We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai
Ranked #1 of 160 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nok and Noi make this place pretty special. They are extremely kind and helpful, and have excellent English. Noi is a great cook, the green and yellow curry are both delicious. The entrees can feed 1-2 people. I hired Nok as my private tour guide, and the all day hike with a delicious lunch (chicken skewers cooked over a firepit, with sticky rice cooked in bamboo) was only around $30. If you are interested, Nok can tell you all about the local hill tribe cultures, history, or wildlife in the area. He also kept bringing me fruit to snack on.

Having stayed in various jungle and mountain huts in South America I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the facilities were. Although basic, all the bathroom fixtures are new and modern and the bed was one of the most comfortable I'd stayed in in SE Asia.

I will say coming here alone on a whim during the rainy season resulted in a lot of alone time - there was one other guy there on one night and the next night I was the only guest. This place is extremely remote, but they will pick you up free if you stay 2 nights. Note, they dont get internet service there so they have to wait until they are in the city. Try calling them if you are trying to make a last minute reservation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank silverlainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    25
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
119
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Bamboo Nest for 4 nights after finding it on Trip Advisor, you can book it through emailing the owner, Nok, via the website. It's not in Chiang Rai town, it's not far out but the roads (or lack of) make the journey there about 45mins or an hour if rainy. You can't get to the resort by taxi, it needs a 4x4 and if you arrive between 4-4.30 they'll pick you up for free, otherwise charge 700baht.
In the resort you stay in bamboo huts each with bathroom, hot water shower, balcony and hammock. The beds have a mosquito net which you need as bugs can obviously get in. Overall they were quite comfortable and the day we spent in our hut was really relaxing, the scenery surrounding is stunning, you are isolated but there is solar power and if you're desperate, varying phone signal!
We would also recommend trekking with Noi, we did one day visiting tribal villages and with a boat trip, hot spa and elephant riding (we have since learned that you shouldn't ride elephants on their backs but on their necks and feel slightly guilty, but its up to your conscience). The second day trekking was more off the beaten track, a trail Noi hasn't travelled much recently and it was much tougher, still a great challenge and a unique trip. Tip: Take lots of water and lots of mosquito repellent.
Lastly the food in resort: cooked fresh to order as you order, apparently if its busy you should make sure you order first but it was quiet when we were there so we didn't wait long. It was fantastic food, we cannot praise Nok enough for her cooking, obviously you can only eat there as there's hardly many restaurants around but it wasn't expensive and the room rate was so cheap you can hardly complain.
We loved Bamboo nest, it's such a different experience to be away from the hustle and bustle of the towns and have such good service and varied sights and activities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a change from bustling Bangkok. We enjoyed our 2 day stay. Noi, the owner and manager and her husband Nok do a great job to maintain the lodge and the landscaping beautiful.
It was nice to be without TV and internet for a few days and just relax and enjoy the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had extremely high expectations after reading all the reviews. However my stay was spoilt by the bad weather and was not meeting everything i expected. A bit secluded very hard to reach in harsh weather conditions. Otherwise i guess it could be an ok place depending on the weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGreenTravellerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Bamboo Nest has to be one of the top 5 places I've stayed in Southeast Asia over the past year. Im currently teaching English about three hours away, and decided to go with a friend for a long weekend. Although the ride up there is quite steep and bumpy, the incredible view is worth every last second of it. I found myself being unable to capture the beauty in any single photo and exclaimed at nearly every hour, "wow, just wow!" Bamboo Nest is affordable (I shared a huge bungalow with a balcony), serves AMAZING food, and has a lot of room to wander and hike (waterfalls, hill tribes, etc). For all you Eco lovers out there, it is also Eco friendly and runs on solar panels! A terrific getaway altogether I cannot recommend it any higher.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kjames248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm used to proper hotel, Wi-Fi, luxury amenities, pillow top mattress,.. so was a bit reluctant to stay at bamboo nest. But I have a soft spot for mountain view so took out the courage to stay here. And I wasn't disappointed.
Nok send a huge tuktuk to pick us up from the Chiang rai bus terminal to the riverside near the slope up to bamboo nest. She drives a 4WD thus it enable her to drive up the muddy, narrow, and winding road. DO NOT THINK OF GETTING A CAB HERE.
When we reach to the lodge, we were delighted to see the magnificent view. Rooms are cosy n comfortable. Balcony with offers amazing views over the farms and hills. Beds and bathroom are comfortable and clean. I was worried that during the hot season, this place will be very warm as there's no fan. But when night falls, temperature is quite bearable, bout 25-26c. We prepared alot of mosquito coils, 4 in room every night. And we did not turn on the room light unnecessary to avoid the bugs. So for both night, we had good rest. Service here are very personal. Each hut will be given a small note book, placed on the counter at the dining hall. We just need to fill up on what we wanna have for our breakfast, lunch, dinner or whatever drinks we took from the ice box. Waiting time for dinner depends on who reach the dining hall first. So be there early or you'll be served last. Food comes in huge portion. Reasonably priced and taste good. Nok drew maps for our trekking. We went to the tea plantation, had a dip at the waterfall, tour the Chinese village, villagers are mostly vegetarian thus we had a bowl of vegetarian noodles at the hut.most of them speaks mandarin and very friendly and show us around! We end our trek at the hot spring and lunch nearby. After which, we paid the owner at the restaurant near the hotspring $350Bath to send us back to the village near our hotel. After 5 hours of trekking and with the sun scorching, we would prefer to take a shortcut back instead of another 90mins trek up the hill... in total, we spent about USD80 for 2 night accommodation, 2 breakfast, and 2 huge dinner for 2person which in my opinion, quite a good deal.
On the last night, we had campfire with the rest of the tenants, talking and sharing stories, bbq corns provided by Noi. Great hospitality and company. We really had a relaxing trip away from the hustle and bustle.
Tips for survival, bring torchlight, mosquito coils, good quality insect repellent (ours doesn't scare the bugs so we bought those sweat proof strong type from Nok which is great for trekking). Handheld fans optional as the afternoon after trekking might be quite warm.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank suitejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is by far one of the most beautiful places we've stayed at on our 2-month trip in South-east Asia. The huts are made entirely out of bamboo. Every hut has a private balcony with a hammock overlooking the surrounding valleys, mountains and rice terraces. The view is nothing short of breathtaking and relaxing. We spent many hours reading and admiring the view. Don't expect to go into the city center from here as it is an hour away by car. If you love nature and trekking, you will be pleased.

The service is all-around excellent. The owner (Nok) personally picks you up and drops you off anywhere around Chiang Rai for free. She was extremely quick when answering e-mails, phone calls and text messages. She was very proactive regarding communications overall. She also had her brother buy our bus tickets for us and looked up timetables and destinations. Furthermore, Nok cooked meals for us outside of her "official" lunch and dinner times without so much as a frown.

The food is cooked by the owner and very tasty. Our favorite meals were the Chicken with cashew nuts, the curries, and you should definitely try the Muesli with yoghurt, oatmeal and fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HasAnyoneSeenMyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
4.2 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
4.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai

Property: Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai
Address: 41 Moo 6 , Baan Jajall, Tumbol Doi Hung, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bam Boo Nest offers a range of simple, comfortable and uniquely styled bamboo cottages built by local craftsmen in natural locally sourced sustainable materials. Following the wisdom of the native people, each cottage has bamboo flooring, walls and thatched roof. All have private bathrooms with hot showers, comfortable beds (with mosquito nets), verandas and floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the spectacular views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing