We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility abounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homestay-Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

An amazing hideaway just 5 minutes drive from Chiang Rai centre.
Our hosts were charming and good conversationalists.
As an ex-hotelier I'm pretty hot on cleanliness and room amenities and "Homestay" ticked the boxes, we even stayed an extra night.
The breakfast was well prepared and the evening meal was very tasty.
Very serene location as the property is at the end of a no through road and the views were just magical.
Well done Toony n Phaet for making our short break extremely pleasurable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DickyGnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 296 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed with Tony and his family for two nights and can recommend any traveller bound for Chiang Rai to check the availability. The family are extremely helpful and the homestay is like a little oasis overlooking the mountains and the white buddha. The pool is great and so is the food. Very informative about the tours in the region. It's a little remote to the city center, but tuk tuk's take you there at a reasonable price and Tony is also going to town occasionally. So, go for this charming spot if you are in search of a calm and relaxed occupancy in Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we'd booked longer. Toony, Phaet, their kids and staff are very welcoming and very helpful. Toony picked us up from the airport and has organised all our onward travelling for us. Phaet's cooking is delicious and she makes sure you definitely do not go hungry. We booked a family room - very clean with en suite shower and a balcony overlooking the pool with rice fields and a temple in the distance. We hired a motorbike from Toony and were given a map to explore the nearby caves, river and temple. The location is only 10 minutes from the centre and in a very peaceful, quiet location. We would highly recommend staying here and will definitely stay here again on our next visit. Thank you Toony and Phaet!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Family S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were picked up at the airport by Toony and brought to his homestay for a 4 night stay. The accommodations are clean and Toony and his wife Phat can't do enough to make your stay wonderful. It is a little out of town but Toony will take you into town if you arrange this. You can take a tuk tuk from town back to your homestay and will only cost you about 100 baht. They have a pool to enjoy and I have to say the breakfast that is prepared by Phat is incredible. You have a menu to choose from and everything is delicious. You can also stay there for dinner which we did for a few nights. The Pad Thai was amazing. We booked Toony for a day tour of the area. He took us to the Black Temple ,a walk through some hill tribes, and up to the Golden Triangle to learn more about the opium trade and get a view of the Mekong. He arranged for us to take a longboat tour down the Mekong and over to Laos to shop. If you want a knock off designer purse this is the place for you.You have never seen so many purses in one spot. All in all a wonderful day and I would highly recommend doing a tour this way. We also rented one of his scooters for the day.My husband was a little nervous but no problem. They gave us a map with instructions of where to go. We visited temples in the countryside, saw tea plantations, went to the White Temple and drove into town for dinner at the Night Market. This is a great place to stay whether you are a couple travelling or a family.

Room Tip: You night find the room by the outdoor patio to be noisy. We changed to the room off the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good location, great place to stay, room very good as is the gardens and pool.
And we must not forget the food which was fantastic.
Would really like to stay there again on next trip to Chiang Rai. Already thinking about October/November 2013 if we can get in the Homestay Chiang Rai again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here three days, I feel relaxed like i stay at my home.Tony and Phat They are very friendly and take good care. Good view, nice room, good service. Places of tourist interest. Not far from the residence. I'm so Impressive......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Homestay is a fairly recent addition to my holiday accomodation vocabulary.
On our recent holiday and tour of north Thailand, we stayed at a wonderful homestay in Chiang Mai which was recommended by a friend.
We were therefore completely sold on the homestay experience for Chiang Rai.
Basing our decision on reviews read, we chose Homestay-Chiang Rai.
Having been picked up in town after a lovely three hour plus river trip from Tha Thon, we were driven a considerable distance through a semi industrial/residential wasteland.
We were shown two rooms - neither of which were in the least bit appealing, but feeling trapped and obligated we stayed one night.
Not really somewhere you'd want to spend much time in - having been furnished extremely badly from other people's throwaway junk.
A total ripoff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bobsmart1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinick, Manager at Homestay-Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We picked up our guests for FREE on the port of the Longtail boats 3 km north of Chiang Rai. Drive with them in to Chiang Rai and then a few minutes to the west out of the busle of the citty to the countryside, where you find this lovely place Homestay-chiangrai/mini-resort.
A semi industrial/residental wasteland ??? Have a look at google earth/maps every one can see that we are on the end of a small village with a view across the rice-fields to the rolling hils and distant mountain-peaks of northern Thailand....( no industrial on this side of Chiang Rai ).
Our guests can have a walk between the rice-fields to the Mae kok river and and a Temple.

Each room/bungalow on our homestay has it's own unique style and character, six of them overlook our tropical garden with swimmingpool.
They will always 100 % clean, there for our manager check every day after cleaning proces.

Kind regards Sinick manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
3.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
774 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
4.0 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,014 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay-Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay-Chiang Rai

Address: Soi 5 nr 240 Ban Hong O, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $33 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homestay-Chiang Rai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Homestay-Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay-Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing