We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect charming little hostel”
Review of Baan Rub Aroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Rub Aroon
Ranked #16 of 181 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great place to sleep in Chiang Rai. The place is not very central but you can reach the centre within 10 minutes. The place is a charming house in a quiet area, with a big garden. They have several types of rooms, from dorms to individual rooms. Shared bathroom. Complete breakfast included. Great service from the owner, who seems to know the area very well and can give excellent advice on where and when to go!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely charming vintage house in the suburbs of Chiang Rai, 10 minutes walk to coffee shops, night market, food market, street food. We took up the top level with one king room and twin room for our teen daughters. They loved the Indy feel with the owner cooking breakfast in the garden, birds singing, her cat playing on the grass surrounded by orchids and lush carefully tendered plants. Nong checked we were organized each day even booking her own hairdresser for my daughter. The price was incredible value and so incredibly clean!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the bottom level if you can't climb stairs to top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanthereoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ms. Nong,(the owner) was there to welcome us on arrival. She handed us a highlighted map and was very knowledgeable about Chiang Rai and recommended places to eat and visit. She also helped us getting a motorbike for the next day and I saw that she has bicycles there.

Her house is very clean and cozy with a maximum of 7 rooms in total. There are 2 computers with internet free to use and WIFI. The bathroom supplies soap and shampoo. She provides clean towels and bathrobes.

The location is extremely convenient, close to restaurants and the bus station. It is only a 10 minutes walk to the local and night markets.

The breakfast was perfect -egg, sausage, toast and coffee.
We definitely recommend it and would come back for sure!

Pamela,
www.theweegs.com

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for a few days, If you don't mind sharing a bathroom, this is a good place to stay in town, you can walk to the clock tower easy. The rooms were clean, you have the use of the kitchen and laundry if you want. You can do your own hand washing, they will give you detergent or they will wash and dry your clothes for 50 baht per bag. We paid 550 baht per night, including breakfast and internet and cable TV. Big who helps look after the place was a fantastic help to us he speaks excellent english. I would definitely stay here again. (you need insect spray as there are a lot of mosquitoes.)

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping like me try and choose a room near the front of the house as there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A big white house with wooden & granny-styled furnitures, always kept clean. The owner, Ms. Nong, welcomed us with hospitality & was very helpful in arranging our sightseeing tour with a hired car & nice chauffer, Mr. Phon.

Rooms were tidy & they cleaned them for us everyday just like in a hotel.
Brakfast (choices of pancake, toasts, fruits, milk, etc) is served outdoor, felt like having a picnic.
good wifi connection, normally turned on from 7am to 10ish pm, but if you need longer just ask the staff.

Location is quite strategic. it's near some temples that tourists often visit, a good 10 minutes walk from the traditional market, less than 30minutes walk to the night market, with lots of cafes & restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: Staying on 2nd floor rooms would give you more privacy & better window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vira_Zoelfikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

ther place is pretty clean, the owner was very very helpful she knows the are very well and advise about the city and the activities , breakfast was amazing and the hostel was perfect , nice place to relax..
Great location

full recommend

Room Tip: go there and you will feel like home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazspaininaltea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room was bright and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was included free and the staff helped us out with contacting an organisation and translating some Thai as well. They also had recommendations of where to go and how. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#14 of 181 in Chiang Rai
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 181 in Chiang Rai
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rub Aroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rub Aroon

Address: 65 Ngam-muang Road | Tumbol Wieng, Aumphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chiang Rai, this cosy, clean and affordable guest house is nothing less than amazing. It boasts a beautiful garden which surrounds the city premises and creates a harmonic, peaceful and tranquil atmosphere, thus, making it one of the most livable destinations in Chiang Rai. Baan Rub Aroon - one of the best accommodations in Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Baan Rub Aroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing