We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING”
Review of Akha Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akha Hill House
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The arrogance of the owner and smugness of having good reviews on TA will do this place damage unless they smarten up their act. The only friendly staff member was the guy that drove us out there- even then although the pick up was on time, we drover 10 min and then had to wait over an hr before he came back to drive us out to Akha Hill - hence I didn't get my swim at the waterfall when we arrived as it was too late.

VIP room was dirty and on notifying the staff of the dirt that had fallen from the celing on the sheet and pillow, they simply brushed most of it onto the floor and left the rest for me to do. The towels and sheets were stained. It was dusty and insect excrement everywhere.

The place is getting run and not maintained and not clean!! Our deck had food on it and I was bitten by ants, the bathroom had toothpaste remenants on the wall and walls needed maintaining as bits of mud were coming away exposing concrete walls behind - not a good look.

The tables in the dining area were dirty but then one time I saw them cleaning them with a dirty rag - that was after I put in my breakfast order to see the cook playing with a dog in the kitchen.

Forget about having a sleep-in in the tranquil surrounds - there are no curtains on the window so the sun wakes you up early and then the kids on their way to school are noisy (that's not their fault however they could ask them to be quiet when going past the guesthouse). Tranquil nights sleep - the fan is too noisy to hear the sound of the forest : (

A nice touch would be some hammocks to have a lazy time in as once you have been to the waterfall and walked around a bit and walked back up a super steep hill, there is not much else to do unless you do a guided trek.

The owner showed up the second night, didnt say hello or even acknowledge any of the guests and on leaving the owner got into the front of the pick up with the driver and most of us had to sit or stand in the back - he didn't offer any of us a seat.

I rely a lot on trip adviser and havent had to post a bad review yet and I'm hoping this will help the owner and staff for future business. I'm sure there are a lot more places to stay in the area that's at least friendly and clean, so,for now, look around!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    19
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
43
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We started traveling around SEA in December 2011 and we have made Chiang Rai, Thailand our last destination before heading to Cambodia where we fly from.

I found out about Akha Hill House through their website after showing up as one of the top search results in google for somehong close to 'Thailand hill tribe trekking'. We gave them a call and turns out Tao, the main trekking guide at that moment was in the city for the 11 AM pick-up so my travel companion met up with him and he agreed to come back for us at 4 that afternoon after a reservation for a basic bungalow for 300 Baht/night.

After a beauriful one-hour ride through the side of the mountain in a pick-up truck, we got to the place.

It's actually an Akha village and the locals live right past the bungalows.

It was beautiful. Lychee trees everywhere and we were more than welcome to pick some anytime we wanted!

We transferred to a VIP guest room, also with a private bath but with a fan and a mini fridge, clean and simple with a wonderful view and tons of privacy.

On our 2nd or 3rd night we were walking through and found the locals barbecuing. We hung out, had a chat and got invited for dinner! We bought rice whiskey from the neighboring village about 2 kms away.

The night after, we had dinner with them again, and yes, another rice whiskey session! Yay!

On our 6th night, Som Chay, the husband of the cook took us to his backyard, which is actually the whole mountainside and we spent just about 6 hours fishing and grilling the fish we caught on a fire we made by the side of the little breezy hut!

7 nights. We spent 7 nights when we were supposed to stay for 1 :) we had to adjust our time to spend in Cambodia because it was so cozy in Akha Hill House that it was very difficult to leave.

I highly recommend the place to stay at for more than 2 nights and please be sure to get to know the locals. In reality, there's just an awesome waterfalls to visit but not much to do unless you love hiking that you do it for days but the locals make it. It was a wonderful, wonderful experience. Definitely one of the 3 highlights of our whole trip!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dontbenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed with the Akha Hill Tribe for 4 nights in total, 2 of them as part of a 3day/2night jungle treck. Very warm and welcoming people who are keen to educate you on their way of life and their history, whilst also wanting to know about your background. Our jungle guide was Amae Amowr (aka 'Dave Zero'), who was excellent and took us through 3 amazing days in the jungle. If you go you must aslo see his museum!

Highly recommended if you want to meet some amazing and warm people and fancy a treck in the jungle!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fagleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling!
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The surroundings of the Hill House are incredible! A beautiful waterfall walking 15 minutes. Small villages on a one hour trek. You cannot beat the peace and calmness of a place like this.
I stayed in a single bungalow for B$250, with a deck facing the lychee plantations and the valley. The tea plantations were also amazing. It was rustic, but that's the way it's supposed to be when you're in the jungle, on the mountains, sharing with the people of the village. My experience couldn't be better! Saying that, the food could improve a little bit, but that's the only thing that I would change about that place, the rest is fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruysolorzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is one of the two 'must sees' from Chiang Rai. The other being the White Temple'. While the accommodation may be rustic (you are in the jungle), it is comfortable enough for most. The trip up to the house, already makes it worthwhile. Stunning views, travel through several hill tribe villages and the amazing Chinese Tea Plantation. While all of the 'villagers' don't dress in formal garb every day, they are very authentic. Great chance to mingle with the locals, watch their handiwork being made and observe their culture. Easy trek to other hill tribe villages. My guide was fantastic. Not to be missed experience. It will be a fantastic memory of Thailand for many years.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view if that is important to you. Don't expect to get the cheapest r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GVAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Akha Hill House is in the Akha tribal area. It is hard to get to but worth the effort. From the House you can go on Akha led hikes into the surrounding mountains. Food is good and lodgings are dirt cheap and really comfortable. Wifi in the eating area. The views are beautiful.

Some rooms are like dorms, but there are several individual bamboo huts with good bathrooms and wonderful view decks.

Room Tip: They cost so little, stay in one of the individual bamboo huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Spent three nights here in February 2012. Charming manager Tao picked us up from the bus station in Chiang Rai and we has a great ride to the hotel on the back of a pick up truck through gorgeous scenery.

The house has a super setting nigh up at the end of a valley with gorgeous views. Nice communal area with an open fire, good food and honesty fridge - nice to spend the evening sitting, chatting and relaxing.

We opted for a bamboo VIP bungalow. Not quite sure what was 'VIP' about it though. We paid 700 baht and I think the cheaper rooms may have been just a good.

Only downside was one afternoon, the local villages set an enormous pile of rubbish on fire right outside our bungalow and it continuted to smoulder all through the night, creating noxious smelling smoke which filled our room. We eventually moved ourselves into a different room. Fire had stopped by next morning, but it had been a bit of a shame as the fresh mountain air had been one of the attractions!

Went on a one day trek with an excellent guide, would highly recommend this, pointed out lots for interesting things, cooked lunch using all bamboo utensils, caught shrimp in the river etc - v good day.

Would recommended this place if you're looking for somewhere that feels a bit remote, but want a little more luxury than sleeping on floors :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessNOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Rai
7.4 mi away
Pa Sak Tong
Pa Sak Tong
#17 of 109 in Chiang Rai
29 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
30.2 mi away
Phumanee Home Hotel
Phumanee Home Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fang City
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#30 of 168 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jansupar Court
Jansupar Court
#11 of 143 in Chiang Rai
60 reviews
22.0 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 2 in Mae Ai
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akha Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akha Hill House

Property: Akha Hill House
Address: 97/7 Doi Hang Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akha Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden high in the Chang Rai mountains, the jungle retreat of Akha Hill is a hidden gem of tranquility. Whether you wish to relax, or experience life deep in the jungle, Akha Hill has it all. Nearby attractions include a waterfall, green tea plantation, hot springs, and hilltribe villages. The friendly staff can also arrange jungle treks, elephant treks, trips to the Hilltribes, and to the Golden Triangle (discounts apply for groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Akha Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing