We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostess ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homestay-Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best hostess ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is the place you want to stay for a few days if you do not want to be in the middle of the city of Chiang Rai. Owner Phaet welcomes you with heart and humor the moment you arrive so you feel at home indeed. They have a car to drop you off in the city, or they can do some trips with you to several interesting attractions around CR. They offer some nice trips so check them out while there. Breakfast is delicious, even Dutch pancakes are on the menu. Dinner is offered as well, Western and Thai.There are bicycles and motorbikes available as well and the big swimmingpool surrounded by the nice green garden will invite you to swim right away. Phaet, makes you really feel happy and she is a perfect hostess. Same with her husband and 2 kids they offer some nice rooms and even 2 bungalows are available right next to the villa. The area is peacefully and nature is surrounding you so for a nice trip with the bicycles it can be very relaxing. So do not hesitate if you look for a nice stay at the countryside!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TracdcV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    61
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
119
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent three nights at the Homestay in Chiang Rai during our Thailand roundtrip. Hostess Phaet, accompanied by her Dutch husband Toony, runs the place with more Thai hospitality than you can imagine. We had a nice and spacious room with good airco. The homestay is located just outside the centre of Chiang Rai in a nice and quiet area (you can softly hear the monks sing in the evening). Transportation to the city is provided twice a day for free, or if you have a rental car you can drive there in 10 minutes yourself. The Homestay also offers transportation to and from the airport. Coming from The Netherlands ourselves, the dutch-influence was a bit too much for our taste, but it's certainly a novelty to see typical Dutch snacks on the menu (and to be fair: it tasted pretty good!). Get Phaet's thai food in stead though, as it's the best you'll get in the Chiang Rai area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaFrancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

It is always a pleasure to stay with Toony, Phaet and their lovely two children. The home stay is a nice villa with four rooms and two bungalows with another three rooms. The house is surrounded by a beautiful garden and has a swimming pool. Remember it is a home stay and not a hotel, but most of the time you won't be able to spot the difference. Phaet is an excellent hostess who wants to make your stay a welcome and comfortable one. Toony is very good at directing you to place to visit. They rent bicycles and motorbikes. And although the home stay is well out of the centre of Chiangrai, you don't have to leave the premises as they meals they serve are great. Breakfast is included and enormous. Any complaints? Just tell Toony and he will fix it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nico_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here 8 nights and had a fabulous time. It is in a quiet suburb of Chiang Rai with private residences all around it and beyond rice paddies, countryside and its own temple at the base of an enormous hill.

The place began as Tony and Pat's own home which they extended by building wooden bungalow's in the grounds and letting rooms in the house and the bungalows out to tourists. I think it only has about 7 beds and if you stay here, Pat will make sure you are involved with everything and everyone! She is a great hostess with a priceless sense of humour and gets everyone talking to everyone else. It is so small and friendly! This is the first B&B I have been to where all the guests get to know and talk to everyone else no matter what nationality they were without any constraint at all. Having said that, if you want your own space you can have that too.

The pool and the garden are fabulous - trees, palms, wonderfully coloured flowers and shrubs everywhere - it just makes you want to stay and relax. Breakfast is served on the outside verandah and is cooked to order and very generous. Pat also does lunch and dinner - Thai and western dishes - but I recommend you have her Thai meals which are sooo delicious and very reasonably priced. She will make them as spicy as you want them to be - or not if you don't like it. They were so nice we ate there 5 times out of 8 nights. Soft and alcoholic drinks are available all day. We stayed in a de-luxe bungalow which was roomy, had cable TV, DVD, fridge and mini bar, air con and a fan. There are mosquito nets over the windows in the roomy bathroom - take some repellant as I found there were lots of mosquito's in the northern part of Thailand even in February. It is quite cool at night in early Feb so a light cardigan is also a good idea. The rooms are cleaned daily and water is provided free.

It's probably too far to walk into Chiang Rai but Tony will take you into town twice a day and you make your own way back (tuk tuk about 100 -150 baht). In fact, Tony or Pat will go the extra mile for you if you need it - a guest had a tummy bug and was laid up for a couple of days so Pat went into town and got him some medicines and arranged his bus ticket back to Chiang Mai as he couldn't do it himself. We had to spend a night in Chiangrai on our last night and Tony took us there and hung around until we had booked in and everything was sorted. Lovely personal service if you need it.

Please be aware before you book about how far out of town it is - if you want to walk into Chiang Rai or be near to it this may not be for you. However, if you want a peaceful holiday outside town, with no pollution from tuk tuks etc, and the serenade of chanting monks at sunset every night it very definately IS the place for you. I know we loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: If you only want to stay for a few nights then the indoor rooms are fine. If you want to stay longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

A nice house with a swimming pool and terrace amidst a lush tropical garden. A spacious and comfortable room with a great bed. Owners Tony & Pat are absolutely charming. Oh and the breakfast is great too! I can only recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefco213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean, location unbelievable with views on the mountains and a big temple, very nice tropical garden with a beautiful swimming pool, very quiet, good breakfast. The owners (a Dutch guy with his Thai wife) both very friendly and helpful. We received even without asking a map of the region with useful tips. I wish all home stays were like this one!:)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kateryna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meløse, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our second stay at this beautiful place, first time 2 days and this time for 5 days. And again we enjoy every day, even if the weather was cloudy .
Phaet you are and fantastic host and helpful, we feel that you will do enyting for us.the food you make is super, the rooms are good and big
Toony you is so helpful to arranging tours.
The wiew from the restaurant is very nice,the pool is fine
Again thanks to all your staff.
We hope that we one day will come back again.
We can only recomment this place

Room Tip: This is our second stay at this beautiful place, first time 2 days and this time for 5 days. And aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
4.0 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
12.1 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay-Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay-Chiang Rai

Property: Homestay-Chiang Rai
Address: Soi 5 nr 240 Ban Hong O, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homestay-Chiang Rai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Homestay-Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay-Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing