We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Amarin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amarin Resort
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good staff with English speaking. Nice garden. Quite location and near to river(Mekong river).
Hotel walking distance to night market cost 2km or 15 minutes. Ok to walk and explore around in Chiang Rai, it's safe.
Hotel provide good breakfast as well (Thai & Asian food).
Coffee is nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed there 2 nights ( couple + kid of 6yo ) in a bungalow with king size beds. We arrived there by driving with our car from Chiang Mai and we stopped there on as we have to go to Mae Sai and return, was not complicated to find with GPS, as it was my first time to drive in the north of Chiang Mai ( where we live ). We payed 1,200 THB per night, and for this price which is very low you have a decent bungalow, the room was clean when we arrive. For this price it will include everything ( air cond, TV with english channel and also TV5 french,.. ), mini fridge, bar, free coffe, tea and kettle, 2 free water of bottles, shower with hot water, slippers, bath robe, towels, desk, table and 2 chairs, they even put 2 kids book ( unfortunately in Thai ), a safe box, and price include also breakfast ( very simple ) you have to chose a meal between 6 choices they show you with picture, and you have hot drinks, toast, butter, jams, fruits on a table plus different sauce for your meals. I will stay again next time I have to go in Mae Sai for Boder Run as it is well located, we went to eat out in City centre but also in Central Plaza which was around 3/4Km by car. Hotel was very quiet during our stay, just few cars parked there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CThierryMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok but the breakfast is horrible, no choice, very poor quality, and the in-room shower is crappy. The staff speaks good English. Probably ok for just one night. ------------------------------------------------------------

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Luckily we were traveling by motorcycle and I had taken photos of the route to the hotel from the main highway using google maps. Without these it would have been difficult to find. The hotel has a decent breakfast, but no dining room for dinner. There is a very good Chinese restaurant a few blocks away called the Yunnan. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. Being close to the main north south highway made it easy to get out of town in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived by our Van from Chiang Mai ,location is a bit away from City Centre but if you have a vehicle its OK, else the Hotel has a Car / van which drops you off to nearby point for a Taxi to arranges a Taxi on Call.

Rooms are clean and service is prompt. Property looks large in pictures but has probably 20-30 rooms with a small garden in between.No Restaurant , Swimming pool or Gym at this property. Staff is helpful and informative. Location is peaceful and the tariff is value for money. Breakfast is served next to Reception in a small room and is rather limited and cold. There is no room service for F&B though there is Coffee Maker in room with Drinks & snacks in the Bar. Amarin is good for families and people on budget travel. Some 3-4 restaurants are located by the river at a walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the new wing as these are spacious and new. Rooms need to be closed in evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajivchhabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

For the price this hotel just is faultless. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The staff are helpful and unfailingly polite.

One can say the breakfast is a little poor and that the location is quite a way from the centre (but a taxi ride costs just 80 baht and the staff will happily order the taxi for you). But really one cannot complain in this price class, it completely exceeded our expectations.

Do be aware that they have a website that promises a restaurant, car rental desk, etc and that these facilities just don't exist. There are of course plenty of choices of place to eat nearby however.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is fantastic! If you're in Chiang Rai for a day or more, stay here. The rooms are exactly like they are in the pictures (which I have found to be rare for hotels).
The staff were very friendly even though the initial receptionist didn't speak English but we later found out he was actually studying hotel management and tourism but was still working on his English.
This is the type of place where when you open the door to your room, you almost feel like you shouldn't be touching anything as it's just that perfectly set up from the towels in the shape of elephants to the military preciseness of the bedding.

I was truly impressed and I think finding a better quality/price ratio elsewhere would be very difficult.

Room Tip: If the reviews are anything to go by, they are all equally beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoofzoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.2 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
772 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#11 of 108 in Chiang Rai
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#32 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarin Resort

Address: 179/1 Moo.20 Koktoong Road | Robwieng Maung, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $29 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Amarin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing