We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed there for 9 nights in June 2012 while visiting my girlfriend. The hotel is situated a short tuk-tuk drive outside the city. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated in Lanna style.
Stayed in a double room, and while the room was a little snug, it was OK for my stay since the days where usually spent sightseeing the area around the city. The hotels restaurant has a nice breakfast, and also some nice lunch and dinner courses. And the prices are reasonable.
The service was very good, Tim and his wife and the rest of the staff was very helpful advising about places to go, and booking car with driver. They have a laundry service that was quick. I delivered my clothes when we went to breakfast one morning, and when we got back to the hotel in the afternoon, the clothes were in the closet.
The only negative thing I really have to say was that sometimes the towels smelled of mildew.

But I liked my stay, so this year (in 9 days) I am going back to stay for 16 nights. This time I am trying out their suite. According to the photos, it is basically the size of 2 regular rooms, so there is room for a sofa and a coffee table.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven-Erik1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
387 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotels location is about 2km from the centre and surrounded by vacant land, paddy and workshops but it is nice and quiet and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Don't take too much luggage as there is no lift. Breakfast is better than usual in this budget priced hotel. Bathroom is only ok.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked to stay 3 nights at this hotel in November 2012 but had to cancel due to illness (usual stomach etc) two days before going. They still deducted 3 nights from my credit card ( I made the mistake of giving them the number) which I saw on return to UK this month. I complained to Thailand Tourist Authority but no reply. Mike Griffin, Harrogate, England.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Incrediblemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Rai hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Both room and food were of excellent value. Great coffee! Comfy bed and everything was spotless. We were there on a motorcycle trip, and had some issues with a bike. Tim went above and beyond to help sort out our troubles. This is a great family-owned establishment. We certainly recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Simple, spotlessly clean, friendly and comfortable are the words to describe the Palm Garden.

I imagine the few palm trees planted in the front entrance/car park are responsible for the name of this hotel but there is no garden to speak of. But it was the quietest accommodation I could find in my research and I'm rather glad that it is a 10min tuk-tuk ride from the town centre as it is far too hectic and noisy there for my liking. The tuk-tuk journey is fun anyway and costs only 80 baht.

Free Wifi is available in the hotel lobby and I had reception in our ground floor room. The only disadvantage to the ground floor is that noisy guests arriving can wake you up as the place is tiled from wall to wall making the acoustics very loud.

Our room had a TV, mini-fridge with water, wardrobe etc. It is true that the showers have those little heaters which means the water is never actually hot, but warm enough in these temperatures. We were able to borrow a hairdryer from reception. The air-conditioning in our room was too cold to be kept on at night, but then again in December the evenings are cool so wasn't necessary.

In the building opposite is a little restaurant that belongs to the hotel. Breakfast is a simple but sufficient buffet. We had nice Thai food for dinner here but some western food is also available.

We spent our days doing day-trips with PDA tours (recommended in Lonely Planet and they help support local communities so plus on the ethical factor).

All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have wifi reception, but can be noisy if guests in reception are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I book 3 rooms in July. All the rooms is too hot even the air conditional is turn on.There is no much of big tree and plants surrounded the hotel, even at the morning, the restaurant is also hot, but the foods is good. Basic tea spoon, tea cup, hot water is not provided. No lift in this hotel, not suitable for old people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkbox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights when in Chiang Rai and was delighted when we got here. The hotel was spotless as were the rooms. This seems like a fairly new hotel. Breakfast was extensive. The staff were very friendly and always smiling. It is a little outside the town but a Tuk Tuk or taxi are really cheap. The hotel was also great value for money. If I come back to Chiang Rai, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joneill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#34 of 109 in Chiang Rai
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lek House
Lek House
#41 of 109 in Chiang Rai
90 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#12 of 109 in Chiang Rai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
1.9 mi away
B2 Chiang Rai
B2 Chiang Rai
#30 of 109 in Chiang Rai
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#27 of 109 in Chiang Rai
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: 375/1 Moo.19 T.Robvieng | Muang District, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Garden is a boutique hotel with modern decoration and amenities. All guests will enjoy a quite and relaxing stay. Hotel staff takes great pride in providing the very best service making guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing