We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty in a remote location”
Review of Akha Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akha Hill House
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Akha Hill House is in the Akha tribal area. It is hard to get to but worth the effort. From the House you can go on Akha led hikes into the surrounding mountains. Food is good and lodgings are dirt cheap and really comfortable. Wifi in the eating area. The views are beautiful.

Some rooms are like dorms, but there are several individual bamboo huts with good bathrooms and wonderful view decks.

Room Tip: They cost so little, stay in one of the individual bamboo huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 111 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

Spent three nights here in February 2012. Charming manager Tao picked us up from the bus station in Chiang Rai and we has a great ride to the hotel on the back of a pick up truck through gorgeous scenery.

The house has a super setting nigh up at the end of a valley with gorgeous views. Nice communal area with an open fire, good food and honesty fridge - nice to spend the evening sitting, chatting and relaxing.

We opted for a bamboo VIP bungalow. Not quite sure what was 'VIP' about it though. We paid 700 baht and I think the cheaper rooms may have been just a good.

Only downside was one afternoon, the local villages set an enormous pile of rubbish on fire right outside our bungalow and it continuted to smoulder all through the night, creating noxious smelling smoke which filled our room. We eventually moved ourselves into a different room. Fire had stopped by next morning, but it had been a bit of a shame as the fresh mountain air had been one of the attractions!

Went on a one day trek with an excellent guide, would highly recommend this, pointed out lots for interesting things, cooked lunch using all bamboo utensils, caught shrimp in the river etc - v good day.

Would recommended this place if you're looking for somewhere that feels a bit remote, but want a little more luxury than sleeping on floors :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessNOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place has fantastic views, but we expected a bit more of a hill tribe experience. My 14 year old son did the guided tour to villages and hot springs. He spent a lot of time waiting around for the group and transportation. He expected to learn about local tribes and customs but instead watched the guides cut bamboo and cook. He wanted to be involved but was not given the opportunity. The food at the Hill House is terrible and expensive by Thailand standards.

Room Tip: Stay in a bamboo house instead of mud. The mud houses are musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernLights60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We originally booked four nights at thr associated Akha River House, a great stay BTW. Before arriving we heard they had a place in the jungle mountains about 20 miles outside of town, the Akha Hill House. Upon arrival we asked if we could change our reservation to stay one night at the River House, two at the Hill House and the final night back at the River House. Yes!

The trip up had about a dozen people crowded and standing in the bed of the pickup truck over some pretty rough and steep road. We passed rice paddies, a tea plantation, small villages, before climbing a steep hill and landing at the Akha village.

Where are we? We were shown our accommodations for the two nights, a one room bamboo hut on stilts with an attached concrete bathroom with a hand shower and hot water heater on one wall, a drain hole on the floor at the opposite end, and the standard Asian style toilet.

Meals were served in a large, centrally located, open air bamboo hut. WiFi was in the air and even though so remote, we were able to keep in touch with our Android smartphones.

On our first full day there, New Year's eve, Pat went off on a jungle trek. She had quite the experience as the guides showed the three tourists how to live off the jungle. Bamboo and machetes are all you need. They dammed up a creek, caught some fish and crawdads, made chopsticks, cups, spit and cooking utensils out of the bamboo.

Meanwhile another tourist, Jasmine, and I went hiking off to the nearby waterfall and then down to the public hot springs, about 8 miles roundtrip.

That night, one of Pat's guides invited us to his house for a New Year's eve dinner. Quite the treat. It was a one room bamboo hut with a cooking area in one corner, a 3 foot square fireproofed area on the floor with wood fires and pots on tripods. She prepared a great six course meal of rice, fish and Asian greens.

That night, afterwards, the village roasted a pig that I had seen earlier in its cage, shot off fireworks at midnight, and continued to party all night long. We slept well, but could hear the music coming from the village until 8AM new year's day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Not for the VIP traveller who is easily put off by short rides in the back of a pickup. It had: 24 electricity and hot showers, beautiful views with very friendly staff who literally did everything within their power to make us feel welcome and at home. Fantastic atmosphere at night around the campfire with a guitar, Thai folk songs and games.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potatomangocombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a couple of days in the Chiang-Rai region and saw a lot of signs that promote 'trekking'. We were sceptical about it, because we associated trekking with arrangements made by agencies - tourists come in multitudes into tribe-villages and expect to see people wearing costumes and live in bamboo huts. Often, the local people are payed by the agencies to behave like this and furthermore the daily life is disturbed by the tourists.

However, we wanted to go a little bit hiking in the region, and therefore we searched for a guide. The Akha-Village offers hiking tours through the jungle and so we gave it a chance, also because the Akha-Village is owned by Akha-Inhabitants and a certain amount of there earnings goes to local projects.

We did not regret our decision - our stay was very nice. We had a great time in the village, and had the chance to see how Akha live these days in a nonchalant atmosphere. The accomodation was simple but clean and authentic and our trip into the jungle was fabulous (thanks to our guide Somyol!).

Also, we can recommend to travel to the Hill-House by boat instead of the arranged shuttle-bus - it was beautiful!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AndiKendlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Very friendly people, eco tourism and a fantastic nature experience. The atmosfhere is gordious and the food is delicious, the banana pancake, the ABF and the fruit sallad was our favourites. We recommend the Djungel Tea.
The handcraft is cheap and beautiful. So interesting to really get to know the culture of this fantastic Akha tribe.
The kids and the animals are lovely.

Best Regards

Mats & Catrine Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mats B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
11.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
10.5 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
888 reviews
15.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
808 reviews
10.0 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#29 of 184 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jansupar Court
Jansupar Court
#12 of 165 in Chiang Rai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akha Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akha Hill House

Address: 97/7 Doi Hang Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akha Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden high in the Chang Rai mountains, the jungle retreat of Akha Hill is a hidden gem of tranquility. Whether you wish to relax, or experience life deep in the jungle, Akha Hill has it all. Nearby attractions include a waterfall, green tea plantation, hot springs, and hilltribe villages. The friendly staff can also arrange jungle treks, elephant treks, trips to the Hilltribes, and to the Golden Triangle (discounts apply for groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Akha Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing