We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse. Would go again!”
Review of Baan Rub Aroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Rub Aroon
Ranked #15 of 176 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse. Would go again!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Lovely, simple accommodations at a convenient location. The grounds around the building are gorgeous. The only noteworthy downside is that a school is across the street which can generate some noise. But overall, it was a charming experience and a good cost value. I would certain stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Baan Rub Aroon for three nights while the owner was away in early April. The guest house itself is surrounded by a lovely garden and it is a 15 minute walk from the bus terminal and the night bazaar (markets). When we arrived we found out that we did not have our own bathroom and felt this was not made clear on their internet website, nor when we booked through the owner over the phone. Guests should really be informed of this when booking. The room itself was large, clean, nicely decorated and had air-conditioning and a fan. The free wifi was good. Although the staff spoke little English they tried really hard to make sure we were happy, but it was hard to communicate what we wanted (to order a taxi etc...). We paid 650 for a king bed with a shared bathroom and breakfast. I am not sure I would stay there again though as we often had to wait to use the bathroom - there was only one on each of the two levels (thus two in total). We paid the same price for a lovely guest house in central Chiang Mai (which is more expensive than Chiang Rai) with its own bathroom and courtyard...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzEnglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This guesthouse is simple coziness. The room and bathroom (shared outside in the hall) were spotless. My partner and I paid 300 baht March 2011 for a double bed. It was unusually cold so don't recall if there was aircon in the room. Free wifi, open access to kitchen for preparing food. It's in a quiet neighbourhood. The sheets smelled of jasmine. I had the best sleep in a long time and woke to free breakfast of fruit, coffee, egg and toast. There are less expensive places closer to city centre but the ones we looked at were run-down and dirty. A 10-15 minute walk from this place and you're at the bus terminal or night bazaar.

A special note about Sukhon the owner. We were picked up at the bus terminal in her truck and instantly loved her smiling, laughing attitude. She helped us immensely with directions to White Temple and Black House since we had rented scooters. She's absolutely trustworthy and a great host.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed with our three young children for six days and the stay in Baan Rub Aroon is more than we had ever expected and hoped for! The owner is friendly, speaks very good English and really went out of her way to help us in arranging good-value trips and authentic experiences in the surroundings of Chiang Rai. The whole place is very clean and the rooms and beds are good-sized.

The garden is lovely and despite being only a few minutes walk from the morning market, the location is peaceful and tranquil. Breakfast is served in the garden and varied from day to day and was adapted to our wishes. It was like being at home while away! We can warmly recommend this guesthouse and would certainly choose this place to any other hotel or hostel in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I agree totally with the previous reviewer. We stayed here for ten days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is a beautiful Thai-style home, with a full kitchen and living area downstairs, three guest rooms and a bathroom, and three guest rooms and a bathroom upstairs. The only downside is having to share a bathroom - not a big deal considering the value that you get here!

Breakfast was different every day, and prepared perfectly. You can have coffee or tea anytime - self-serve and included in the room rate. The hostess, Nong, was so helpful and sweet, always taking the time to answer our many questions and making helpful suggestions. We had not known about the hot spring resort 22 km's from Chiang Rai until she told us about it. She made all the arrangements with a tuk-tuk to take us there - very reasonable and hassle-free - and it was a really nice place to spend the day! That's just one example of how helpful she is.

The rooms are spotlessly clean. Very comfortable beds and bedding, drinking water provided daily. There isn't much storage in the rooms, but enough to make do. The shared bathrooms are also kept squeaky clean. All of the rooms have wi-fi. The signal in our room (#3) was reasonably good - good enough for a Skype phone call and everything else we needed to do online. If you need a super-fast connection, you can take your computer into the living area, balcony or library, and they also have two desktop computers there that you can use. There is a small library here, where you can pick a book to read - a decent selection of mostly English language books. And they rent motorbikes, can help with tour arrangements, and do a great job on your laundry for very little money. We paid 650 baht per night for our room that had one king-sized bed and aircon - we thought that this was an excellent value, especially with the yummy breakfasts included in the rate.

It's just a five minute walk from the day market and old clock-tower, and about 15 minutes to the downtown. You can easily walk to most of the major sites from this guesthouse.

Nong loves to eat, and she'll give you lots of good tips - very helpful if you aren't sure about Thai food. Every place that she sent us served delicious food for 30 baht or less, and I learned that not all Thai food is "five star spicy!"

I would come back to Chiang Rai just to stay at this guesthouse again. It's quiet, safe, secure and feels more like a home-stay than an impersonal hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumbleweeds023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This place is amazing... a refuge amongst the flea pits of Thailand!!

We were so glad to find it that we extended our stay from 4 days to a week..... just to enjoy clean, comfortable surroundings that felt like home.

The owner "Nyong" was very accommodating and helpful and went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed.

The rooms were thoroughly cleaned, sheets / towels changed everyday. The bathrooms were spotless, the showers warm and the entire house presented very well.

Breakfast was a feast and we were provided with different items each and every day and enjoyed it in the beautiful garden that is an extension of the house.

During our time there we met at least one other traveller who visited Thailand on a regular basis and always found time to come to Chiang Rai, just to stay at Baan Rub Aroon.

Indeed, why would you stay anywhere else!!! Excellent value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed a week at this guesthouse and found it delightful. The rooms are light and airy, the gardens lovely and breakfasts yummy.The guest house is Immaculately clean and the owner and staff could not be more helpful.
We also organised a tour through the owner and it met our expectations.
Highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#13 of 176 in Chiang Rai
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#10 of 176 in Chiang Rai
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Jaru
Baan Jaru
#1 of 147 in Chiang Rai
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happynest Hostel
Happynest Hostel
#7 of 147 in Chiang Rai
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rub Aroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rub Aroon

Property: Baan Rub Aroon
Address: 65 Ngam-muang Road | Tumbol Wieng, Aumphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chiang Rai, this cosy, clean and affordable guest house is nothing less than amazing. It boasts a beautiful garden which surrounds the city premises and creates a harmonic, peaceful and tranquil atmosphere, thus, making it one of the most livable destinations in Chiang Rai. Baan Rub Aroon - one of the best accommodations in Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baan Rub Aroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing