We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore NE thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nok's Garden Resort
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to explore NE thailand”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Nok's Garden Resort for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable time. We originally booked for only 2 nights but the location of this resort and the sights to see in the area meant that we extended our stay.
Nok and Rudi were exceptional hosts. The quaint bungalows overlook water Lillie ponds and are very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony with a cold drink and soaking up the beauty of the resort.
The resort is just north of Chiang Rai next to rice fields. This rural background was very pretty and relaxing.
Nok cooked us amazing meals. We hired a scooter and both Nok and Rudi provided us with a lot of information and suggestions on what to see in the area. We got to see the Golden Triangle, the Mekong, hill tribe villages and local attractions.
We would highly recommend this beautiful place and at 800baht a night it is real value.
If we are back in North Thailand we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evewatson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
42
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Nok's is a peaceful place, nestled in the foothills among rice paddies. Rooms are rustic, in a good way. Nok's cooking is to die for, and the communal-style dinner gives you a chance to get to know Nok, Rudy and the other guests. At Nok's you are treated like a house guest, not a customer. I highly recommend Nok's to anyone looking for a real, off-the-beaten path Thailand experience!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

There are only 6 cottages in the countryside surrounded by rice patties. The family is very welcoming and will both prepare your breakfast and share dinner with you, which was very nice.IN fact the night we were there , there were 2 Australia and , an Italian and us and we all ate together with the hosts. We had told them in advance that we were vegetarian and they prepared special food for us. The rooms are large and clean, but basic. the location is very special

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I found Nok's Garden Resort somewhat by accident and we were so happy that we did. This was the perfect base for our stay in Chiang Rai. We were looking for a quiet place to stay for a few nights, where we would be able to take morning runs, relax, read, eat good food, and easily access some local attractions. We were able to do all of these things from Nok's.

If you like to walk, run, hike, there are some great country roads and a few trails that you can access from the house. Rudi is very helpful and will draw you maps and provide advice about where to go. We felt completely safe exploring on our own. There were some dogs here and there, but none very vicious.

The food at Nok's was great and I highly recommend planning to eat dinner there (breakfast is included). You'll get plenty of food and it's much healthier than some of the food at restaurants and street stalls (less oil, salt, no MSG, etc.)

We enjoyed getting to know Rudi and Nok and the other guests at the resort. If you have questions about local attractions, politics, environment, etc., Nok and Rudi are happy to discuss.

We wanted the freedom to come and leave on our own schedule so we opted to rent a motorbike in Chiang Rai. We had small packs and it worked out really well. We rented from ST Motorcycle in Chiang Rai, which is right by the Clock Tower on Jet Rod Rd (very touristy area). They are open until 8 p.m. (we showed up at 7:50), speak good English, and maintain their bikes well. It was 200 baht/day for a nice scooter.

Wish we could have stayed longer! This was a great area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyb783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our stay at Nok's Garden Resort was definitely a highlight of our month long journey around Thailand. From the very start, communicating by email and phone, it was very easy as Nok and Rudi were welcoming and spoke great English to accommodate us and help us find this destination. We arrived in the area by the Green Bus from Chiang Mai through Chiang Rai to Mae Chan. Rudi was awesome and met us where the bus dropped us off at the main road to take us to the resort a short distance from the main road. We even had some time to eat some great noodle soup at a nearby village after the bus trip. Breakfast here was complimentary and dinner was great value and very tasty. My cousin and I love to cook, and Nok welcomed us into her kitchen to learn how to make some great Thai dishes. Around the table where Nok, Rudi, and even their little girl Martina joined us to eat each night and it felt like family. Most days we rented motorbikes from them to travel the area, and Rudi created the best hand-drawn maps that worked perfectly to get us to experience so much in just one day. We did great tea tasting through the hills of Mae Salong and the tea plantations, saw the Golden Triangle near Chiang Saen, and saw some really nice temples in the area. The porch area in front of our bungalow was beautiful and peaceful and many times we would come back from our day tours to relax as the sun was setting. After Nok and Rudi worked hard all day to make our stay enjoyable, there would even be a beer or two shared with us in the evening.
The bungalows were good size and comfortable and clean. Very simple, but we didn't need much since we spent most of the day touring the area. Overall, the accommodations were complete and the hospitality was superb.

Thanks again Nok, Rudi, and Martina for such a wonderful stay. Next time will definitely be much longer. Hope to see you real soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the resort. Nok and Rudi are great hosts and served fantastic Thai cuisine. The location is in the middle of the forest and the bungalows are located at a very nice little pond. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobHKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Sitting on the porch of your bungalow, drinking a beer, and admiring the pond is a lovely way to relax after a day of touring the Chiang Rai area. Rudi is very personable and we enjoyed his stories of the area and of his travels. Nok is an excellent cook. Some of her meals were at the top of our dining experiences after three weeks of travel in SE Asia. We rented their motorbike and spent a day touring the countryside based on a map Rudi drew for us that morning at breakfast. The "restaurant" is more like a living room so you feel like you are eating dinner with the family. Rudi lit a fire after dinner which was nice to sit around and talk over plans for the next day.

For the price Nok's is a good deal. The bungalows are neat, but very basic. A firm bed, table, lamp and fan. The bathroom is like summer camp, cement brick walls with a sink, toilet and shower. The shower had just a thin stream of hot water. The bath towels were thin, but adequate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
14.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
173 reviews
2.5 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
13.3 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
13.5 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nok's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nok's Garden Resort

Property: Nok's Garden Resort
Address: 193 Baan Bo Thong, Soi 6 Phaholyothin Rd | T. Thasud, A. Muang, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nok's Garden Resort is an idyllic, spacious (8000 sqm), quiet and peaceful resort in Northern Thailand which was opened in December 2007. Our staff speak fluent English, Thai - ภาษาไทย, Spanish - Espanol, German - Deutsch, Italian - Italiano, Dutch - Nederlands. The resort is surrounded by teak and bamboo forest, fruit and grain plantations (orange, pineapple, rice, soybean) and the Doi Nang Lae Mountain Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nok's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing