We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food”
Review of Aye's Restaurant

Aye's Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 274 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Find just across the street from night bazaar.

Plenty of seating

Smiling staff - quickly served

We had Pad Thai which was served wrapped in an 'omlette' - quite nice. Sweet & sour fish with fried rice with chicken - my huband enjoyed this.
Large portions - nicely set on plates.

The grill items were a bit pricey for Thailand

There was a guitarist playing - nice music

Would go again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    51
    34
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant right in the centre of Chiang Rai. The food is delicious and the portions are quite large. I ate at Ayes by chance on my first night in town but returned there every night of my visit. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a weird mix of Thai and European food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

During a roundtrip through Thailand we stayed 4 days at Chiang Rai in the North. Our hotel suggested to combine a visit to the night market (what a disappointment) with dinner at "Aye's". "Aye's" looks like a typical basic Thai street restaurant, but offers both traditional Thai food and totally unexpected European classics. Moreover, you can find at least 10 Belgian beers here. The servoce was friendly, the Thai food good and the price more than acceptable, but don't expect a real autentic Thai food experience here...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jantheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Vegetables were over cooked and mushy. We had to wait over half an hour for our food and we thought it was overpriced compared with others on the main drag. Similar experience at DaVinci's which is apparently owned by the same people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our family of five didn't enjoy our meal here. The food seemed stale and of low quality. The vegetables in particular were very dried out. Not one of us was pleased with what we ordered, and in fact, we all felt a bit sick afterwards. I'm surprised that this restaurant has been highly rated. After our experience, we would never go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aye's Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Aye's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing