We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chiang Rai
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Rai
from $67.66
More Info
from $119.34
More Info
from $33.83
More Info
from $76.11
More Info
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
294
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
294
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking school cooking class local market thai food amazing cooking trained chef hibiscus tea cooking area the mango sticky rice cooking experience course meal amazing dishes welcome drink learned how akha hill tribe amazing experience wonderful morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 295 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

-Booking was straight forward
-Communication was clear
-Pick up/Drop off was in a comfortable car
-Market visit was organised very well and lasted about 30 minutes
-Complimentory drink in town was yummy
-Location of cooking class was in a idylic part of town
-Hygiene standards were exceptional (I work in hospitality and have very high standards)
-Choice of menu was extensive.
-No hidden extras
-Very personable and had a warm family fuzzy feel to it.
-Great to be part of a well-though out, ethically sound and professionally informed cooking class concept
-Heartwarming experience that is highly recommended

One of the best days I had in my 2 month tour of Thailand

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank D1911VQchrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaruwan S, Owner at Akha Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Thank you for your review! We are glad you loved it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Truly one of the best experiences, you walk away feeling well fed and equipped to wow your family and friends later. I've previously been to other cooking classes, where they are large and impersonal and use so many pre-made foods. This one definitely stands out as different.

You stay in the cooking process from start to finish. Beginning with the amazing sights and sounds and smells of a local market with Jaruwan providing a 360 view of what makes up the foundation of Thai cooking. She even suggests things to just get little taste of in the market. The special northern Thai sausage is a MUST try! She is knowledgeable in knowing what is in season, what to look for when buying certain produce and if in your country, maybe some ingredients are impossible to find, she gave suggestions to use instead. Loved that!

The Akha Kitchen itself is the smoothest operation! Your greeted with smiles and snacks. The set up allows for a more hands-on cooking class where Jaruwan can lend you personal assistance to making some truly yummy dishes. Learn how to make curry paste from scratch, hello! Armee, and Da, the sous chefs never dropped the ball. They presented perfect plating with beautiful garnishes and had everything set up without us even realizing what was happening in the next room. Everything was so clean too. You can tell they have a passion for what they do. Well, well, WELL worth the time and money spent!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaruwan S, Owner at Akha Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We loved having you come to our class!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

I loved this course! It was so relaxing and we learnt loads! The food was exceptional and the teacher knew so much and answered all our q's

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ciara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaruwan S, Owner at Akha Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thanks for coming and Thank-you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

This was really a fun and enjoyable way of spending some hours. Shopping at the market first and then back to the kitchen to cook, we made 5 dishes.Everything was so well organized and clean. We really enjoyed everything and would like to do it again next time we visit Chiang Rai. All of the girls are very professionell. Davide & Eleonor

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank 744Daviden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaruwan S, Owner at Akha Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

So glad you could join our class we hope you can come again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Overall a great day. From experiencing the early market to seeing the finished article on the plate was brilliant. Very personable class, and Jaruman and co. Are very passionate about what they do. Had great fun and would highly recommend to anyone!

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank liamc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaruwan S, Owner at Akha Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you so much! We enjoyed having you come to our class too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews