We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic way to get out around Chiang Rai”

Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We operate half day - five days cycling tours around Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle area. Family with young kids also welcome.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to get out around Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We did the half day tour to the White Temple. Our guide was Amon and there was just my friend, Amon and me on the trip with a support vehicle, the bikes were excellent Trek mountain bikes in good condition. Safety was a priority with helmets supplied a quick briefing about the bikes, gears and hand signals. The ride took us through beautiful rural scenery with refreshments supplied from the support van. The terrain was easy with a few small hills, the trip ended at the White Temple and included lunch in a local restaurant. Our guide Amon accompanied us around the amazing White Temple and had great knowledge of its history and the artist responsible for it. I would highly recommend cycling around Chiang Rai as an excellent way to get close to the rural life with very knowledgeable local guide - we loved this trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank Banjodaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best way to see Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a wonderful way to see the country side of Chiang Rai. We did two full day tours - Wat Rong Khun (White Temple) & Kon Khun Waterfall and Untouched Golden Triangle. Both were absolutely fantastic. Mr Bee is a great guide who gave us an insight into sights and culture of Chiang Rai. Every 10km or so we met the support vehicle with snacks and drinks so we were always refreshed. We were also lucky enough that a tandem bike was available.
The full day to tour to Wat Rong Khun and Kon Kuhn Waterfall is an absolute must!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best tours ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a tour (half day tour chiang rai) because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and had one of our best tours ever! The booking via mail and the pick-up from our guesthouse was without any problems. Amon our tour guide and his brother the driver did a very good job. The bikes were pretty good and we were also provided with helmets and water. The tour was easy in the beginning along rice fields and through small towns, then a little bit more challenging as there were some small hills to go up. In between there was a short break, where we were offered refreshments (water, coke, Nescafé), fruits and some snacks (rice waffles and cookies). After around 3h the tour ended at the White Temple. Bevor visiting the temple we had there a good meal in a restaurant nearby (also included in the tour price). After visiting the temple we were suprised with a freshly chopped water melon and mango. Afterwards we were brought back to our guesthouse. It was a really perfect tour, we enjoyed it very much and if we are coming back to Chiang Rai, we will for sure do another tour!!!! A big thanks again to Amon for this day!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bove1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We did the half day tour to the White Temple win February and it was one of the most enjoyable experiences in our 3 week tour of Thailand. I couldn't agree more with the the other reviewers; Bee is absolutely great and the tour is so well organised, taking you through traditional rural Northern Thailand, beautiful scenery, meeting local people working in the rice fields, a timely and welcome break for snacks and drinks finishing at the beautiful white temple where Bee was a superb guide explaining everything to us. A lovely lunch was also included. There was only my husband and I but we were so well looked after, I couldn't fault this experience. Next time we visit Northern Thailand we will definitely book a longer trip - can't wait!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“5 full days of cycling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently did the 5 day cycling tour with Bee. We picked this company and this tour as it seemed to cover all the sightseeing we wanted to do in and around Chiang Rai. We have done a few cycling tours now and find it is a great way of getting to see the sights and meet the local people.

All in all it was a good experience, the cycling was a bit tough on some of the days as there were quite a few hills, but we were well looked after with cold drinks, snacks and wet wipes whenever we stopped. Ying who drove the support van made sure we had plenty to eat and drink when we stopped and looked after us well. Lunch and dinner were included, Bee quickly worked out the food we liked and would order for us, so we didn't even have to worry about what to order. The dishes he chose were delicious and varied, and probably different to what we would have picked ourselves, so we really experienced the local cuisine.

Accommodation was excellent, we stayed in different places on each of our 4 nights and ranged from a simple guesthouse on the banks of a river to more upmarket hotels.

We cycled through local villages and towns, past rivers and farms, stopped at the White Temple, waterfall, hot springs, absolutely loved riding along the Mekong and seeing Laos or Myanmar on the other side of the river, we interacted (often through hand signals or with Bee's help) with the locals, including a lovely old lady who laughed so hard when she found out we had just cycled 50kms!

Our only complaint was that the other people on our tour wanted to cycle as fast as possible from one stop to another, we often felt like we were doing a race, which is not really what a cycling tour should be about. However, we went at our own pace, stopped and took photos, and have some wonderful memories of our trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing