We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top-notch tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chat Guest house

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chat Guest house
Ranked #9 of 160 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mitterskirchen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top-notch tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We didn't stay at the Chat House, but booked a tour there, which was just fabulous! Fredo picked us up from our guest house we were staying at on time, showed us the white temple, the beautiful waterfall in the national park, a tea plantage and he took us on an adventure with his indestructible orange jeep we'll surely never forget. In the afternoon we stopped by a couple of mountain tribes where had a beautiful and delicious lunch. Along the way Fredo explained everything we asked him and fed us with plenty of information about the region and their lovely people. At the end of the day we had a last stop at the hot springs and he even dropped us off at our place we were staying that night, although the road leading there was again quite challenging.

We highly recommend booking a trip at the Chat House, and if youre looking for a real adventure, ask for Fredo. He's the guy, Kop khun krap for this amazing trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kr4bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
52
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We travelled for 6 months and didn't find any cheaper price for such a room. But most of all, we met there a fantastic guide who brought us during a day across surrounding villages in the countryside. On top of being friendly, he taught us how to cook in the jungle with bamboos and told us a lot about the local culture. It's a really good souvenir. So if by any chance you decide to stay in Chat guest house, don't forget to ask for Fido, the best guide ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ku5hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Thanks to the other reviews on TA we sent an email to book a basic double room.

Upon arrival in Chiang Rai, Chat was easy enough to locate and we walked with our backpacks from the bus station (maybe not for everyone but we like a walk).

The room we had cost 300 baht, was very clean, had hot water, fresh towels, fresh sheets, soap and complimentary water.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, we booked a couple of tours with them, which were some of the best tours that we have done so far in Thailand.

The food in the restaurant was lovely but a slightly pricey but this is the same with all hotels/guest house restaurants. All in all, my girlfriend and I loved this place and the way it is hidden away from the main backpacker area (but still close enough), has a cosy garden and seating with cushions, so you can chill-out and do what the Guest house advises, chat with other guest:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great guest house experience. Room was clean but basic, bathroom was large with working hot water (from 7am to 11pm), towels and toilet paper provided, a great common area with good food, staff were SUPER helpful - gave us maps and directions to everywhere we asked. We were able to rent a motorbike to go up to the Golden Triangle straight from the hotel, and were not pressured into any group package deals or treks (although they are offered). All for only 250B a night!! Only drawback - wifi only worked in the common areas, not in our room (#22).

Room Tip: Room #22 does not have working wifi!! Can only get it in the common areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitmcinteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Chat guest house for 2 nights. We got a double bed in a private room (shared bathroom) for 180 baht/night. It was a large room with a fan and really clean. Chat also offers a bunch of tours and trekking options. We chose to rent a motorbike (150 baht/day) and ride to the White Temple (about 20 km away) and a waterfall-- great day trip. Chat is literally next door to Wat Phra Keaw (Temple of the Emerald Buddha) which is also worth visiting. Eating at the guest house is also affordable and delicious. I recommend the Khao Soi Gai for dinner (only 60 baht). Other perks: hot and clean showers, nice garden area, free wi-fi, and friendly family owners! The ONLY negative that I can think of mentioning is that there are some roosters next door that like to wake up early and can be pretty loud if you like to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was fine and actually a great deal for 100 baht. No hot water as promised. One of the toilets was out of order and completely covered with ants. Some of the staff were friendly, but some unfortunately were not. I felt like an inconvenience during my stay. I had a horrific breakfast experience at the restaurant. Eggs were bad and the toast (that I did not order) was beyond stale. They made me pay for it anyway and were unfortunately rude about it. I visited in low season so perhaps I should have known better than to eat at the restaurant, but it was monsooning outside, leaving me not much choice. Overall, I wasn't pleased with the place. Maybe I caught them on a bad day. I know it's much easier to write a bad review than a good one, but I was simply not impressed with the staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, very well placed in the city center near the most important temple in the city. We had completly wooden rooms, which looks like from some old castle. Disadvantage was the second doors in the rooms which were locked and leads to neighbouring room so you can listen mostly everything from there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiriHruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lek House
Lek House
#42 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#15 of 160 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Na Rak O Resort
Na Rak O Resort
#3 of 135 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chat Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chat Guest house

Property: Chat Guest house
Address: 3 /2 Sangkaew, Trirat Rd. | Muang District, Chiang Rai 57000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing