We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alot better places to stay for the price”
Review of Ben Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ben Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Alot better places to stay for the price”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The beds are ok but the rooms are so small if you weigh more than 9stone you won't fit! the airconditioning didn't work and there is no fridge or jug so you get given a bottle of warm water and have to pay 30bart for a small coffee (before 9pm then the kitchen closes) the swimming pool looked lovely but shuts at 10pm and opens at 9am so i didn't get to go for a swim. Out of town so not even a 7/11 close by. It costs 80bart each way to town. The staff are reasonably friendly.The restaurant is expensive but for 75bart you can have mueslie and fruit or 40bart toast and jam.With all the added costs you are better to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Missy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    45
    25
    8
See reviews for
28
83
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The Rooms in this guesthouse are ok, but nothing else! Ok beds, ok cleanliness. Don't let yourself be fooled by the furniture which seemed to be nice at first sight.
Our mistake was that we forgot something inside our room when we checked out (We checked out because ben gh is relativly out of town).
One hour later we came back to get our stuff but the staff of ben gh said that we did not left anything in the room, which was definately not true. Our mistake, I know, but sad that things like that happen and that they lie into your face.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Upon checking into the room I noticed that the light on the wall over the head of the beds did not work. The room had dark paneling and was lit by one weak overhead light. I mentioned this to the desk, and...nothing. The light was not fixed and no mention of it was made.

"Bacon and eggs" in the restaurant consists of eggs cooked sunny side up with small squares of raw sliced bacon put on top of the eggs. This succeeds in slightly warming the bacon but it is far from cooked.

The old guy who operated the rustbucket tuk tuk which the hotel called to take us to the bus station gets the award as the rudest jerk I encountered in 6 weeks of SE Asia.

All in all, this place is unsatisfactory. Lucky for them they are in Thailand. They would last long in Vietnam, where most places understand customer service.

Pro: The room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Rai hotels

Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great place, clean rooms and swimming pool, and very kind and helpful staff. We liked the fact thatthey trust the guest so much: you write down what you consume from the fridge in the reception and pay when you check out. We rented a motorbike from them and can definitely recommend people to do it, to go to the White Temple and even to the countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went to Ben Guest house because of the blurb in Lonely Plant. What a very nice place, great clean pool and rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful too. Through them we were put in touch with Big, who I believe is their cousin or something. We hired Big as a guide for the day. I have to say what a winning guy! Really good english, knowledgeble, good sense of humor and also a very interesting man in his own right. He was such a nice person to spend the day with. We were two almost-40 year old single woman on a girls holiday and not for a minute did we feel uneasy or uncomfortable. He was very professional, but relaxed at the same time. We custom made our trip and it was no problem. The clean, comfortable car with air con was a real bonus too. Thank you, Big!

Room Tip: The rooms are functional and clean, and in my view offered excellent value for money. If you are ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelleyStans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I don't really understand why people wrote horrible reviews about this place...we stayed6 6 days and we had lovely time...room nice and clean, food from restaurant good, perfect location and nice stuff. Wi fi working everywhere and they have swimming pool as well. So I would def come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babsy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Yes, there is a problem with the location, especially in very hot weather.

There are many good eating places, right near there. And drinking places.

We are hard-bitten old travelers, and were able to walk easily around there.

The staff at the Ben were gracious and friendly, on our seven-night stay.

--


--

Room Tip: Choose an upscale room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YakkinYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
#31 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lek House
Lek House
#42 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#38 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.7 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#36 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#32 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Guesthouse

Property: Ben Guesthouse
Address: 351/10 Soi 4, Sankhong Noi Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ben Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing