We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and comfy”
Review of Lek House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lek House
Ranked #48 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a basic room here #14 on the second floor. Just a clean bed and a functional toilet. This guesthouse was in a easy walk to the center of town. Great value for a budget hotel.

There was a fair amount of noise from the neighbours. This seemed a common thing in Thailand in general!

Room included breakfast - simply and egg, toast and coffee in the am. I am not a fan of fried eggs, so asked the server if she could scramble them for me. She came back to me with a full on omelette! Super yum! Very nice.

There are loads of accommodations more central, but for the price and quality, this is a solid choice in Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank meritagebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We weren't too impressed with our stay at the Lek House. First, it was a bit hard to find and the website doesn't provide helpful directions. Once we found it, it is a bit out of the way of the action...about a 20-30 minute walk into the main downtown area. We had been really excited about the pool, but when we arrived we saw it was quite small, cold and it looked as it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Then, we got to our room. The floors were concrete (and cold), which made staying there a bit uncomfortable as we weren't thrilled about taking our shoes off. The bathroom wasn't in a separate room, so for anyone who wants their privacy in the bathroom, you won't have it here. There were also openings in the walls (by the vents and windows) that led right to the outside, which meant that our room was infested with misquotes. As for the services at the hotel, the laundry service was more expensive that other places. And the breakfast consisted of two pieces of generic white bread and one fried egg. Nothing to write home about. Next time, we will stay somewhere else. If the management just made some small changes here and there to show that they still care for the place and want their guests to return, that would make a difference.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in a double room with an extra bed. Rooms are small and smells damp because of missing doors to bathroom with jacuzzi. Staff speaks hardly any english which creates misunderstandings. Breakfast is ok, and the place is clean. Not an interesting location though. Somewhat overpriced for what you get. The pool mention in Lonely planet as an asset to the place is not in use and looks more like a small pond in the center of the building.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanna2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The guesthouse is in good location and the restaurant was nice and good value.

The rooms are of good size however having a bedroom and bathroom in one room (toilet behind an alcove) was not ideal and the drains smelt a little.

Maybe slightly overpriced for what is was (650 baht per night)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was going to try to give this place the benefit of the doubt right up until the bath tried to electrocute me...

We stayed in one of the downstairs air-con rooms (room 4 I think) which was dark and damp-smelling and had lots of mosquitoes. They'd tried to make it look clean and fresh but it didn't quite work.

The bathroom (separated from the bedroom only by flimsy half-height swing doors: not much privacy) looked smart enough but a pipe next to the loo leaked so the floor was flooded by the morning, a pipe under the sink also leaked brown water and the completely incongruous massive jacuzzi, which was all LCD-screens, padded headrests and under-water lighting was installed so badly that the water was electrified as I found when I dipped a finger in to test the water temperature. Dangerous.

On top of which the hotel is noisy both from the road and from other rooms as the walls and doors are thin.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 - the one with the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littletoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Happy with this family run and friendly guesthouse, relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, walking distance to anywhere in Chiang Rai.

At 500 baht for an ensuite, this was a better deal than another guest house I stayed at in Chiang Rai

English-speaking host

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwbabyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place in Chang Rai. Tin who runs the place it extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying there. The rooms are lovely and clean. There is also beautiful atmosphere and overall it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tal_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#39 of 108 in Chiang Rai
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#62 of 108 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#35 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#24 of 108 in Chiang Rai
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#42 of 108 in Chiang Rai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lek House

Address: 95 Banphaprakan Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lek House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing