We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for money”
Review of B2 Chiang Rai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B2 Chiang Rai
Ranked #30 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Outstanding location; right in town and along the street to the golden clock tower. Brand-new place so everything works. The room décor is dark and the equipment level is high; even had a DVD player which may be good for tired business travelers. Location lacks conveniences (7-11, food) close by but these are available a few streets away. They have a coffee joint that was closed on our stay.

Reception speaks good English so I did not need to speak Thai unless absolutely required to.
They do take credit card payment but require a 50% deposit (even with 100% prepayment for the room rate) so be prepared with cash for that and remember to take it back when checking out. Booking was made online for 2 rooms with twin beds but they gave us 2 rooms with a double! Understandably, expectations should be in line with the price but how can they get the basics wrong!

Extending your stay is not always likely as they fill up fast due to their fantastic price and location (600 THB/room/night). Especially on weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChalermchaiCah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 152 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rooms were clean and new looking. Air con, flat screen tv, fridge and hot water shower all worked well. Quiet, off the main street.

Close enough to centre to walk.

No breakfast was the only problem, but it looked like they were renovating restaurant downstairs.

Staff a little slow with check in and check out, English just good enough to manage the basic, but overall fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyBrisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The good bits - Rooms are clean and modern, service efficient. I did not notice any (English) language problems. Independent coffee shop downstairs with enthusiastic and very welcoming staff.

The missing part - A restaurant would not only make the hotel additional profits but also provide service to guests.

The bad/ugly - Oh dear... B2's connecting rooms set up is a design disaster. Clear daylight between doors means zero privacy, including when your neighbour visits his/her toilet, switches on TV, holds a conversation, smokes, everything. You share the lot. (The main doors are similar when it comes to noise outside in the corridor).

My room view in Building A was nothing more than the back an apartment block with other people's laundry drying on balconies.

Room Tip: Those sensitive to the thought of sharing every intimate moment with a next door neighbour they do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This chain is spot on in its modern decor. The beds are comfy, free wifi, two towels, clean rooms, and the extra effort in home decor go a long way in atmosphere and percieved value: e.g. What you get for how much you pay. On the downside our bathroom had a sulfur smell, unfortunately not uncommon in budget hotels on Thailand. The drains were a bit clogged and the walls not soundproof at all. We could hear the neighbor's tv all night. Tge service was very slow and the receptionists knew little English. However these sacrifices seem worth the high standard in room quality and security of consistency in chain hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChineseCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice western style rooms, looks like this place has just been redecorated, satellite TV and A/C. It's very hand for town too, just a short walk from the clock tower and a couple of great cofee shops. highly recommended and busy, suggest high floor rooms arte quieter, has a lift.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, ask to be away from large tour groups especially school tours!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The good points:
- Booking secured thru Booking.com, no deposit needed.
- Relatively new hotel
- Clean and spacious room
- Good rate
- Good location, 5-10 min walk to clock tower, night bazaar
- Convenience store located nearby
- Provides soap, shampoo, towels, fridge, safe deposit, TV and DVD player, free WIFI in room

The not so good points (didn't really bother us too much)
- Sound proofing of the rooms could be better.
- Counter staff speaks little English, but friendly.
- 7 of us stayed in 3 rooms. Toilet in 1 of the rooms was choked, I think it's just our luck.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Location:
Right in the heart of the city, its not hard to get around to where you want to go. Luckily, Chiang Rai is not very crowded, and the streets aren't congested, so walking around the town is a good way to explore.

Room:
Small, but adequate space for 2 people. Initially we had three people, but my mom went and got her own room because the prices were so good. Our room had two single beds, A/C, and a paid minibar. The bathroom was small, but had everything you needed. The hallway was occasionally noisy, but nothing to be bothered about.

Service:
They do offer room service, but we didn't get anything. I'm not sure about how well the staff speaks English (since my mom and I are Thai). My mom really liked the staff though, since they made it real easy for her to get her own room.

This was our first stay in the B2 hotel chain, and I would definitely stay in another one of their hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kthai15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.8 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#23 of 108 in Chiang Rai
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#32 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#11 of 108 in Chiang Rai
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lek House
Lek House
#48 of 108 in Chiang Rai
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B2 Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Chiang Rai

Address: 393/38-40 Bunpa-prakarn rd, Wiang, Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $16 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B2 Chiang Rai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your B2 Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing