We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good enough for the royals good enough for me”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Phu Lae Restaurant

Phu Lae Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 270 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Northern Thai food
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good enough for the royals good enough for me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

i asked my Thai brother in law to take us somewhere clean, modern and with good food.

Phu Lae was where he took us. the restaurant is famous in Chiang Rai for its good food and sure enough there are many photos of celebs and an esteemed visit from the Princess of Thailand to prove it.
Restaurant was indeed very clean and modern and the freshness and quality of food was superb.

Cost for 6 adults (7 x dishes and 6 x non Alcoholic cocktail drinks) was 1400bt. Not bad at 240bt per head considering the quantity and quality of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    43
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good northern Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Three of us went here on a weekday evening. Though the tables were not all occupied initially, the place filled up quite rapidly and became quite busy. Lots of locals and many young folk.

The food served was hot and delicious. Portion sizes were generous. The staff were helpful and when we were struggling with the language, they got another person who understood our English!

They will serve you red wine in glasses. But white wine, for some reason can be had only by the bottle. We had their red wine and it was very good! Beers and spirits are available too.


Service was very quick. And service charge was not automatically added! All very impressive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cafe-like”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The layout of the restaurant was quite unwelcoming and resembled a cheap cafe. The food was average and there were no vegetarian options on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Good Quality northern Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

5 of us had a fir day lunch at this restaurant and were blown away by the quality/quantity of food and its not expensive. The thai salad and prawn dish was very tasteful. The dumplings and the fired minced pork was also good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonycBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It could have been better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

One my first evening I tried this restaurant after a long walk around because I forgot my map and google maps send me the wrong way... It was sunday night and quite busy. It was not that easy to order because staff who served my table did not spoke english and did not understand what I wanted to order from the english menu but at least we made it somehow. I had chicken with cashews which unfortunately was a bit too oily but it was eatable. I am not sure if i would really would recommend this place somewhere has to be better food in chiang rai.

Helpful?
Thank SSQ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phu Lae Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Phu Lae Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing