We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed and free WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Vie En Rose Hotel
Ranked #62 of 184 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. It was clean and nicely appointed with a small sofa, table and chairs, and a desk for our computer. The internet in our room was very good. All the rooms face the street but the hotel is set back from the street and was actually quiet during the night. The bathroom has a large tub/shower combo with good water pressure. The bed was the best we've slept in here in Thailand where the norm is a very hard bed. This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from night market, a 10 minute walk from the day market and is on the Saturday night walking street. There are many good restaurants close by. The swimming pool is very clean. Overall, a very pleasant place to spend our last 9 days in Thailand after living here for 3 years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raelyn860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

First impressions - Prestine layout of front gardens and generally hotel looked immaculate from the outside.
Not far from the bus station.
Check in fine, very friendly, well until an older woman joined in and gabbled off lots of information which we didn't want or understand. She started going through tours offered from the hotel, in the end we just said we would look at the booklet and get back to her.

When we opened the door to our room we were really shocked (remember this is Chiang Rai) that's Northern Thailand!
The room was BLACK - all black walls and all white furniture. Added to this the bathroom was black, all black tiled walls and floor!!
My husband said he hated it, I thought it was striking but completely out of place for that part of Thailand
We wandered around and looked at other rooms, decided we preferred ours to bright orange or bright pink. They do however have beige rooms which then looked quite boring.

The pool area again was excellent and it had a pool one could actually swim in. Meaning the temperature. Last 6 hotels the water has been freezing.

Breakfast was run of the mill. Staff were hilareous, one waiter kept bowing very low whenever he passed a guest and bobbing up and down, you have to see it to believe it.

So overall we thought this hotel was excellent and so different.

Big mistake - in the end we decided to take a tour offered by the hotel. The woman who was pushy said her uncle would come and talk to us. He spoke excellent English. We explained we had previously hired guides and it turned out that they spoke no English and we were very disappointed
Really. He assured us that this would be different and the driver spoke English, if not fluently. Fine didn't want a running commentary.
So surprise, surprise the driver spoke 5 English words!!
and we paid £10 more than asked for the set tour.
We could not decide if we were furious or -------
AND the car was at least 20 years old. So be warned. Really spoilt the visit.

Room Tip: if you do not like modern, unusual rooms, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cabbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

La vie en rose is located on the excellent location because of it's very convenience to get place for food and shopping. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. Room is clean but simple decoration. Hotel was designed by French style. It looks elegant and luxury. ABF was nice and very tasty. Price is reasonable for stay by this standard. I would rate this hotel 7/10.

Room Tip: Different room & different decorate style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thanaphol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely little hotel. Rooms large and the bed and pillows were wonderful. Very clean. Service great. Good breakfast. Good bathroom/shower water pressure. Very pleasant staff. Amazing little oasis in an unlikely street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loaslaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My third or fourth visit to La Vie on Rose, and again very pleased with my stay.

On this occaison I found the airconditioning a bit noisy. The staff promptly oiled the unit, but they agreed without question to my request for a change of rooms instead. Very good customer service.

Once home I realised I'd left a phone cable in the room. They kindly offered to return it to me by post, and it arrived today. Again, very pleased with their customer service.

Will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I made a 2-day trip to Chiang Rai and stayed at La Vie En Rose hotel for a night. We found our stay to be very pleasant with the suite being extremely spacious equipped with modern facilities such as flat screen TV, unlimited mini-bar, jacuzzi in the bathroom (great size too!), free Wi-fi, bathrobe and slippers. Breakfast was excellent - we had the egg in the hot pan (The Thais call it "Kai krata" which basically translates to "Egg pan") and fresh local mini pineapples. It was such a nice alternative to the usual continental breakfast you'd get from other hotels. They have a Tuk-Tuk service which can take you to the night market at around 50 baht which is only around the back of the hotel. There is a swimming pool at the back but we didn't get a chance to dip in. Next time we're in Chiangrai, we'll definitely be back here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the big garden view at the front but if you want to splash, we highly recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chusana_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

LA Vie En Rose is a charming, clean small hotel just out side the gates in Chiang Rai. It has friendly and helpful staff who will provide assistance on arrangements and have a fair English ability. The place is very clean, good sized rooms with small balcony and a garden / pool area. The breafast is large, cooked to order and tasty. A good value for the money and a place to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bosco370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#11 of 108 in Chiang Rai
123 reviews
35.0 mi away
Piyaporn Pavilion Hotel
Piyaporn Pavilion Hotel
#41 of 108 in Chiang Rai
13 reviews
8.7 mi away
Golden Pine Resort
Golden Pine Resort
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Happynest Hostel
Happynest Hostel
#6 of 165 in Chiang Rai
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#29 of 184 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rasa Boutique Hotel
Rasa Boutique Hotel
#11 of 165 in Chiang Rai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vie En Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vie En Rose Hotel

Address: 92/9 Ratchayotha Road | Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $31 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vie En Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vie En Rose Hotel Boutique Style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Vie En Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing