We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless clean and comfortable”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #70 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Simple, spotlessly clean, friendly and comfortable are the words to describe the Palm Garden.

I imagine the few palm trees planted in the front entrance/car park are responsible for the name of this hotel but there is no garden to speak of. But it was the quietest accommodation I could find in my research and I'm rather glad that it is a 10min tuk-tuk ride from the town centre as it is far too hectic and noisy there for my liking. The tuk-tuk journey is fun anyway and costs only 80 baht.

Free Wifi is available in the hotel lobby and I had reception in our ground floor room. The only disadvantage to the ground floor is that noisy guests arriving can wake you up as the place is tiled from wall to wall making the acoustics very loud.

Our room had a TV, mini-fridge with water, wardrobe etc. It is true that the showers have those little heaters which means the water is never actually hot, but warm enough in these temperatures. We were able to borrow a hairdryer from reception. The air-conditioning in our room was too cold to be kept on at night, but then again in December the evenings are cool so wasn't necessary.

In the building opposite is a little restaurant that belongs to the hotel. Breakfast is a simple but sufficient buffet. We had nice Thai food for dinner here but some western food is also available.

We spent our days doing day-trips with PDA tours (recommended in Lonely Planet and they help support local communities so plus on the ethical factor).

All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have wifi reception, but can be noisy if guests in reception are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

I book 3 rooms in July. All the rooms is too hot even the air conditional is turn on.There is no much of big tree and plants surrounded the hotel, even at the morning, the restaurant is also hot, but the foods is good. Basic tea spoon, tea cup, hot water is not provided. No lift in this hotel, not suitable for old people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkbox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights when in Chiang Rai and was delighted when we got here. The hotel was spotless as were the rooms. This seems like a fairly new hotel. Breakfast was extensive. The staff were very friendly and always smiling. It is a little outside the town but a Tuk Tuk or taxi are really cheap. The hotel was also great value for money. If I come back to Chiang Rai, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joneill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The staff is very nice and helpful. Tim, the manager met us at the airport so we got to the hotel quick and easy for a low cost.This was our first visit to Chiang Rai and we got a lot of suggestions of excursions from Tim and the staff.
The restaurant had excellent food so if you don´t want to take a tuk-tuk to the centre of town you can have a real nice meal at the hotel.
All in all this is a place where you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed in Palm Garden Hotel in May 2011, sorry for the late review. This is not a luxury hotel, little away from the city. But for the price you pay, it is excellent, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast is good with choice of Thai and Westerm mix, served by always smiling waitresses. The owner of the hotel is an American (Mr. Tim) married to a Thai lady, both are always pleasant and helpful. Mr. Tim arranged personal trips for me and he is a good guide too. :). You will get always a homely feeling there. The food in the restaurant is also nice. But, if you expect a city atmosphere, this is not the place. For a peaceful stay away from the madness of the city, I strongly recommend this hotel, without any doubt I can say its a home away home. I am posting some pictures of the hotel here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car parking area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsaacKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

More than we expected from a 3 Star Hotel.

Wonderful reception committee and the staff were always happy and very helpful.
Tim the Manager very happy to arrange trips to your individual needs.
Clean rooms, well serviced.
We used the restaurant several times and the food was very good at a reasonable price

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, maybe the top floor would have no noise. No lift but staff will always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Val837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is not a luxury hotel but for the price it is very good value, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast is good with choice of Thai and western. We have stayed at many hotels in Thailand over the years and not many do you get such a warm welcome from all the staff as you do at Palm garden they were always smiling and eager to assist. The centre of Chiang Rai is 10 min in a vehicle, we had a hire car so no problem getting into town, the staff will organise a tuktuk or bat bus for you. Need i say more we will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlasdairCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#30 of 108 in Chiang Rai
39 reviews
0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 108 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
0 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#42 of 108 in Chiang Rai
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#40 of 108 in Chiang Rai
8 reviews
0 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#49 of 108 in Chiang Rai
15 reviews
0 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#26 of 108 in Chiang Rai
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Address: 375/1 Moo.19 T.Robvieng | Muang District, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $14 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Garden is a boutique hotel with modern decoration and amenities. All guests will enjoy a quite and relaxing stay. Hotel staff takes great pride in providing the very best service making guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing