We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chiang Rai
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Rai
from $33.91
More Info
from $67.83
More Info
from $81.61
More Info
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
420
41
16
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
420
41
16
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews their natural habitat beautiful animals ethical elephant logging industry safe distance watch elephants rescued elephants close contact elephant experience human interaction love elephants banana trees half day visit wonderful sanctuary gentle giants stay overnight riding elephants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ignore the negative reviews on this, these are from people who didn’t read the leaflet properly and missed the point of this project. The idea behind the project is to eventually put the elephants back into a protected space in the wild, and to do this they need to reduce the amount of interaction with tourists to stop the Elephants becoming dependant on us humans. You watch them in their natural habit and have a feeding session with the Elephants. That for me, is all you need. You spend the day watching them in their natural habitat and environment. If you want to wash them and interact more, it defeats the point of the tour and rehabilitation. This for me was perfect and how I want to see the Elephants. The tour guides were amazing. Great English and could answer every question. She even gave us a history of Thailand and also Cambodia, completely irrelevant from the Elephants but she spoke to us as friends, not paying customers. When back in Asia I will 100% be back. This is an incredible project and a credit to everyone involved.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank QuaverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

We spent some very interesting hours with the elephants , it was so nice to see them as happy as they are now in freedom getting back to their natural habitats.Hopefully more elephants can be released from tourism industry in future backbto their roots.My heart was really affected.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Sunshine55927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

We stay one day and one night in the Elephant Valley Thailand and it was an amazing experience from the begining to the end!

We can see that they real love elephants, and want them to be wild elephants again. Our tour guide gave us all the explanations that we ask and was honest all the time. We just watch elephants (you don't ride ir bath any Elephant, just observation) and help the local staff in their routine all day. In the night, we have the feeling we were sleeping in the jungle and on the morning we wake up and watch elephants from our window.

We were so glad that we spend our money on a place that threat well elephants and want to expand and rescue more elephants in Thailand. We strongly recomend!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

paid $aus 80.00 ,for half day trip. told to be at the hotel for a 0820 pick up got picked up at 9am. in a converted utility pick up with a canopy ( not something i expected or like. totally unsafe ) got to the reserve saw 4 free elephants and one chained. was it value for money NO. i understand the guy is doing his bit but in the end i felt like i had paid a large chunk towards the staff wages. I am sorry to say it was not value for money for a 4 hour hotel-walk talk -hotel trip.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank pocketrocketguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

i would strongly recommend this trip. it was very informative and honest about the challenges in making sure elephants are properly treated, drawing attention to the more damaging ways in which they may be viewed by tourists elsewhere. we walked in the sanctuary itself for several hours getting up close and personal - which was slightly unnerving, though there were mahouts always on hand. this was a really inspiring way to spend time with these animals

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews