We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel to stay! Relaxed and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms: great value for this price!”
Review of Lek House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lek House
Ranked #53 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed five nights and really enjoyed our stay. During our stay we also saw some leaves in the swimming pool but come on, there are trees surrounding the pool so that's quite normal. During our stay the swimming pool get a good cleaning of a few hours. We didn't had any problems with any noise. The pros of this hotel: great location, good recommendations of the surrounding area from the staff, some nice movies you can borrow to see in your room, nice music at the bar at the swimming pool, rooms very clean and service in the room we normally expect in top range hotels (like three towels each and showergel and shampoo). The price we payed was also included breakfast and thats great value! (coffee or tea, toast butter and jam, juice and scrambled or fried egss.) So a great place to stay for discovering Chiang rai.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterDaphne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We came here thinking we could use the swimming pool but it's not available: the water is dirty and nobody seems to care.
The rooms are very small though clean.
The staff is a bummer, their English 0,0.
Located at a very noisy street, you will hear the cars passing by.
Absolutely overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariano_Slutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Lek House is a nice mid-range guesthouse/B&B, NOT a hotel.
Pros: comfy bed, electric mozzie repeller thing in room, fairly clean room & bathroom.
Cons: toilet hose in bathroom broken, next to fairly busy road so can hear traffic noise pretty much all the time, mould growing on tile sealant in bathroom, extortionate laundry charges, pool not clean, breakfast not great - oh and no soap for the bathroom!
Cotton buds and 2 sachets of shampoo provided though!
I paid 350BHT for a double en-suite room with breakfast included. Think I would rather have paid just for the room and gone elsewhere for breakfast.
Lek House is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Chiang Rai. The road it's on is pretty busy at most times. The traffic noise didn't stop me from sleeping, but then not much does!
The staff seemed friendly enough but only the day staff can speak English.
There's a sign up by reception that says if you've a compliant then please tell them as 'bad internet reviews' are ruining their business. Didn't think there was much point in me complaining as the things that I had issue with - the mould & broken hose - had been that way for a while!
Not sure I'd recommend this place. Definitely wouldn't be my first choice if I were in Chiang Rai again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road & if you do decide to stay here ask if they do a room rate not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed one night before finding better accommodation. We were offered two mosquito infested rooms that had to be sprayed before we entered by the hotel staff. Both rooms smelt as if they had been flooded recently and were really musty and damp ....only one had a window. When we asked about better rooms we were told that they were for people who stayed for a month ... we had booked for a week. The rooms did have a tv, dvd and a fridge ... but the bathroom didn't have proper doors or walls that reached the ceiling. It had a seedy feeling and was a bit far out of the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimnkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have now stayed at Lek House several times while visiting Chiang Rai, and they still excel at everything. Their beds are super comfortable, rooms well appointed with all the little extras you'd expect to find in a large expensive hotel such as shampoo, cotton buds, etc, but for very cheap backpacker prices. It's really quiet at night, and the staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

The restaurant is fantastic and we've eaten here many times and have always been impressed. It's really close to the night market (about 5-10 minutes walk) and the clock tower in the centre of Chiang Rai, but still far enough out of town to be quiet.

We have used the pool too which in the hot season is awesome! Overall we really think this is the best place to stay in Chiang Rai - the location, rooms, staff, pool and restaurant are all great. Also their wifi is fast and reliable now - I think they've fixed their router/ sorted the previous problem somehow.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DreandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in October 2010. We'd looked at a nearby guesthouse online and were trying to find it. Around the corner we saw Lek House which looked too expensive, but saw some backpackers leaving, so asked them how much it was. We got a great double room for just over $20AUD including a good sized breakfast, wifi, tv, aircon, small swimming pool, bar/restaurant. Can't go wrong. As one other reviewer said, it's more like a boutique hotel, rather than a budget one. Wifi worked fine on husband's iPod, but had trouble connecting on my laptop, so I used computer at the bar. Room was clean, modern, and had a welcoming feel (proximity of toilet might be a problem for some - it's separated by a wall from bedroom, but not closed off). Floors could do with some tiles or other floor covering (polished/patterned concrete when we were there). Had a good street stall meal first night, lots of stalls and local-style restaurants close by. Had a magnificent meal in Lek House restaurant on our second night (see photo) huge serve of local river fish with Thai spices at a very cheap price. This place was a good find, much, much, better than the guest house we were originally looking at. Great value!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

On arrival they helped us with our luggage but check in was a little difficult with the staff that were there speaking little english. Even when we gave a copy of our email there was still confusion with the rooms. In the end we payed more than had planed because to get 2 rooms with aircon ment one upstairs and one down and with 3 kids this wasn't practical. So we ended up paying more and got the spa room opposite the kids room. Even still its cheap and the rooms are nice and well equiped. Kids room - air con double $17aus Our room - air con, spa room (huge double spa bath) $45aus *aprox prices*

Lek House was chosen by us because of the pool.....we didn't end up using because we were so busy but although a small swim up bar style pool it looked inviting and we were disapointed we didn't have time to use it.

Breakfast was included in the room price toast, eggs, bacon, juice and coffee. A simple breakfast but was tasty, hot and fresh.

The staff were always helpful despite there lack of english and for the price you can't go far wrong. We'd be happy to stay here next visit to Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#50 of 108 in Chiang Rai
9 reviews
0 mi away
Tourist Inn
Tourist Inn
#22 of 108 in Chiang Rai
58 reviews
0 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#42 of 108 in Chiang Rai
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
219 reviews
0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#72 of 108 in Chiang Rai
52 reviews
0 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#49 of 108 in Chiang Rai
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lek House

Address: 95 Banphaprakan Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $12 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lek House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing