We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,654)
Filter reviews
2,654 results
Traveler rating
1,866
592
133
42
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,866
592
133
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant latest recipe the river grand deluxe room beautiful hotel infinity pool kids club golden triangle breakfast buffet main restaurant the general manager mae kok river luxury hotel close to the airport rooms are spacious shuttle service the hotel offers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,654 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

Great staff , nice rooms but very bland... if you like comfort and a good service plus a top class breakfast for maybe one night ...perfect.. but stay longer and there is very little to expereince ..except paying silly amounts of money for a massage or spa that you can have in authentic settings at a third of the price nearby ...kind of boring but good standards

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mikate232001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muravis, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Greetings mikate232001

Thank you for recent patronage and taking the time to share your experience in the forum.

We are thankful for your kind comments with regards to the team members and the rooms. We are also disappointed to hear that you found the resort soulless - something we do not hear very often from our guests.

The Lanna architecture, the sense of space, the river front location, the lush green grounds, the 130 odd year old rain trees with a Romeo/Juliet-esque story - are just some of the things that make us different. Our guests usually spend relatively less time at the resort and spend most of the time exploring the heritage of culture and the beauty of nature - Chiang Rai has to offer with sprinklings of visits to the Night Market, Museum's and various gardens.

When guests are at the resort; most spend time at the expansive 3 level pool either reading or better writing a book in the calm of nature. A riverside Italian Restaurant - Favola and adjacent Parvati Spa (both of which are being renovated this year) - complete the triumvirate of largest rooms in the city, great open spaces and intimate cosy spaces to experience calm and quiet. As for the pricing we can assure you - we strive to be the most price affordable International branded chain hotel in this region.

We understand that maybe with the weather or haze your stay experience was marred and hoping to have you back so that you can experience this city in it's full glory - and please do reach out to us so that we can share with you all the things you could partake in when here with us; ranging from Tea Plantation Visits to Elephant Parks to Monastery Visits.

Wishing you well.

Murali Viswanathan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

What a fabulous time we have had escaping the heat and the smog this year and we’re better to stay than here. Greeted like a superstar by the GM and staff of front of house. Recently having a second child we where to overwhelmed by the flowers champagne and chocolate and a personal made cake congratulating us on our new daughter.
It doesn’t get any better than this thank you to all the staff for your hard work and attention to detail.

I feel extremely relaxed and energised all made possible by the great staff.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank j0nvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Everything about this hotel oozes class. The staff - especially those on the front desk are excellent and the manager is professional and personable. During our stay the hotel was earily quiet - especially in both excellent restaurants in the evenings and around the pool during the day. The location by the river is stunning as are the hotel grounds - while the main sites of this very real city are within easy reach. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stc8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muravis, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Greetings stc8190

Hope this finds you well and you have had a safe and comfortable journey back home.

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and it was great to meet up with you. Feedback such as yours; adds fuel to the fire as one would say - in our pursuit for ensuring our guests feel better after their stay looking forward to the next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back - you will always have friends here. Needless to say I will be personally sharing your kind remarks for the team with them.

Wishing you well.

Murali Viswanathan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

This was second visit to this resort. We love the place. It is an architectural gem which blends elegantly into the landscape on Kok River. Service is excellent. Breakfast in hotel restaurant was daily treat.

That said, the hotel is undergoing a major exterior restoration project, and daytime noise can be irritating. Food and beverage promotions are unclear, confusing. For example, servers did not understand the happy hour and wine special of the month promos.

Also, hotel concierge refuses to assist with river trips, even though boats could pickup and land passengers at hotel dock. “Insurance” problems a lame excuse.

These shortcomings cannot take away from beauty of the resort.

Room tip: Ask for top floor room as close to river as possible
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muravis, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Greetings wil r

Thank you for your recent patronage and taking the time to share you stay experience with the forum visitors.

We are deeply thankful for your kind remarks and will certainly be sharing this with the team; feedback such as this encourages us to do more and go beyond for our guests.

We have also noted your feedback with regards to the ongoing renovation preparation and we remain committed to mitigate any noise as much as we can and ensure we only work in the day and not doing early morning or late evening hours. Further we will be reinforcing the training's for our promotions and spend more time training associates with English lessons so as to be able to better offer response.

With regards to the boat trips; given that this is classified as a high risk activity and given the absence of credible operators who can commit to our global requirements of safety & assurance we are unable to offer these from the Concierge and will continue to look to work with vendors who could do this for us - this is a work in progress and be assured we will work it out.

In closing thank you once again for your visit and presenting us with feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.

With Best Regards

Murali Viswanathan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

My First experience with this hotel, we had stayed at their sister property in Chiang Mai and had a great experience, this was just as good. A great chill out location, very peaceful but they have a free shuttle bus to the city. The staff are amazing and the hotel is clearly deeply embedded in the local community. A couple of recommendations, (1) try breakfast at Favola rather than the main buffet, you can sit out by the river and eat your breakfast in peace away from the families and hustle and bustle of the buffet, (2) make sure you try the tiramisu at Favola, possibly the best I have ever had, (3) the Bar has a really good menu for dinner and that was also a much quieter place than the buffet, and (4) take the chance to make merit with local monks if that is happening when you there.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nicholaswillmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LMCR, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Greetings nicholaswillmott,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us recently at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.

We are thrilled to receive your detailed and positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on the forum.

It is a thrill for us to know that our hotel was a highlight of your Thailand adventures and that so many aspects of the hotel and services met or exceeded your expectations, including our Favola Italian restaurant and the food offering ceremony with monks that you experienced during your visit.

The team and I look forward to you returning to enjoy further memorable Le Meridien stay experiences whenever you visit Chiang Rai.

Warmest Regards,

Murali Viswanathan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews