’t miss Chivit Thama Da

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chivit Thamma Da Coffee House, Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing