We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour

Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We operate half day - five days cycling tours around Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle area. Family with young kids also welcome.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I really can't say much that hasn't already been said, but wanted to echo all of the fantastic reviews of this tour! Bee led our tour (six people in the morning to the white temple, four in the afternoon continuing on to the elephants and boat ride) and his brother drove and met us along the way with cold drinks and amazing snacks. The bikes are in great condition and handle really well on bumpy/rutted/potholed roads (I would say more than half of the riding was on paved roads, but some is on small dirt paths and that made this type of bike really key). Bee gave us a safety lesson before we started, and everyone had bikes and helmets sized correctly. We had really wanted to see some of the countryside and backroads in Chiang Rai and were happy to do just that! All told we rode about 27 miles, but it really didn't feel like that much--I would suggest this tour for anyone with a decent level of fitness. It was our favorite thing we did in Thailand.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Great way to see the flatlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We loved this day out but it can get hot and i wouldnt reccomend it if your a bit overweight
The people are really friendly too, we are pretty adventuresome type of foke and we luvved it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discovering Chiang Mai by bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fantastic way to discover Chiang Rai and surroundings! We booked a half day your (around 29 km) and enjoyed every single moment of it!
Our guide Amon picked us up in our hotel in the morning and was dedicated to make the whole day a special experience for us in which he definitely succeeded in! He completely took our wishes into account, took pictures of us, explained a lot (e.g. in the white temple) and answered all our questions about all kind of different topics, like Buddism, people, culture, habits, etc.

He even came to our hotel room to give us back money when he discovered that we accidentally paid too much! Very honest, friendly, truly customer-oriented, great tour guide whom we definitely can recommend to everybody!

Luc & Kate

Helpful?
1 Thank LucKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch but still worth it - Be Flexible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Here's the deal: They offer a very well organized tour, support truck throughout and loads of food, drink. But be flexible. We signed up for 3-day consecutive tour, then asked if we could change the date;okay with us. Then asked again to change the date: fine. Contacted us third time and said no longer being offered. We then asked if okay to do three full day tours - YES. Whew. What they try to do during the high season is offer as many tours as possible - but focus is on getting as many people on the same tour. If we had the 3-day consecutive it would have been just the two of us and not worth their time. Best of the three day tours was the CRBT-CHEB (cycle, hill tribe, elephant and boat trip). Second was the CRBT-FDC (cycle to white temple, waterfall). The third tour was one we could have passed on - CRBT-UTGT. An hour up to Golden Triangle area to cycle rice fields which we saw LOTS of already on previous day (nothing new here). Only new highlight was seeing Burma border that looked like Tijuana bordertown. Busy and noisy and dirty. Loads of cheap junk. If you want to say you went over the border, then take this tour. No reason otherwise. We kept our packs in the support truck and it was very secure. No worries.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipatroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Professional experience all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time with this great small business in Chiang Rai. Amon and his sister, Ying, made our day special. They were organized, efficient, and looking out for our safety while we rode on one of their all day rides. We had the use of mountain bikes which were in great condition. The planned breaks and stop for lunch were excellent. I would highly recommend this company.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai Bicycle Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing