We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
2goingtheresoon
Mission, Canada

Lovely, quiet setting

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 2, 2012
This is the second year we have stayed here and even though it is a short tuk-tuk ride into the center of town, we feel it is worth it. You can find the basics of Tesco, 7/11 and a few hawkers about a 10 minute walk away if you haven't eaten or picked up what you need in the town center. It is very clean, with complimentary water, kettle, coffee powder, tea, basic breakfast, lovely pool and friendly, helpful staff. There is a little outdoor porch where you can sit or an indoor lanai, depending on your choice. The resort is in its own little compound that has a sliding gate for overnight. Staff will phone for transportation for you and let you know the cost ahead of time. We feel that the place is a little oasis of peace and quiet. We would highly recommend it just as it was recommended to us by others we met during our travels last year.
Date of stay: July 2012
Room Tip: We were across from the pool and were not bothered by any excess noise as there are plants and...
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $53
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $76
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $81
1.5 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $28
  • Booking.com
    $32
1.3 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    $34
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $47
  • Agoda.com
    $37
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
$108
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Priceline
    $94
  • Hotels.com
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $94
1.5 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free parking
Pool
Double Twin Bed Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    $13
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $53
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $94
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $44
  • Agoda.com
    $37
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Baan Soontree Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
42
47
16
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
47
16
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 109 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great rooms and swimming pool, very quiet a little out of town of my taste. Basic breakfast great clean rooms.

If you are looking for a relaxed vacation then this is ideal.

When travelling with two children it's not suitable as they need things to keep them busy, everything is a drive away.

Nice place would recommend

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Changmaisausage1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

lovely clean and good service and simply the best staff you could hope for, friendly and super helpful(special mention to Ms.Prai sittharat for all her assistance)food was excellent.if you arrive to Chiang Rai.stay in there.

Room tip: double bad is great room.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetswe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in B1 bungalow which was the first bungalow on the left. Thought it was going to be noisy being closest to st & parking area but we had 4 long sleep ins...the longest on our travels in 2 months. 2 reasons - dark rooms and quiet. Very clean, spacious, v reliable wifi and all the comforts you need. Pool was lovely...novel stools in the water. The ladies in reception were always lovely and 2 staff in particular spoke excellent english. Reception assisted with a driver for the day to some tourist spots. Called for tuktuks whenever we needed which almost always seemed to be 100 baht. An easy walk if up for the 20 mins to night bazaar / bus station.
Would recommend it as a nice stay in CR.
Now the minor negatives - 1) bathroom floods entirely when showering 2) during breakfast milk should be on ice as it was warm everyday & hot food to be kept hot (fried eggs stone cold/red curry cold) 3) English speaking channels on the TV??

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WessandCorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently stayed at Baan Soontree, Chiang Rai with our family of four. Our stay was only for one night, but we wished it was for longer. The hotel is just lovely and has a relaxed and very Thai atmosphere about it. The rooms are a combination of small one and two level separate bungalows. They do have a family room, but it only has bedding for three people. For our family of four people we booked two rooms side by side. These were not adjoining because they are free standing. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. They have a large bathroom and adjoining bathroom area with a large fridge and a bench. They also include drying racks in this area.
The beds were comfortable - firm but not rock hard.
When we arrived we had lunch in their small restaurant. There is a choice of about 7 meals - all Thai options. Beer and soft drinks were available.
The pool closes at 8pm and we had a late evening swim just before closing. The pool area opens to the breakfast area and restaurant. It is a really nice space for sitting around relaxing.
We booked Baan Soontree on agoda.com and paid about $34US per night per room inc breakfast.
The breakfast is a good selection of cereals, toasts, fruit, juice, eggs and a number of Thai dishes. Everything was clean and well presented.
The staff have very limited english so communicating with a little difficult. They were polite and helpful.
The hotel is a little way out of the centre of town (as with many CR hotels) - but it is worth considering this over a standard motel style of place.
Nice atmosphere and peaceful.
We would stay here again.
Caroline.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caroline08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stay here for one night and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are very confortable, even the smaller superior rooms. The restaurant has a very small selection of food and serves only until 8pm dinner, but they made everything possible to accomodate for our special requests. My children find "mango and sticky rice" is a must with every thai meal. The hotel staff went out to the market and bought it for them. We were sorry to leave this place after only one night, we could have stayed much longer!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hongkong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews