We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good value”
Review of Baan Rub Aroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Rub Aroon
Ranked #15 of 167 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place, good value”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children) and stayed at the Baan Rub Aroon for 2 nights. It is a small place with only few rooms.

Pros
====
- Very large and clean room.
- Very quiet area
- Good breakfast (included)
- Drinking water provided
- Good price for what we have got

Cons
====
- Have to walk a but to get to downtown but it is not that far. But when you travel with children, you would like to get things closer when everyone is tired.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We liked the outside, big colonial house and cosy garden. And we also liked the room in the "bungalow" style in that garden. It is new, spacy and clever furnished. Very clean and inviting. We had a twin bed and airco, a very spacious bathroom, coffee and tea facilities. But no fridge. I rather have a fridge than a TV. WIFI is fast and the included breakfast continental.
The owner is very helpful and gives you all the info to see what you like.
We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: We had no 8
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Traveling with my girlfriend, we decided to stay in Chiang Rai for two nights as a stop over before heading over Chiang Khong and ultimately Laos. Picked Baan Rub Aroon based on reviews and price.

The house is situated in a nice little corner close to the golden clock in the center. Five minute walk to the fresh produce market and 15 - 20 minutes to the main bazaar. Nong was very welcoming and helpful, as was Big, the night manager.

There is very strong family home vibe here. Shared kitchen, outdoor eating and library corner were nice touches. We had a room with double bed, comfortable and clean, no gripes at all. There is only one shared bathroom/toilet combo on the bottom floor which can be problematic when everyone wants to use it at the same time. Breakfast was also included and the staff will prepare what you select from the ingredients available. In addition, the staff were very helpful with organising transportation and scooter hire which we did the day that we had in Chiang Rai. It's a very quiet but pretty city and I enjoy the small size as it is easy to get around.

Baan Rub Aroon was a pleasant stay in a nice location, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the street as the traffic starts early and can disrupt your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I really love this place and would like to stay here again but I personally am not very fond of the shared bathroom. Charming place and very cosy just like home. Great location, just 10mins away from the market and the clock tower. We actually walked about 20mins from the bus terminal, so that isn't too far away either.

However there wasn't anyone around when we were checking in, except for the two very nice ladies who don't speak English but tried their best to help and got the key to our room. My very resourceful fiance managed to charade his way through to get the ladies to call for bike hire on our behalf. Only at night when Big was around to help us with proper check in and gave us the wifi password. Like I said it is just like home and Big behaved like a cousin at home but he was very helpful, managed to book a tour for us at a low rate, though a little grouchy in the morning, who wouldn't be after being up late till 2am and waking up at 6am everyday? He was friendly and helpful at night. Just...don't bother him with nitty gritty requests.

We only managed to meet Nong the next morning, she speaks very good English and gave us ideas on places to go on our rented bike. When we were stranded on the mountains cos the rented bike's tyre went flat, Nong helped us call for a change of bike, that was very great help from her and we truly appreciate it. I was also thankful that she was around on our check out day, she helped us call a songtheaw to the airport that costs only 100baht for 2 persons.

The only down side is the shared bathroom, it seems to be very public and I just didn't feel too safe using it especially when there are other male guests around. Other than that, ground level rooms are great, breakfast changes everyday and I love watching little money (a very adorable puppy, which Nong describes as a fat worm) playing with his owner. Peaceful and cosy place and would love to stay here again, perhaps after trying other places with attached bathrooms first.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shutterdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked 3 nights here through a friend of a friend and unfortunately had not read the reviews prior to our arrival. So the shared bathroom was the first of our ugly surprises- an odd thing not to warn a family about, especially with young children. The industrial lighting and noise was another unpleasant surprise. And the meager breakfast, a third (nothing like the photo of a previous reviewer, by the way!). All this would have been forgivable had the service not been so incredibly rude.

The owner was nowhere in sight and we were checked-in by an obnoxious adolescent who was too busy looking at his telephone to ever make eye contact with us. It was once again him whom we had to deal with when at 8:15am the following morning, there was no breakfast to be found and the kind ladies who work there (but don't speak English) could only point to tea and coffee, which we had to make ourselves. When we asked for juice for our children (who, being aged 2 and 4 are not so fond of coffee), the ladies finally went to fetch the young man. He stumbled out of his quarters, half asleep, asking us "what our problem was" in a very rude tone, saying breakfast was self-service... We were a little stunned by his rudeness, especially given that there was no food anywhere in sight, but nevertheless pushed further with our efforts to obtain some breakfast. He then instructed the ladies to make us eggs, informing us that they did not have juice, and disappeared again. 15minutes later, we had two plates of runny eggs and cold toast, and a side order of ants, which we could only eat outside on picnic tables. We were also offered some bananas as we we leaving, as an apparent after-thought.

We were so put off, that we decided it simply was not worth sticking around. It was surprisingly easy to find a better room elsewhere for a much more reasonable rate, confirming for us that it was a big mistake to have come to this particular place. When at 9am, we announced we would like to check out, it took the young man another 15minutes to make an appearance and he made every effort to make us understand that he couldn't care less that we were leaving. He simply took our money and walked off- not saying anything else, let alone seeing us out. The whole experience was borderline comic.

Perhaps, had the owner cared more about her clients, we wouldn't have left. But the bottom line is that this place lacks charm so severely, that it can't afford to charge what they charge AND ignore any concept of gracious service. There are so many better options in town, this place is best skipped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enzoenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It's a cottage house located in a quiet area but very close to the town centre. The owner has been very helpful from the moment we enquired about the rooms.
Our rooms were outside of the bungalow with bathroom attached. The rooms were spacious, simple but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great - the owner prepared the breakfast in the open and breakfast was served at the open dining area too. There was a small garden with swings and shaded trees, a nice place to relax if you have the time. There was a big temple nearby within walking distance with shops and restaurants. It was not far from the town centre and the night market as well. The owner has been helpful in arranging transport for us whenever we need it and provided us with a map to go about.
Overall we are satisfied with this guesthouse. Clean, cozy and great service, that's all that matters!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Light-cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great place to sleep in Chiang Rai. The place is not very central but you can reach the centre within 10 minutes. The place is a charming house in a quiet area, with a big garden. They have several types of rooms, from dorms to individual rooms. Shared bathroom. Complete breakfast included. Great service from the owner, who seems to know the area very well and can give excellent advice on where and when to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#13 of 167 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 167 in Chiang Rai
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grandma Kaew House
Grandma Kaew House
#3 of 167 in Chiang Rai
182 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
#2 of 167 in Chiang Rai
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rub Aroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rub Aroon

Property: Baan Rub Aroon
Address: 65 Ngam-muang Road | Tumbol Wieng, Aumphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chiang Rai, this cosy, clean and affordable guest house is nothing less than amazing. It boasts a beautiful garden which surrounds the city premises and creates a harmonic, peaceful and tranquil atmosphere, thus, making it one of the most livable destinations in Chiang Rai. Baan Rub Aroon - one of the best accommodations in Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Baan Rub Aroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing