We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just amazing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai
Ranked #1 of 182 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed at the bamboo nest for 3 nights in feb 2012 and it just wasn't long enough. Nok and Noi the owners were extremely warm and welcoming and would help you with just about anything. I got the free pick up from the connect cafe in central chiang rai in the afternoon. The rooms are very comfortable considering how basic they are. I paid 600baht a night for a double bed room which perched on the hillside looking down on a valley and rice fields from the local Lahu village. It had a heated shower but I found it was so cold in the morning it didn't make a difference. All rooms are made from bamboo by the local villagers and are fairly spacious. You can walk to an amazing waterfall in 40mins via the Akha village or to the hot springs in an hour via the Lahu village. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and the guesthouse is a very relaxing place to enjoy it from. They both cooked some fantastic food ESP the yellow curry and BBQ fish. They also arrange courses to learn local skills such as cotton weaving and basket weaving to educate tourists and help the hill tribe people to earn some extra money. I really enjoyed making a scarf and some others learnt to make crossbows! At night the views of the stars are amazing because there is so little light pollution nearby. There is a cafe in the Akha village that has wifi about 30 mins walk from bamboo nest. All in all I had a wonderful stay and hope to return for a longer stay next time as was ideal for relaxing but there was also so much to do that I didnt manage to do this time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rgflook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 283 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Tucked away over some hills and up a winding, rocky road, Bamboo Nest Guest House is the antidote to Traveler’s Fatigue. Whether your condition is caused by Too Many Tourists or Experience Overload, your symptoms fade away within minutes of arriving in the serene, lush hills of Chiang Rai.

All the huts are made with bamboo by local villagers, who are mostly from the Hmong tribe. The ‘huts’ are more like luxury cottages, however. There are porches with hammocks, comfortable double beds with springy mattresses and hot showers.

Swinging gently on the hammock, listening to the muted sounds of grazing livestock, giggling children and rustling trees...whatever happens to ail you fades with the wind. At night, the sounds of nature surround you.

If you’re craving an off-the-beaten path authentic experience far from the madding crowds, you will be extremely satisfied with discovering this hidden haven. And if you like, Noy will take you on a day-long trek or an ex-Burmese freedom fighter can show you how to make a crossbow out of bamboo. Personally, I found it the ideal setting for reading, writing and untangling some ideas that had been on hold in the back of my head.

The Bamboo Nest is one of the most memorable places my husband and I stayed in six months of travel all over the world. It was about $15 a night. If you're lucky enough to go, please tell Nok and Noy that Shirin and Will said hello. We miss them and can’t wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirinmajid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Nok & Noi’s. There a very friendly Thai (and small ☺) couple who run a guesthouse some 25km from Chang Rai in the mountains. The guesthouse is set in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by ricefields. The bamboo bungalows are roomy with a very nice bed and good mosquito net. Bathroom with hot shower and toilet are also fine. There is small portch with a hamok and a small bench. The electricity is supplied by a solar panel with car battery were you can also charge your electrical things.
Because of the remote location you can only eat at there place but that is not a problem because the food is excellent.
You can day hike to the surrounding villages or go on the river to visit some other villages. There is also a nice hot water spring in the neighbourhood.
We spend four nights there and were totally relaxed afterwards. Very nice place to visit!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We hugely enjoyed staying here!

You sleep  in a thatched bamboo cottage on a hillside west of Chiang Rai. You eat breakfast and supper in an open-sided thatched dining area. You get cool evenings and mornings. And you are looked after by Nok and Noi, the hard working hospitable owners, who provide great food morning and night at very reasonable cost.

There's no mobile phone signal at the Bamboo nest, nor is there any kind of internet service. There is a solar powered electricity system sufficient for light in the cottages, and gas bottles provide water heating for the showers. The water itself comes from a mountain aquifer, and is totally pure. All the rice you eat, and much of the fruit comes from Nok and Noi's farm.

But all this factual stuff doesn't account for the sheer pleasure of being there. The joy of opening the shutters in the morning to see the mist slowly burning off the mountains. The pleasure of spending time with like-minded fellow guests. And, frankly, the sense of wonder that a place so rustic, so delightful, actually exists at all.

The Bamboo Nest isn't for everyone, of course, but if rustic simplicity in the Thai hills, coupled with good food, good walking and excellent company appeal to you, and you can do without electronic connections to the modern world for a few days, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This guest house has what is the rarest commodity in Thailand - quiet. If you spend a lot of time in S.E. Asia you will be longing for some peace and quiet and you can find it here. This is a rustic, trekking oriented guest house, but those just wanting a peaceful retreat are welcome.Bamboo and thatch huts on a mountaintop overlooking terraced rice fields, far from town, but near a hill-tribe village. The Kok River is about 1.5 km. down the mountain. No electricity except for the solar powered lights, but there are propane fueled hot water showers attached to each bungalow. Big, comfortable beds. Very clean. Nok and Noi do treks to local hill-tribe villages, arrange weaving lessons, and do car tours to anywhere in C.Rai province.

Room Tip: several bungalow sizes, family to solo, all have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanzSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We went to Akha Hill last year, and just found this address by chance. It's great. West of Chiang Rai, on a beautiful lush mountain side, above rice paddies, between a Lahu and an Akha village.
The place is basic : 4 bamboo bungalows, spacious and very clean, good bedding and mosquito nets. The simple but clean bathroom has hot water (!), and "continental" toilets. The place is powered by solar panels, so not much electricity, but it was more than enough for us.
The food is excellent, all of it. The garden is beautiful, the view magnificient, the air pure and cold at night!!
There is a nice walk up the mountain from there, or down to the river. You can take a long tail boat and tour the area, with Khun Noi, an excellent guide and person. Khun Nok is responsible for the transfer of guests, shopping, cooking, and she is very competent and kind too.
I enjoyed meeting all the people from different countries there ( one night we had German, French / American, French, Thai, British, Australian nationalities!). I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: There is one double bed bungalow looking out the valley and mountains, one family bungalow (2 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cocolakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have stayed with Nok and Noi for 3 nights with our 2 son's. Their family bungalow was just perfect for our family.
Simple, super clean and comfortable. No TV or Internet connection, but watching stars and fire in the evenings or reading a book in a hammock on our porch.
Khun Nok is a great hostess and Khun Noi an excellent guide. Our boys loved their dog Cow (white) who would accompany us for some tracks.
We enjoyed yummy pancakes in the morning and grilled fish in the evenings.
We will be back! Except adding a little mirror in the bathroom, don't change anything!
It was like staying with friends.

Room Tip: Nok and Noi have only 5 bungalows and they are all well appointed, with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharkPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
11.2 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
772 reviews
14.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
12.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
201 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,014 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
#2 of 182 in Chiang Rai
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai

Address: 41 Moo 6 , Baan Jajall, Tumbol Doi Hung, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $10 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bam Boo Nest offers a range of simple, comfortable and uniquely styled bamboo cottages built by local craftsmen in natural locally sourced sustainable materials. Following the wisdom of the native people, each cottage has bamboo flooring, walls and thatched roof. All have private bathrooms with hot showers, comfortable beds (with mosquito nets), verandas and floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the spectacular views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing