We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exuberance in White”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wat Rong Khun

Wat Rong Khun
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.38*
and up
Private Tour: Chiang Rai City Sightseeing
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Exuberance in White”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

After visiting 30+ wats in Chiang Mai, none of them less than centuries old, we had developed quite an acute level of ‘wat-weariness’. For our trip to Chiang Rai, we were therefore not really looking for any freshness in wat architecture, design or aesthetics.

But as we stood in front of the white temple, Wat Rong Khun, nothing prepared us for what we saw. Being created as a masterpiece by Thailands noted artist, Chalermchai Kositpipat, the sheer exuberance of the creation spell bound us. The construction which started 12 years back undergoes changes every year in an attempt to perfect.

Interesting is the viharn or the room which houses the statue of Buddha. A close look at the still-being-painted walls reveals figures of Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Superman, Batman, Lara Croft & many more comic book characters. Interesting concept of these fictional characters finding place in the most religious room of the wat.

Also don’t miss the gallery on the right side of the white temple which houses an exhibition of some of Mr. Kositpipat’s fine paintings.

Definitely a must visit during the Chiang Rai.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,082
    1,190
    362
    118
    58
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Massively impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This temple is a one of a kind structure and a must see attraction if you are in Chiang Rai. The artwork both inside and outside is beautiful, even though it might not be your style. The Thai artist, who is well known, is intent upon creating something as grand and impressive as the Taj Mahal. His art gallery contained in a separate building is equally worth a visit and is also free.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalunahinsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This ain't your average temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Yeah it's white, and yeah it's different. Be prepared. I respect the artist for what he's doing, for his expression and doing it his way. Go with an open mind and ladies please cover yourself up, it's still a temple, even though it's got a predator on the lawn. It's controversial for the images there, especially inside where the buddha image is housed. No pictures are allowed inside, but you can buy a print. Once you see Neo or Optimus you'll understand why. While walking up to the temple across the bridge over a sea of hands reaching out, you get an eerie feeling that this isn't like the other temples you've been at. Take pictures of the Naga and serpants outside. Make a wish at the fountain outside to the side.
This place reminds me of Halloween in a sense, but the old people there will say it looks like Cinderella's castle. Go figure.
It's different and worth a look around. Plus his art is interesting. And they're still working on it now. Currently a work in progress.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank etherealprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“must see......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

might be the most beautiful wat in all of Thailand. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GVAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Well when our guide said we going to another temple we thought not another one, but this was extremely good the work and detail were awesome. It is a fairly new temple with some parts still under construction but the main part is finished. Have a look at the detail of the sculptures and paintings it is amazing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank missingscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Rong Khun also viewed

 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Wat Rong Khun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing