We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Wat Rong Khun

Wat Rong Khun
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.40*
and up
Chiang Rai Day Trip from Chiang Mai City
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Spectacular, takes one breath away. Wandering round the outside and viewing it from all angles is a must. A real wonder of modern times.
Great to think of it still being developed, but no intrusive building work evident.
One must visit the toilets, they fit in so well with the surroundings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clair262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,173
    1,220
    366
    118
    58
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Getting to Chiang Rai from Chiang Mai (day trip)”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Firstly, it's definately worth the two - three hour road trip. It's free to enter the temple and it's brilliant. (And every day it will become more beautiful as it's constantly being worked on).

My tips..............

1. Don't turn up to the Chiang Rai arcade / green line bus station at 9am and expect to get on a 10am bus. Chances are they're booked. The earliest we could get was the same day 12:45pm (which was too late). We ended up hiring a taxi (3000 THB) - crazy but we didn't have the time to do anything else. Was worth it though.

2. I'd forgotten about the (male) cover your legs rule and was wearing shorts. I didn't have trouble getting into the temple.

3. Don't forget to go into the huge gold toilets to check out the murals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshRegister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaencwm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Beauty”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited on the way to Burma. I am not too keen on visiting temples, but this one is well worth the visit. We went there with our guide and she gave us lots of useful informations about this place. Her husband was educated by Monks there for few years and he became a guide as well. It is good to see people putting some of their wealth back into local community. This temple is simply breathtaking. I am looking forward to visiting it again few years time as it is work in progress.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Just look at the pictures I think even on a bad day this place would look wonderful.

Truly spectacular :) and free!

You need to dress accordingly, cover up knees and shoulders.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonysv38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rows of ATM machines...”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We came all the way up from Chiang Mai to visit this "temple" on a day trip after admiring the artist for a number of years (we all work in International Art).

First off, it's not a temple. This tourist attraction has nothing to do with the Buddhist Priesthood, it's also by no means a great example of this famous artists creativity, no doubt due to the 20 or so young Thai men actually doing all the painting/moulding etc.

As far as we can ascertain, it's sole purpose is to give Chiang Rai a famous landmark and make money for the owner who is renting all the land around it to souvenir shops, restaurants, art galleries and the like.

As to the "temple" itself. There are many photographs here which show it off to it's best. There are no photographs allowed inside the building and it's clear why. It's all in the worst possible taste. Reminiscent of Disney and Gaudi. As Americans we even found some of it offensive (twin towers being destroyed).

This attraction serves one purpose only, it's a central (free) attraction of a money making theme park. The staff are rude in the extreme and we feel we wasted a lot of time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Rong Khun also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Wat Rong Khun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing